Monthly Rewind: March

MonthlyRewind

Music of the Month

1. Snow Ghosts – And the World Was Gone: I stumbled upon this song thanks to the suggested videos on YouTube, and it’s just so haunting! The music video is really weird – seriously, just watch it and try not to feel like the normal world really is disappearing and a weird one has replaced it.

2. Sia – Breathe Me: Another haunting song, but I had already heard of this one before. I don’t remember what reminded me of this song, but I’ve been listening to it a lot lately.

3. Skylar Grey – Coming Home: You might remember a song called “Coming Home” from P. Diddy (or whatever his name is), with a girl singing the chorus; this is an extended version with the female singer, Skylar Grey.

Top Books Read

1. Something Real (Heather Demetrios): I had some small problems with this book, but it was still fascinating and kept me interested from beginning to end.

2. The Trouble With Flirting (Claire LaZebnik): This was just a cute and fluffy book that I probably won’t remember a few months from now, but has quite happy to read – and who knows, maybe the cuteness will stick around!

3. The Ghosts of Ashbury High (Jaclyn Moriarty): The final book in the Ashbury-Brookfield series – not quite as crazy as the third book, but plenty of craziness to last the 400 or 500+ pages.

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky): I’ve already seen the movie of this book, so I was kind of nervous that the book actually wouldn’t live up to it, but it was just as amazing, and better in some ways. A new favorite for sure.

5. The Unbound (Victoria Schwab): The first book in this series was a surprise hit for me, and this was just as interesting. I think the series has unfortunately been discontinued, but a third book is listed on Goodreads saying the author wants to release it in any form possible, so hopefully the story will continue in some way soon.

6. These Broken Stars (Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner): I haven’t actually finished this as I write this in the last hour or so before it goes up, but I have 70 pages at most and I’m still really liking it, so I figure it’ll continue being a great read for this month.

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

1. My Thoughts on Rereading: Rereading is such a big part of my reading life, so it was interesting to write about that and hear comments from people who aren’t such big rereaders.

2. Happy Pi Day, Everyone!: It was a lot more difficult than I would have liked, but it was still fun finding books with math, science, and school loving girls.

3. The Daily Prophecy’s Fairytale Survey: Another fun survey, this time with fairy tale characters!

4. I’m a Very Emotional Reader – But It’s Totally Fine If You Aren’t: This was another interesting topic for me – being an emotional reader is another huge part of my reading personality.

Books I’m Excited About

MiseducationofCameronPost InkIsThickerThanWater TTYL

The Miseducation of Cameron Post is one of the many books I have from the library right now and it sounds really interesting – I need more LGBTQ books in my life. Ink is Thicker Than Water is a book I’ve been trying to get my hands on for a while, but it just hasn’t been at the library, so I finally bought it even though I haven’t read it, so hopefully it ends up being good! And I’m still trying to reread TTYL – whenever I finish working my way through my pile of library books, I will.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

TheSummerIWasntMe LoveLetterstotheDead SeaofShadows MuseumofIntangibleThings WhatIThoughtWasTrue ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore

So many great books coming out in April! Perfect timing, since school is starting to wind down (well, not really, there are a lot of tests and papers and such at the end, but it’ll be over soon after May begins, so close enough) and summer is always a great time to read books!

Challenges – Progress

Despite a bit of a slump that began around mid-March, I continue doing quite well with my overall challenge, easily passing where I should be for April even though it has yet to begin. Since you never really know when a semester is going to end up being crazy busy ahead of time, I’m glad to have this nice reserve of books from spring, and I’m sure I’ll manage to get plenty of books read this summer as well. Anyway, I’ve currently read 48 books!

I’ve been trying not to reread too many books this month, mainly since I plan on rereading a lot this summer. It’s kind of ironic, though, since I had my first review of a reread and a discussion post later that week to go along with it, but that’s because my reviews and such tend to be a month or so in advance right now. Anyway, I’ve currently read 38 new books.

I’m really not that used to getting a hold of many debuts this early in the year, so I’m just excited with the few I have read. I’m actually doing quite well (for me) this early in the year – so far, I’ve read 3 books for this challenge.

I’ve been struggling a bit with my Adult Fiction challenge, though, so I’ve decided to include DNFs for this challenge. The main purpose of this challenge was to open myself up to new books, and I think I should include DNFs because it helps me understand what books work for me and what don’t. And I want to complete the challenge, but that’s the petty reason. So, including DNFs, I currently have read 3 books.

Favorite Non-Book Things

Since I’m doing this kind of last minute, I don’t really have time to highlight anything for this category, so expect plenty next month – or not, if the end of school is getting too crazy for me. But expect something.

A Goal for April

I’m going to attempt Camp NaNoWriMo again this month, so I’m going to try to write 20,000 or 25,000 words this month (can’t remember which off the top of my head). That’s less than 1,000 words a day, so I really hope I can manage to do it this month. I’ll let you know in April’s Monthly Rewind, so fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

