Retrospectively Reading (26)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

IllGiveYoutheSun

I’ve been quite distracted by my other books that actually have decent-sized chapters (why does this book have 30-100 page long sections? I like chapter breaks!), but I’m certainly intrigued by this book so far. I haven’t quite decided how I feel about it, but I’m definitely intrigued, and I’ll leave it at that for now.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or the last Three or Four Weeks)…

HyperboleAndAHalf JellicoeRoad MostLikelyToSucceed FridaySociety Alex+Ada LiesMyGirlfriendToldMe ExquisiteCorpse Alice15

Look at all the books! And the last book, Please Don’t Be True, is an omnibus with three Alice books in it, so even more books! I’m happy to say that there have been some good books to start the year, but nothing super-amazing so far, just 3 and 4 star books so far. But, obviously, there’s still plenty of time left…

…and the Unfortunate Rest

BookishlyEverAfter

I didn’t hate this book really, but I just didn’t connect to it enough and spent too much time rolling my eyes at the protagonist’s antics. I do think most bookish people will at least enough this book, but it wasn’t for me.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

I did not do a good job of limiting myself in recent library trips, despite the fact that classes start tomorrow. I did have fun creating this picture of an overly-large TBR pile, though.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

Firsts BookishlyEverAfter

Only two books on my to-read shelf came out this month, which is a weird feeling. I already read Bookishly Ever After, obviously, and hopefully I’ll get my hands on Firsts, another debut, soon enough.

Just Added

FinnikinOfTheRock LookingForAlibrandi ForgetYou GoingTooFar AlexAda2 AlexAda3

I added books in twos, apparently, all from books and authors I’ve read recently. If you look up at the very crowded TBR pile picture, you’ll see that I already got volumes two and three of Alex + Ada from the library and will probably read them soon.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

MyUnscriptedLife

Only one new cover in three or four weeks? Come on! It’s cute enough, but nothing spectacular.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

Look at my pretty new bookcase! YAY FOR MORE BOOKISH SPACE!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Is Book Hype Truly All That Bad?” @ Paper Fury

“Ageism, Marketing, and the Validity of Literature” @ Words Like Silver

“5 Ways Book Blogging With Anxiety and Depression Sucks Balls” @ Cuddlebuggery

“A Readerly Woe” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“Do You need Scrivener In Your Precious Writerly Life?” @ Paper Fury

“Setting My Goodreads Challenge” @ Pretty Deadly Reviews

“What We Aren’t Talking About When We Talk About Feminism in YA” @ The Daily Dahlia

“Writing Calendar: Keeping Count of Your Writing” @ Blots and Plots (this is an old post, but whatever, I just found it)

“Book Blog Like Nobody’s Watching” @ Cuddlebuggery

“The I WILL FIGHT YOU OVER THIS OTP List” @ Cuddlebuggery

“How to Punch Spoilers and Hype in the Face” @ A Reader of Fictions

“TV Review – The 100, Wanheda Part 1” @ Cuddlebuggery


Leave a comment