Retrospectively Reading (41)

RetrospectivelyReading

Um, oops? Maybe I’ll start posting these more regularly at some point, but I always seem to remember about it on Sunday and I like getting it ready to go at midnight, so it keeps getting pushed off. Lots of books, though!

CurrentlyEnjoying

peterpan BeautyQueens TheShipFromBeyond

Look at all the blue – and a nice mixture of books as well. I’m almost done reading Peter Pan on the superb Serial Reader app – why did no one tell me that this is a really, really weird book? I think I’d like it better if it wasn’t such a product of its time, with it repeated racism against the Native American characters and its outdated gender stereotypes that force poor Wendy into being a housewife during their make-believe on Neverland. I’m finally rereading Beauty Queens, and man, even though I’m only a couple chapters in, I forgot how much fun it is – THIS is why I reread, people, and why I need to get back into it. And I’m just now starting The Ship Beyond Time, which is the sequel to the great The Girl From Everywhere, so hopefully the sequel is as fun and imaginative.

BestOftheBest

harkavagrant onetrueloves thehatinggame romeoandorjuliet WhereAmINow thehundredliesoflizzielovett thehateugive TheGirlFromEverywhere batgirl2 batgirl3

So many great books in the past month or so! And such a weird and wonderful range of books – we have wacky and entertaining Choose-Your-Own-Adventure Romeo And/Or Juliet and the mystery The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, which I found hilarious whether it was meant to be or not. I finally reread my first book of the year with the just-as-fun-the-second-time-around The Girl From Everywhere as well as continued series like Batgirl and the first book in the Hark! A Vagrant series (I accidentally read the sequel-esque book first).

StuckMiddle

Gemina LongMaySheReign AStudyinScarlet flyingcouch asif georgiapeachesandotherforbiddenfruit yourewelcomeuniverse blackcanary1

Eh, these books were all good, but they weren’t great, and after such a long line of 3.5 and 3 star reads, it’s starting to get me down. Bring on the 4 stars and above books again!

UnfortunateRest

Wow, over a month and no horrible or even slightly-disappointing books! I will take that (although I wish the so-so books were less as well).

ToRead

books i need to reread

Skulduggery6 TheRevengePlaylist Truth About Forever DistanceBetweenUs EveryBreath EveryWord

Hey, this is one book smaller thanks to my current reread – I’ll take the little victories as I can!

books i own but still need to read

SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 BloodRedRoad GoingTooFar EveryMove findme theyearoftherat

Ignore all of these books, they’ll simply go away one day…

from the library

FinnikinOfTheRock theregulars Winning thisisourstory

Look at me with my small library stack – let’s see if I can get it even smaller and get started on all of these above stacks now!

e-arcs

Fireworks elizaandhermonsters thesecrethistoryofus antisocial oneofusislying

I’m also not doing too badly with my eARCs, although I obviously have a ways to go before it gets as small as my good little library stack.

NewBooks

Just Released

OurOwnPrivateUniverse mynotsoperfectlife tocatchakiller     

February was a pretty good month bookwise – now I just have to catch up and actually read them, plus all the many, many other books that came out before. It’s a nice mixture,too – we’ve got some contemporary, mysteries, and fantasy, with some nice diversity (F/F, POC protagonist, etc.), so a pretty good showing.

Just Added

blackcanary1 insomeotherlife thesignoffour

Hmm, not too much – that’s really surprising for me. Maybe I can actually get my TBR list down nice and low!

Oh, who am I kidding, that’ll never happen.

New&News

topten onedarkthrone archie3 

I’m a bit underwhelmed by the Top Ten cover and can’t help but think of Top Ten Tuesday when I see it. One Dark Throne is just as impressive as the first cover, though, and I’m excited for the introduction of Cheryl Blossom on the newest Archie cover since I’m mostly loving her on Riverdale. I can’t figure out how I feel about the new Diviners cover, though, because Before the Devil Breaks You doesn’t match the other covers! I NEED MATCHING!

APictureRather

InTheSpotlight

“Best Friends Forever + A Giveaway” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“Unrealistic Happenings in YA Books that Make Me Fly Away Upon a Pigeon and Ne’er Return” @ Paper Fury

“Even MORE Upcoming Books I’m Super Excited For” @ Bookmark Lit

“Bullet Journal Adventure | January ’17” @ The Daily Prophecy

“Will You Be My Valentine?” @ So Obsessed With

“Random Ramblings and Motherhood, Maga” @ Rather Be Reading

“You Haven’t Let Me Down Yet” @ Bookmark Lit

“Favorite Prints & Where to Find Them” @ Hello, Chelly

“How I Get Ready to Write a Novel (Guaranteed to Cause Success and Mild Screaming” @ Paper Fury

“#WritersLife // The Time I Accidentally Wrote 2 Novels + Dare I Give You Snippets???” @ Paper Fury

” Here I Shall Give You a Tour of My Evil Lair and Natural Habitat” @ Paper Fury

“Recent Read-Bait: Carnivals, Disappearances, and Lottery/Riches” @ Bookmark Lit

Leave a Reply

