Discussion: My Thoughts on Rereading

Discussion

Since I posted my first re-review of a book this week, I thought discussing rereading in general would be appropriate.

There are many different views on rereading in the book blogging community. Many people don’t do it because they can barely keep up with all the new and review books as is, which I totally understand. Some people don’t do it because they just don’t feel like reading a book where they already know what’s going to happen. Some people reread simply because they want to remember what happened before reading the next book in the series, while some people only reread when they need a pick-me-up after a bit of a reading slump.

I have multiple reasons that I reread books, and it’s something that I do a lot. Not as much as I did before I started blogging, of course, but I still mange to reread quite a bit. As I write this, I’ve currently reread eight books this year, and that number will probably be even higher by the time this post goes up. And there are just so many reasons that I want to reread books, as I already said.

Reason 1: Catching Up

This is probably the most practical reason. When you go roughly a year between reading Book A in a series and want to read the latest Book B, you tend to forget some things. If it’s a series that I really like, I tend to pick up the previous book or books and reread them right before I read the latest book. Sometimes I don’t read them all in one go, but that’s very rare, and I never really go a week or two in between rereading/reading the latest book. It can be kind of annoying with the latest book starts off with a minor recap when I already know what happened because I just read the previous book, but for the most par this is just really, really helpful to me. I read a lot of books every year, and even when I like a book, I don’t always remember everything that happened. Rereading makes things easier.

Reason 2: It’s Comfortable

I know it’s a bit of a cliché, but I read so much to escape. Sometimes I want to escape a bad day, a bad week, whatever period of time that’s sucking; sometimes I’m stressed out and just need a quick break; and sometimes I’m perfectly happy but I want to read the adventures of someone else for a while. So, it makes a lot of sense that I want to reread the books that help me properly escape over and over again. The more and more I read a book, the more comfortable I am with the story and the characters and the world they live in. I can escape to them in my head if I want, but there’s just something about escaping to the worlds between the pages of a book. Rereading favorites can be like wrapping yourself up in a warm childhood blanket with a bunch of stuffed animals all around you – it’s comfortable and wonderful and just what you needs sometimes

Reason 3: It’s Better than Drowning My Sorrows in Alcohol, Right?

Well, I can’t even legally drink yet, so there’s that, but even when I turn 21 I’d rather turn to books than vodka or something. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I sometimes like rereading books to help me get over painful books. So, it kind of goes with Reason #2. Sometimes just reading books that I know are fluffy can help, but there’s always a chance that I won’t like the book and I’ll get even more sad or frustrated or whatever. It’s much nicer to turn to a book I already know I love after reading a book that I loved but crushed my emotion or one that I kind of hated. It’s comfortable, yes, but it can also be soothing. And, unlike actually drinking, this can be a cure for a (book) hangover rather than something that causes a hangover!

Reason 4: Why Else Would I Buy Books in the First Place?

As I recently wrote in a discussion post, I don’t really buy that many books. Most of the non-rereads that I read are from the library, either physical or ebook. I only really buy a book if I’ve already read and loved it or I have a lot of faith in the author. So, the few books that I do buy, I might as well read them, right? I mean, what’s the point otherwise? I buy these books because I love them enough to reread them or because I think I’m going to love them enough for that. If I don’t reread them, then I feel guilty and like I’m wasting my money. I’m not saying that anyone who buys a book and doesn’t read/reread it should feel guilty – that’s just my personal issue. So, yeah, I might as well reread the books that I spent my hard-earned cash on.

Reason 5: Because I Can!

Despite my status as a Really Big Book Lover, I’m not a fan of being told what and when to read. I rarely liked the books I had to read for class, which is why I want to reread some of them on my own terms later on. I love reading books for the first time, but I don’t want to be told that I can only read new (and newly released) books because I need to write reviews for them and such. No one’s ever said this to me, but I definitely feel the pressure to try and read as many new books as possible so that I have reviews for them and my stats go up and all of that. So, sometimes, I just want to say “Screw it! I’m going to reread something that I already know I love and there’s nothing you can do about it!” This isn’t directed at anyone (except perhaps the annoying little voice in my head telling me that of course I can read a book or two a day, why am I so slow?!), but it’s nice knowing that I can do that without having to deal with the pressure of writing an essay or a review at the end of the book.

So, yeah, I’m definitely a rereader, as you can obviously see. There are months where I reread a lot and months where I barely, if at all, but I am a bona fide and proud rereader. What about you?


