Goodreads Book Tag

GoodreadsBookTag

Ah, Goodreads, the social hub of reading and the sometimes-bane-of-our-bookish-lives. I’m not one who enjoys doing all the bookish tags out there (although that’s probably hard to believe sometimes, but don’t worry, that’s just because I’m often a hypocrite), but when I saw this Goodreads Tag on Bookmark Lit, I found myself interested enough to do it myself, because this blog has been too quiet lately! So, onto a dive into my sometimes too organized, sometimes not organized enough Goodreads account.

Bandette EveryMove TheInfluencingMachine IgniteMe

1. What is the last book you marked as “read?”

Just this morning (as of writing this, that is), I finished the delightful graphic novel, Bandette, before getting up and being a productive person (yes, super-productive – if you’re a reader of this blog, not really if you think productivity includes things like getting dressed and going out and doing normal people things). It’s about a French teenage thief who’s too busy being delighted by herself to worry about real danger, which makes for a pretty quick and entertaining read. One of the many books I’m reading now is the second book already, which leads to…

2. What are you currently reading?

I went with Every Move because it’s the book I’m trying to focus on right now. I’ve been reading it for ages, and I’m finally in the final 100 pages, so it’s my main focus so that I can finally finish it. Even though it’s taking me a while to read, I am enjoying it, even a new character introduced in this final book – I often have trouble warming up to late addition characters, especially when they’re meant to play such a big role in the story as well as the past of the protagonist, but I actually like him for the most part, which makes me more excited for author Ellie Marney’s companion book revolving around him.

3. What was the last book you marked as “to read?”

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve gotten loads of books from the library that were on my “maybe” shelf or simply caught my attention. The Influencing Machine, a graphic novel about the media was one such book – if more nonfiction books were graphic novels, my nonfiction books read number would be much higher.

4. What book do you plan on reading next?

I have a HUGE stack of library books, and any of them could be next depending on my mood, but I already know that, once I finish Every Move, I’ll move onto Ignite Me so that I can finish the final book in the Shatter Me trilogy (well, last one until the recently-announced #4 comes out sometime next year or so!). I’ve enjoyed my rereading of the series, and I’m sure the third book will be no different.

GoodreadsBookTag2

5. Do you use the star rating system?

I’d be lost if I couldn’t quickly check what rating I gave a book in the past, so 100%. Like most people, I wish we could automatically include half stars, but I write down any ratings that have half stars in the review area, so I don’t mind as much as some people seem to do. As long as I can go back and see if that book I read months ago and am just finally getting around to reviewing got 3.5 or 4 stars (BIG difference in my book), I’m good.

6. Are you doing the 2017 reading challenge?

Um, duh. But seriously, I’ve been doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge since 2012 – this is my 6th year doing! Every single year, no matter how I did the previous year, I make it my goal to read 100 books. Compared to some bloggers, I know that’s a pretty small number, but I know it’s a number I can handle. It’s way more than the “average” reader probably does, and it doesn’t make me feel too stressed out. Like now – I did quite well at the beginning so that I was never more than one or two books behind and was normally ahead, and thanks to the many graphic novels I’ve also been reading this year, I’ve been doing QUITE well. In fact, as of today, I’ve read 87 books, which means I’m currently 31 books ahead (!). I could bump up the number, especially once I actually reach 100 in the second half or so of each year, but I’m happy with my 100 books goal, and I’m not changing it anytime soon.

7. Do you have a wishlist?

I have a shelf on Goodreads called “books I want” – now I just need to teach my family to start using it. I look at it whenever I have a coupon or whatever, but I kind of forget about it much of the time. Oops?

TalkingAsFastAsICan GiantDays SaintsAndMisfits 

8. What book do you plan on buying next?

There’s really no guessing. I mean, I normally just do a bit of a mood thing when choosing books – “what book did I really, really love recently or would like to reread soon but don’t own?” The above books are all ones I’ve read lately that I would love to reread soon and would proudly display on my shelves.

Quotes2 Quotes4

9. What is your favorite quote?

I’m trying to get better at picking out quotes I like in books, which is why I have my “Favorite Quote” bit in the Monthly Review posts, so I actually do have a few to choose from! I also did a post about “Inspiring Quotes,” so I chose from them because GRAPHICS! Also, it’s hard to choose, thus you get MANY of them!

Also, you can see how much fun I had making very different-looking graphics thanks to Canva – hopefully I’ve come a long way?

Quotes9

10. Who are your favorite authors?

Oh god, so hard, but I will always be a Meg Cabot fangirl – it’d be very, very hard for her to ever dislodge herself from the special spot in my bookish heart. I’m also a pretty typical reader who loves pretty much everything that J.K. Rowling writes (although I do admit to avoiding the newer Harry Potter stuff because I’m not sure I want to tarnish things with a Harry who’s a struggling father because that boy would be the BEST FATHER EVER). Other favorites are Libba Bray and Kasie West, who I’m also writing about in an “Auto Buy” post that I’ll hopefully finish up sometime soon. There are some other authors who I might not buy every time, but I’d definitely check out, like Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Sophie Kinsella, Derek Landy, Justine Larbalestier, and Tahereh Mafi. SO MANY!

Author8 Author4 Author5 Author3

11. Are you a part of any Goodreads groups?

I might still technically be a part of past Debut Author and Sophomore Author challenges, but I never look at those anymore, so I don’t know if those even count. I probably should be, though, because I love the idea of book clubs but don’t know any in real life, so why not find a virtual one?

12. What could Goodreads do better?

I don’t have anything specific, other than the oft-mentioned half stars, but I love organizing, so anything it could do to allow me to do even MORE organizing would be a good thing in my book.

And with that last book metaphor, I’m done – off to do more READING!

 community nbc reading read ken jeong GIF
source
One thought on “Goodreads Book Tag

Leave a Reply

