My Year in Music & Moments // A Look Back At 2017

MarvelousMe

Music is the background of our lives. I’m the type of person who doesn’t like silence very much, except when I’m trying to sleep, so I always need to have the TV playing or music going, whether I’m paying attention to it or not. There weren’t many full albums that came out this year that I listened to, but there have been plenty of songs that have stuck with me, new and old, so there’s a Spotify playlist at the end.

There really weren’t that many big moments in my life, so it’s a short look back at the different things that have happened to me this past year.

YearIn4

New Albums

 

Amazing Songs

Spotify >> Best of 2017 Playlist

YearIn3

  • This past spring was all about student teaching – getting to know a whole class of second graders, getting more and more control of the class and the lessons, going through the hell that was edTPA (the test that my college required to pass student teaching and thus graduate) – that was what took up most of my time from January to May. I miss the kids so much, and one nice thing about substituting is that I can hopefully go back every once in a while and see them again.
  • I graduated college! Yay! Eh, I wasn’t really that excited, but I’m happy that I’m done with papers and homework and classes, at least until I have to go back and get a Masters Degree.
  • This past summer was hard thanks to not nearly enough job interviews and no job offers. When the school year started and I wasn’t there, I applied to be a substitute, and that’s what’s been keeping me busy for the past few months and hopefully will until next school year. It can be hard since I like getting to know kids and being comfortable, and with subbing I’m often in completely new classrooms with new kids every time. The longer I do it, the more I can come back to the same schools and maybe even the same classrooms, but that hasn’t happened enough for my liking. Wish me luck come next spring and summer, because I’m sure it’ll be more of the same – a lot of job applications, a few interviews, and a whole lot of stress. I just have to hope that a job comes out of it.

One thought on “My Year in Music & Moments // A Look Back At 2017

Leave a comment