Monthly Rewind // March & April

MonthlyRewind

Before I get started on the regular Monthly Rewind shenanigans, I’m going to officially announce a hiatus. I already did this on Twitter a couple of weeks ago, but I figure I should say something on here as well. I’ve already mentioned in the past that my keyboard isn’t working properly and hasn’t been for at least a whole year (I can’t believe I’ve been dealing with all of this horrible nuisance for a whole year), but now two rows don’t work for most of the time, and it’s exhausting to write things for long periods of time. Right now, I’m using my mom’s computer, but in between her using it and finishing up student teaching and everything else school-related before graduation mid-May, it’s much easier to just declare an official hiatus. I’ll be back when I finally get a new computer and can properly type. I’m still on Goodreads, of course, and I’ll try my best to tweet and Instagram more, so I’m not all gone.

In the meantime, enjoy a joint March and April review before I disappear.

My Month in Review

So, things have been busy these past two months with all of my student teaching stuff. I’ve been reading, but not as much as I would like, especially since I spend most of my time at school or napping because teaching is mentally and physically exhausting, especially for an introvert who isn’t used to talking all the time. Maybe I’ll actually start doing things once I graduate and get more proper sleep and alone time.

Music of the Month

I also haven’t been listening to music much lately, but I have a February and March playlist to show off – again, once student teaching ends, I’ll have more time to listen to music when I’m doing other things.

Top Books Read

   

   

Quote of the Month

Hate looks just like everybody else until it smiles. Until it spins around and lies with lips and teeth carved into the semblance of something too passive to punch.

– Shatter Me (Tahereh Mafi)

Favorite Posts

Yeah, haven’t been doing much posting lately, obviously.

Books I’m Excited About

  

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

     

Challenges – Progress

challenge2017-1

48/100 (48%)

                      

challenge2017-2

41/50 (82%)

                  

challenge2017-3

5/12 (42%)

  

challenge2017-4

9/15 (60%)

    

challenge2017-5

25/75 (33%)

             

challenge2017-6

12/25 (48%)

       

challenge2017-7

8/20 (40%)

     

Reading Statistics

M A R C H
Books Read This Month
: 14
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 13
Pages Read This Month: 3,956
Average Rating This Month: 3.73
Highest Rating This Month: 5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3

A P R I L
Books Read This Month
: 9
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 8
Pages Read This Month: 2,182
Average Rating This Month: 3.71
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 2

Total Books Read for Challenges: 36
Total Pages Read: 14,121
Total Average Rating: 3.74

Favorite Non-Book Things

1 // Trial and Error This was an amusing little show that quietly premiered and ran quickly on NBC these past couple of months. I need to watch the final two episodes SO NO SPOILERS, but I’ve had fun with such a wild bunch of characters and hope that we get some more fun next season. I didn’t hear much about it, so I don’t know how great its chances are for renewal, but this could be a fun anthology show.

2 // One Day at a Time My sister got a free Netflix trial (yep, I don’t have Netflix – not fun for such a TV enthusiast), and this was one of the first shows I checked out. It’s pretty cheesy, but it has some great family feels and some much needed diversity. I’m looking forward to its recently announced second season.

3 // Santa Clarita Diet Another Netflix gem – I’m not done with it yet, but what I have seen of it is dryly amusing and entertaining to an absurd degree, enough so that I can forgive its gore (it is a zombie show, after all, even if it’s a zombie comedy). Drew Barrymore seems like she’s having a ball with this job, and it’s just as much fun to see her in it.

A Goal for May

Get a new computer and actually get back into blogging. I want to start relaxing (while also doing the scary part of looking for a job) and do more with the blog and other pastimes that have had to fall by the wayside thanks to a lack of free time and a computer that’s only working at about 50% capacity at this point.

Leave a Reply

