Monthly Rewind // May

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

I know, I know, I announce that I’m done with my hiatus and then disappear – I was so excited by school being done and having a computer I can actually type on that I forgot how unmotivated I am to post in the summer, regardless of other reasons. So, yeah, I’ll try to be around more, although that’s really starting to just sound like a broken record at this point. I have been reading, though, and nothing has swallowed up my summer quite yet, so it’s all down to personal motivation at this point…

Music of the Month

Finding music has also fallen by the wayside a bit, so I’ve been compiling a Spring 2017 playlist instead of monthly ones, so I’m going to keep doing that until the end of spring, so end of June. In the meantime, I’ve fallen in love with the stripped version of Halsey’s “Eyes Closed,” so I’ll just stick that down here for now.

Top Books Read

   

Quote of the Month

“A Note from the Narrator: It could have meant anything, and to be honest, on a face like Cressida’s, even ordinary thinking looked rather a lot like scheming.”

– Camp So-And-So (Mary McCoy)

Favorite Posts

  1. The Mothers Who Give Us Literary Love // Top Ten Tuesday
  2. Getting to Know Freya // Beautiful People

Books I’m Excited About

   

I have The Regulars sitting around from the library, waiting to finally be read, so I’m determined to finally change that this month. When Dimple Met Rishi and I Believe in a Thing Called Love are both on hold at the library, so I’m just waiting for the universe to decide that it’s a wonderful place and get them to me. Every Move, as a book I already own, is the most likely to fall by the wayside since I don’t have to worry about due dates, but I hope that’s not the case – let’s make this month a success, self!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

   

Summer really is a good time for book releases, huh? Plenty of debuts and titles from established authors alike, and all wrapped up in beautiful covers because let’s be shallow, okay? But it’s cool how all of these covers do bring at least a little something new to the game, huh? Bring on the original covers!

Challenges – Progress

challenge2017-1

59/100 (59%)

          

challenge2017-2

49/50 (98%) – so close, just one more book to go!

        

challenge2017-3

6/12 (50%)

challenge2017-4

11/15 (73%)

 

challenge2017-5

31/75 (41%)

     

challenge2017-6

15/25 (60%)

  

challenge2017-7

8/20 (40%)

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 11
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 9
Pages Read This Month: 3,264
Average Rating This Month: 3.59
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 2.5

Total Books Read for Challenges: 45
Total Pages Read: 17,385
Total Average Rating: 3.71

Favorite Non-Book Things

1 // Scream I’m not quite done binging this MTV movie spin-off, but it’s definitely addicting, even though I’m not a huge horror fan. I’m much happier to watch horror on TV where it’s not nearly so terrifying because I’m a baby and why does horror have to be so scary? I already knew who the killer was in the second season thanks to seeing spoilers ahead of time, but there were still plenty of twists to occupy me, plus multiple characters I like and would appreciate if they don’t get chopped up or otherwise.

 
 
source // source

2 // A Series of Unfortunate Events I love ASOUE with plenty of nostalgia mixed in, not to mention the film despite any shortcomings, so I came into this Netflix show with a little sceptism. It was slow to start for me, as I was warned, but I ended up quite charmed by it, even though I saw one of its main “twists” coming from far away.

 
 
source

3 // Ghostbusters I came into this movie with extremely low expectations, which could be why I was so impressed by it. It wasn’t perfect, and there’s more action than I would like because come on let’s just have more comedy and character-building instead of ghost zapping, but it was more entertaining than I expected it to be. More female-focused remakes, please!





source

4 // The Sisterhood of Night I saw a post or two about this movie on Tumblr, mainly because it has Georgie Henley of Chronicles of Narnia fame, and it’s kind of a Crucible retelling, so of course I had to check it out. This was a pretty awesome girl power movie that made me feel so much and now I need it to watch regularly and have it destroy my emotions regularly as well.


source

5 // Great News NBC is really cranking out great comedies lately. I wasn’t going to give this show a chance because the posters and ads for it paid it look like a standard laugh track comedy (I know, I’m horrible and shallow but it helps me avoid some bad shows, okay?), but I gave it a shot and it was pretty addicting. It’s only 10 episodes long, and luckily, just like the fabulous Trial and Error that came before it, it was just renewed and will be back in the fall!

     
source

A Goal for June

Same old, same old: actually post and be present. Such a novel idea, I know.

Leave a Reply

