Retrospectively Reading (20)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

LairofDreams  ExquisiteCaptive

I’m in a really good place, reading-wise right now – it’s taking me a while to get through both of these books, but not because I don’t like them. I’m having fun savoring them, snatching time to read them between classes and in my free time. I’m glad I waited a while to read Exquisite Captive – I feel like my mind is mostly cleared of all the opinions about the book that came out around the release date.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or Three)…

TheSacredLiesofMinnowBly TheRoyalWe HoldStill Diviners NotInTheScript MadeYouUp

Hmm, I haven’t read too much in the past three weeks – most of these were in the first two weeks – but I enjoyed all these books for the most part, so I don’t care.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

IAmHerRevenge AllFallDown FansOfTheImpossibleLife PretendingtoBeErica

Of course, there were quite a few DNFs, but it helped keep me from feeling like I was in a bookish slump, so I don’t care.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

TheBoyMostLikelyTo

There are a lot of books I have to read, but this is the most I’m most excited about, as soon as I reread the first book!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

FansOfTheImpossibleLife Lock&Mori TheDeadHouse

Unfortunately, Fans of the Impossible Life was already a bit of a failure for me personally, but hopefully the other two books will work out better.

Just Added

Hmm, I don’t think I have anything new. Shocking!

The New Covers and News of the Book World

EnterTitleHere Vicarious ArtOfBeingNormal PSILikeYou

Well, we started off with some boring covers, but things ended well! The Art of Being Normal is actually a book cover I already showed, but this is apparently the American version and the old one is a foreign edition. And look at the adorableness of Kasie West’s latest cover!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

My bookmark seemed fitting. That is all (also, this book was pretty fun – I want more from these two!).

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Designs: The Wrath and the Dawn” @ Read At Midnight Designs: This post has iPhone backgrounds from the wonderful The Wrath and the Dawn!

“Helpful Revision Strategies I Discovered While Working On My Manuscript” @ Stay Bookish: I really need to get back to revising – hopefully this will inspire me to do that (it already has a bit).

“Do You Like Unique Formatting in Books?” @ Paper Fury: This post has some interesting formats that I might have to check out in the future, plus the quite interesting (at least to me) Shatter Me.

“8 Things to Cut When You Kill Your Darlings” @ She’s Novel: More revising – ignore all this if you aren’t a writer.

“Exciting Thing is Exciting” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner: A dog! Pictures of Jamie’s adorable new dog, who is VERY adorable, as dogs tend to be.

“Should We Read What Everyone Else is Reading?” @ Paper Fury: This has an interesting point – there’s nothing wrong with reading what everyone else reads since we all react differently to books.

“Review: Little Robot by Ben Hatke” @ Cuddlebuggery: Yes, this is a review, but it looks quite interesting and could come in handy if you’re a future teacher (or parent, I suppose) like me.

“Meg’s Super Awesome Cover Design Project – The Raven Cycle” @ Cuddlebuggery: Beautiful covers/prints of the Raven Cycle! I NEED THEM, mainly the one of Blue.

“Bookish Style Files: Pretty in Pink” @ Alexa Loves Books: I liked some of the clothes. *shrugs* That is all.

“Cyberbullying: What It Is and What It Isn’t” @ Respiring Thoughts: Cyberbullying is a very important topic, and this was a short but straight-to-the-point post about what it isn’t, since so many people seem to struggle with it, especially when it comes to book reviews.

“Plagiarism, Apologies, and Bullshit” @ Cuddlebuggery: I hadn’t heard about this at all – it just makes me really sad how far some people are willing to go to get attention and prestige, rather than doing the work themselves.

“Tune in Tonight – Jane the Virgin” @ So Obsessed With: Watch this show! I can’t wait for its second season to start, and this reminder of all its awesomeness makes me even more excited.

“The Many Beautiful Editions of Little Women” @ Stay Bookish: I’ve never been super interested in the Little Women book and any of its sequels, but some of these covers have me reconsidering – because yes, I am that shallow when it comes to pretty covers.


2 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (20)

  1. Awk, thanks for sharing my post. 😀 And yay for some of those awesome books!! Although I was keen on Fans of the Impossible Life, so I’ll be a bit more cautious when I get to it. xD I also have HIGH hopes for Lock and Mori, so I hope it turns out good too!!! 😀

    1. I don’t know about Fans of the Impossible Life – other people’s less-than-stellar opinions about it definitely affected my enjoyment, plus I’m really busy right now, and want to mostly read books that really capture my attention, and this book just didn’t. It also has a 2nd POV (it has all three, actually, for its three protagonists), and I just wasn’t a fan of that.

      I really hope that Lock and Mori is a good Sherlock adaptation, and not an unnecessary one in what is admittedly a pretty crowded group. And you’re welcome – I share them because I love reading them so much, so thank YOU for writing them!

Leave a comment