Retrospectively Reading (44)

RetrospectivelyReading

Look, I’m actually posting an RR post in a timely manner! Despite this only being two weeks later, though, it’s full of books thanks to a lot of reading at the end of June, especially graphic novels. Most of the books were 4 stars, so pretty good but not great, but now I’ve slowed down a little since my reading really does seem to ebb and flow.

CurrentlyEnjoying

EveryMove flameinthemist TheUpsideofUnrequited

I’m still slowly working my way through Every Move, but after getting through a decent chunk of my library books, I’m starting to focus on it more. I saw that a kind of companion book was just announced (spinoff with a character introduced in this one), so that makes me even more excited to finish this one – you know, that and to know who the mysterious Moriarty figure is in this superb Sherlock retelling. My focus on physical books also means that I’ve only read the prologue of Flame in the Mist so far, which is an ebook from the library. I’ve heard this book is kind of slow, and fantasy books tend to be slow for me anyway, so that’s prevented me from really jumping into it yet. The Upside of Unrequited, however, seems like a much faster and fluffy story, which just pulls my focus away from Flame even more.

BestOftheBest

GiantDays GiantDays2 GiantDays3 Archie3 GoldieVance whendimplemetrishi Lumberjanes TalkingAsFastAsICan thisishowithappened ibelieveinathingcalledlove shopaholicandbaby

See, so many great graphic novels! Mixed into the beautifully-illustrated slice of life stories and mysteries are some wonderfully diverse books, like the debut When Dimple Met Rishi and I Believe in a Thing Called Love, the second book from Maurene Goo, who had a realistically diverse cast in her debut as well. I also flew through Lauren Graham’s memoir, Talking As Fast As I Can, which was more entertaining than I had expected. This is How It Happened and Shopaholic and Baby might have seemed more impressive if they weren’t mixed in with this lot, but they were good enough to garner 4 stars and keep me interested.

StuckMiddle

FreshRomance ChillingSabrina Kaptara Snotgirl

More graphic novels – and what a mixed bag they were! I feel kind of bad mixing Fresh Romance (a graphic novel anthology that, while it admittedly had some stories that I really, really didn’t like, had some interesting ones as well) and the first Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (so weird, but oddly enthralling) with Kaptara and Snotgirl, which had some interesting bits, but mostly left me disappointed in them. Eh, that’s why these books are “stuck in the middle” – they really are a mixed bag.

UnfortunateRest

PublicRelations

NO, just no. I think it was partly just complete disappointment that a wonderfully unique story didn’t work out, plus too much of the Manic Pixie Dream Girl and Nice Guy tropes, but this was my main problem with this graphic novel:

I’ll admit that I’m not a fan of crude humor in general, but it seems like this would be overkill for anyone; also, did not appreciate the many, many jokes and plotline about pedophilia, which is why I’m actually doing a 1 star rating instead of my regular “2 stars – did NOT like,” because I think this goes way beyond offensive for no reason {my review}

ToRead

books i need to reread

Skulduggery6 TheRevengePlaylist Truth About Forever DistanceBetweenUs   

*looks at giant stack of library books*
*looks at the many books I already own and want to reread*
*sighs and focuses on the books with due dates*

books i own but still need to read

SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 GoingTooFar theyearoftherat 

Ditto, but these books have the whole shiny and new thing going for them.

from the library

Freya Fireworks TheLastOfAugust LabyrinthLost RoyceRolls TheRomantics TheTakedown

Blame these books.

e-arcs

thesecrethistoryofus TheAfterlifeOfHollyChase onedarkthrone

NewBooks

Just Released

Hmm, I guess the summer release deluge has slowed down a tad.

Just Added
GiantDays4 GiantDays5 GiantDays6 ChillingAdventuresofSabrina2 GoldieVance2 GoldieVance3 covercomingsoon Lumberjanes2 Lumberjanes3 Lumberjanes4 Lumberjanes5 Lumberjanes6 Lumberjanes7 TooFatTooSluttyTooLoud
Uncovered: From Twinkle, With Love

Don’t worry, I more than made up for that by adding plenty of books to my to-read shelf, mainly graphic novels after checking out so many first volumes (some better than others, obviously).

New&News

PatsyWalkerHellcat3

Something else that’s slowed down: NEW COVERS! WHY ARE THERE NEVER NEW COVERS?

APictureRather

InTheSpotlight

“Her Story: Ladies in Literature with Candice Montgomery” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“How to Edit Your Novel (With Dying Or Setting Your Hair on Fire)” @ Paper Fury

“10 Things You Might Not Know About How It Ends by Catherine Lo” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“If We Were Having Coffee” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“Her Story: Ladies in Literature with Whitney Gardner” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

Leave a Reply

