Monthly Rewind // August

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

Well, the job search continued this month – and by that, I mean applying online and getting nowhere. So, I’m trying to become a substitute teacher and hope for a permanent position next year. Reading has been a nice distraction, as well as TV and sleeping. I really need to work out my sleeping schedule – lately I haven’t been going to bed until about 3 – 4 am and then stay in bed until past 1, although I wake up plenty of times in the morning. I know, I know, it’s horrible, but sometimes it’s nice to just stay in bed. I have been reading and posting, though, so I’m not totally sitting around and doing nothing.

Music of the Month

Since summer is coming to an end soon/is already over, depending on your view of things (no job = not back at school yet until I do all the many things to become a substitute teacher = it still feels like summer to me), it’s time for the Summer 2017 playlist. Since I haven’t been adding a lot of music to these playlists lately, I’m really liking the seasonal playlist instead of monthly ones – I feel less rushed.

Top Books Read

IgniteMe  ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore

  1. Ignite Me (Tahereh Mafi) I finally finished my reread of the Shatter Me trilogy (well, before it becomes a 6-book series), and I have to say I liked it even more the second time around. I found more nuances and knew what to expect, like the focus on Juliette’s internal characterization and growth and little world building.
  2. Labyrinth Lost (Zoraida Córdova) This book had an interesting take on the afterlife or an underworld type of fantasy, with a nice family dynamic and Latinx mythology, something we need more of in YA (really, any mythology other than Greek and Roman, much as I love those).
  3. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Jenny Han) My second reread of this book and I think I enjoy myself even more with each new go.
  4. Once and For All (Sarah Dessen) Not my new favorite (Lock and Key remains my top Dessen title), but I quite enjoyed the character dynamics and the world of wedding planning. The only thing that really detracted of my enjoyment of this book is that it included a school shooting – it was in the past and the protagonist wasn’t involved in it, but as a future teacher, that kind of stuff always throws me, especially when it’s not expected. Trigger warnings can be important for a reason.
  5. Lumberjanes: Volume Two – Friendship to the Max (Noelle Stevenson & Grace Ellis) The first volume of this graphic novel was fun, but left me a bit confused with all the supernatural happenings and so many characters to get to know, so it was nice to really start to settle into the series with this second book.

onceandforall Lumberjanes2

Quote of the Month

“But the kiss is the boiling point. It’s what everyone waits on and cheers for.
I get that, but personally? I prefer what happens before the kiss: the accidental brush of a shoulder, the spark of a stolen glance, the seemingly throwaway comment that is steeped in history and means so much more.

– Tash Hearts Tolstoy (Kathryn Ormsbee)

Favorite Posts

  1. Get Ready For a Lot of Reading, Oh Sister of Mine // Top Ten Tuesday
  2. Let’s Get to Know Me // Who Am I? Blog Tag
  3. The Joy of Finding Your Bookish Twin // The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
  4. Let’s Fill Up the Imaginary Classroom Library // Top Ten Tuesday
  5. The Minutiae of Lacey // Beautiful People
  6. You’ll Find Hidden Treasure in These Graphic Novels // Top Ten Tuesday
  7. In Which I Am Very Picky About What Goes into My Bookish Shopping Cart

Books I’m Excited About

  insomeotherlife Lumberjanes3

I’m still waiting for my hold of Flame in the Mist to come in, but while I wait, I have my own copy of Always and Forever, Lara Jean and library copies of In Some Other Life and the third Lumberjanes collection to occupy my time, plus plenty of other library books and rereads.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

GirlsMadeofSnowandGlass TheresSomeoneInsideYourHouse Archie4 34662772

Ooh, the spooky stuff is starting to come in as the fall wind blows by. Well, I don’t know if Girls Made of Snow and Glass will actually be spooky, but the cover is all black and icy, so I’m saying it anyway. There’s Someone Inside Your House will definitely be spooky, and the latest Archie and Batgirl & the Birds of Prey (which still doesn’t have a cover, so that’s a placeholder, sans title, which is all Goodreads has) will have graphic novel fun and thrills.

Challenges – Progress

challenge2017-1

110/100 (110%)
I did it! I reached my 100 books in August, with plenty of months left to go over it.

ThisIsJustMyFace IgniteMe  Freya ThePrincessDiarist Fireworks HowToBreakABoy WhatILost ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore minishopaholic onceandforall TashHeartsTolstoy Batgirl1BeyondBurnside Lumberjanes2 WonderWomanTheLies TheRomantics

challenge2017-2

92/50 (184%)
COMPLETE!

ThisIsJustMyFace  Fireworks HowToBreakABoy WhatILost minishopaholic onceandforall TashHeartsTolstoy Batgirl1BeyondBurnside Lumberjanes2 WonderWomanTheLies

challenge2017-3

10/12 (83%)

HowToBreakABoy WhatILost

challenge2017-4

17/15 (113%)
COMPLETE!

Lumberjanes2

challenge2017-5

63/75 (84%)

ThisIsJustMyFace  Fireworks HowToBreakABoy WhatILost ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore onceandforall TashHeartsTolstoy Batgirl1BeyondBurnside Lumberjanes2

challenge2017-6

22/25 (88%)

minishopaholic

challenge2017-7

21/20 (105%)
COMPLETE!

minishopaholic Batgirl1BeyondBurnside

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 16
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 11
Pages Read This Month: 4,094
Average Rating This Month: 3.88
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3

Total Books Read for Challenges: 84
Total Pages Read: 29,392
Total Average Rating: 3.79

Favorite Non-Book Things

1 // Sims 4 I am a Sims player and I feel no shame about it. I’ve played Sims 2 for years, ever since I was in elementary school or so, and I’m still a Sims 2 player, but I can play multiple games because I can do what I want. I redownloaded Sims 3 on my old laptop because a broken keyboard doesn’t matter as much for that, and when I saw that Sims 4 was on sale for 50% (!) off last week, I just had to get it. Sims 2 is still my game, but I’m liking much of the game play in Sims 4 as well. So yeah, this is one of the many reasons why I don’t post more. 😀

Amy Poehler's Smart Girls  reaction lol video games GIF
source

A Goal for September

Do what I did this month – have fits of inspiration where I just write ALL the posts and then take breaks as needed and wanted. I don’t want to push myself to write posts and reviews when I don’t feel like it, but I do want to keep this blog going, so I like having that balance.

Leave a Reply

