New Writing Year, New Writing Goals // Beautiful Books

WonderfulWriting

There was a brief break, but Cait and Sky are back with another Beautiful Books post, this time focusing on writing and editing goals for the new year. I’ve been pretty busy and ignoring my writing lately, and I just started student teaching, so I probably won’t have a lot of time to write and edit, but I’m still going to try, so I need goals to motivate me!

: What were your writing achievements last year?

I finished writing the first draft of one of my stories and then came up with way too many more ideas based on dreams and then created Pinterest boards for them. I didn’t win NaNoWriMo this year, but I did managed to write every day, so I’m still pretty happy with myself, even if I only got a few hundred words some days.

What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

  • finish at least one more first draft
  • finish editing at least one first draft
  • start on at least one second draft
  • put together an inspiration and planning notebook for These Four Walls
  • continue adding to my many Pinterest WIP boards

So, lots of things to do, and such a big problem actually doing them all…

Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

Um, all of them? OK, let’s get more specific:

TheTeleporter
c u r r e n t   –   e d i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

DarkBeauty
c u r r e n t   –   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

Emerald
c u r r e n t   –   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

fallingfromheaven
c u r r e n t   –   p l a n n i n g   a n d   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

Forgotten
c u r r e n t   –   e d i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

Starlight
c u r r e n t   –   p l a n n i n g   a n d   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

TheReganGreerStory
n o w   t i t l e d   t h a t   c h e a p   s h i m m e r   a n d   g l i t t e r
c u r r e n t   –   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

thesefourwalls
c u r r e n t   –   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

Wandering
c u r r e n t   –   r e w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

whisperinyourear
c u r r e n t   –   p l a n n i n g   a n d   w r i t i n g   f i r s t   d r a f t

That sure narrowed things down, didn’t it?

 : How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

I just want to get consistent – I want to actually write regularly and sit down to edit things more than once or twice a year. I’ll get a nice routine going for about a week or more, maybe even a month (hello, NaNoWriMo), but it never seems to last. I want to actually make a lot of progress on all of these great stories that have been swimming around in my head for years or months.

Describe your general editing process.

I’m trying various editing techniques – for Forgotten, I write lots of notes after reading each chapter so that I can write a much stronger second draft; for The Teleporter, I’m writing down my general and quick thoughts; and for Wandering, I realized how bad it was, thanks to deciding mid-way through that I hated the love triangle and tweaking a lot of things, so I’m rewriting the first draft and then I’ll edit that.

On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

Hmm, of my finished first drafts:

  • The Teleporter – 7 or so
  • Forgotten – 6 or so
  • Wandering – 2

Yeah, I’m just so great at narrowing down answers, huh?

What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

Too many things change from beginning to end – I have a love triangle and then change my mind, or I overhaul a character’s personality halfway through, and other things like that. I need to make them consistent, and that’ll make everything else work better.

Ellie: What do you like the most about your draft?

Well, I have lots of different drafts, because of course, but I just love creating characters and interesting relationships and seeing how they work in the various adventures I throw them into. I want to really get inside my characters’ heads, so they’re usually one of my favorite things about my stories.

What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

More editing for sure, then I’ll eventually try to start finding betas, and then I can think about querying. I want my work to be more solid before any of that, though, so look out, friends and family, I’m coming for you first. Eventually – probably.

What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

Take a little break from it, since chances are you’ve been working on it a lot lately. And don’t quit, no matter how hard it is – if you need a break from it, then by all means, take a break, but don’t forget about it and move on. But you don’t have to listen to my advice, considering I haven’t finished editing any of my drafts yet…

all images are from various boards on my personal Pinterest
One thought on “New Writing Year, New Writing Goals // Beautiful Books

Leave a Reply