19 thoughts on “Discussion: My Thoughts on Rereading

  1. I love re-reading books! I’m currently re-reading the Harry Potter series for the 7th time at least (I’ve actually lost count). But lately I also feel the pressure of reading many new books…

    1. I have no idea how many times I’ve reread those books! I think the last time was when the last movie came out, though, so obviously I’m up for a reread of it myself soon! Probably this summer – summer + Harry Potter seems like a good decision to me. 😀

      I definitely feel the pressure, but I think rereading helps relieve some of that pressure. Sure, it’ll add some pressure of its own, but mostly it’ll make it easier to deal with all the new books, at least for me.

  2. I have a handful of books (To Kill a Mockingbird & The Book Thief to name a few) that I make a point to re-read once a year. Why? Because I enjoy these books and the feeling that they give me now is exactly the same as they did the first time around. It’s like revisiting an old friend.
    I also re-read when I need a pick-me-up or when the next book in a series comes out.

    1. Yeah, I think those are my two main reasons – catching up for a new book or general mood reading. I have a bunch of books I plan on rereading this summer because that time of the year I just like rereading so much, even if that’s also the time when I can get a hold of more new books as well. I plan on taking a lot of books on vacation this summer, most of them beloved books to reread!

  3. I just had a post about re-reading this week, too! I’m not a huge re-reader AT ALL. The only books I’ve re-read in the past 10 years or so have been the Divergent series and The Hunger Games trilogy. And those were just in November. I’m kind of nervous about re-reading…like will reading it a second time ruin my first opinion of it? But a bunch of people’s comments on my post made me feel better. I think I’m going to try it soon! I really want to revisit some of my old favorites.

    1. I definitely get nervous, especially when it’s a book I haven’t read in a few years am less sure that I’ll still enjoy it as the reader I am now, but the experience is almost never unpleasant – I just love revisiting these great stories! I hope it works out well for you as well!

  4. I especially agree with #4. I never buy a book unless I know it’s going to get read and re-read. Otherwise, why spend the money? I love to re-read but I definitely don’t do it as much as I used to. Thankfully one of my bloggy friends is hosting a re-read-a-thon in a few weeks! It’s something I definitely need to make the time for more often.

    1. Yeah, I always feel awful on the rare occasions when I buy a book on a whim, or I buy a book because I think I’ll reread it at the time, and I end up disliking or falling out of love with it. I always feel like I’m wasting my money!

      That’s great to hear about the re-read-a-thon thing! I’ve seen some challenges like this, like Reread January or something, but I decided to reread things on my own since I tend to be a mood reader when I reread.

  5. I am not a re-reader. Sometimes I wish I was, or that I had the time. But I’ve got so many books to read, books that I own. (We’re talking in the 700-800 range.) I’ve re-read a handful of books but it’s not something I normally do.

    1. I can definitely understand why so few people in the blogging community seem to reread. I think that’s one of the reasons I’ve never even tried to get any ARCs – there are already so many new books to read, and it’s nice to be able to just grab a beloved book and reread it whenever I want to, without the pressure of getting a review up at a certain time. That’s just the type of reader I am, and I have a feeling that it won’t change anytime soon!

      1. If only authors would stop writing so I can catch up. LOL Or if I could somehow freeze time. I have at least 5 years worth of reading material. I’ve accepted the fact that I’ll never catch up.

  6. Somehow I’m not much of a re-reader. I’m often afraid that I won’t like a book the second time round as much as the first time I read it. Suspense is one of the factors that propels me forward in reading, so when I re-read, I feel like the suspense is missing.

    Although, I do plan on re-reading Divergent and Insurgent, so I’ll finally read Allegiant. And I did re-read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone recently. I did enjoy The Philosopher’s Stone but I think mostly because it’s been so long since I read it, that I forgot most of the plot. Plus, I didn’t like it that much when I was younger. I think I’ve developed a greater appreciation for British humour, so it worked better for me the second time round.

    1. I definitely have that worry that I won’t like a book as much sometimes, and I can totally understand people who don’t want to reread something or re-watch a movie because they know what happens. I can’t really reread a book that relies on suspense too much because it just wouldn’t work, but otherwise I don’t mind that I know what already happens, because those are normally the books where I love the characters and the small moments, which don’t need suspense for them to work for me.

Leave a comment