Give Me All the Families // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

I love reading about interesting families in my books – sometimes books only give us a glimpse of a family that could be so amazing, other times it’s an amazing family and you still want more because of that. This week’s topic is all about “I want to See More of X,” so I’m going with awesome families – bring on the loving, chaotic, “I hate you even though I love you” sisters, brothers, mothers, fathers, stepparents, grandparents, cousins, and more.

FindingAudreyFinding Audrey // Sophie Kinsella (Review)

This book is about a girl with anxiety, and because of that, it’s mainly a book about her family – after all, anxiety has so much to do with what’s happening around you, or what you think is happening around you. This was a slim book, so even though I got so many great family antics, I still wanted more.

This is such a dysfunctional family that still manages to function quite well, and I want more of that. I would love to see Audrey’s family on a “normal” day, because I’m sure that it’s anything but.

TheFixerThe Fixer & The Long Game // Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Review)

Not to spoil anything, but we find out something about protagonist Tess’s family in the first book that I definitely saw coming but still enjoyed as a twist. We got to see how her family kind of changed as a result, but with so much focus on the main mystery and the political drama, it’s no surprise that it didn’t get as much attention as I wanted.

I really hope that there’s a third book coming out in this series, if only so that I can get all the family moments that I so desperately want.

MediatorThe Mediator series // Meg Cabot (Goodreads)

The Mediator is the answer to pretty much any bookish answer, including this one. I just love all the chaotic and entertaining family scenes, especially all the family dinners between Suze and her new stepfamily. There were never enough of them in between all the ghostly antics, and they were sorely lacking in the last book – so I was even happier when the seventh book came along and Suze’s stepbrothers were still a part of her life, and actually by choice.

So yeah, I still need more books because I need to see more of the Simon-Ackerman household.

SavingFrancescaSaving Francesca // Melina Marchetta (Review)

Saving Francesca tells us something very important: when someone struggles with mental health, they aren’t the only one who deals with it. Francesca finds this out the hard way when her mother doesn’t get up one day, and as she so beautifully sums it up, just like some families say “We’re pregnant,” she can now say “We’re depressed.” As a result, her family is a little bit broken, and it only really begins to come together towards the end.

We got a sequel of sorts with The Piper’s Son, but it’s about a different family, and I wish we could have learned more about the Spinellis, a loving and realistic family.

SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWantSmart Girls Get What They Want // Sarah Strohmeyer (Review)

Smart Girls is all about the romance and the friendship, but I found myself choosing this book for something I wanted more of: the family. Protagonist Gigi lives with her grandmother, a French woman (that’s where she gets her amazing name, Genevieve – why no, I’m not biased) and has an amazingly smart scientist for a mother that she barely gets to see. I would love to see more of the grandmother-mother-daughter dynamic, from the women using French to annoy Gigi to some beautiful family moments.

MyLifeNextDoorMy Life Next Door //Huntley Fitzpatrick (Review)

Either you’ve read this book and know all about the amazing Garrett family or you’ve heard all about them on the blogosphere. We get so many great moments with this chaotic, dramatic, and loving family, but I STILL WANTED MORE.

I think that’s why I ended up disappointed with The Boy Most Likely To for the most part – I wanted more of the fun and chaotic Garretts, not the falling-apart Garretts in the background and a much bigger focus on the romance between Tim and Alice. So, I need a real sequel that has Samantha and Jace and LOTS OF GARRETTS.

LockAndKeyLock and Key // Sarah Dessen (Review)

I want more sisters in books, and sisters who kind of hate each other and then finally fix their relationship is a pretty decent trope – except for the horrible part where they hate each other. Anyway, I like how Ruby and Cora are forced into spending time with each other thanks to Cora getting custody of her sister. It’s always interesting how siblings deal with a nontraditional relationship, such as basically being mother and daughter even though they really aren’t. If Sarah Dessen ever writes a sequel, I hope it’s of this book, which is also my favorite of her 12 or so books (is it thirteen now? still 12? eleven? eh, doesn’t matter).

ReeceMalcolmListThe Reece Malcolm List // Amy Spalding (Review)

I want to see more of young parents dealing with their kids now that they’re the same age the parent was when they had them. Devan has to move in with the birth mother she never knew after her father died and her stepmother doesn’t want her. It’s interesting to see them trying to understand each other and get to know each other despite sixteen years or so of history that makes their relationship strained. Her mother also has a young boyfriend and there’s an interesting bit of a twist at the end that makes me really want a sequel so that we can see the family continue to grow.

RubyOliverRuby Oliver series // E. Lockhart (Surveying Series post)

There seem to be a lot of only children in media since there are less people to distract the protagonist from their romance or adventure, but we don’t really get to understand their families. Ruby is one of those only children, and we actually get to see her talk about how weird it can be to be an only child who sometimes feels like she’s intruding on her parents’ marriage. I want to see more family moments and analysis like this – plus, the Olivers are all wacky and quirky and loving and so entertaining.

skulduggerypleasantSkulduggery Pleasant series // Derek Landy (Review)

I haven’t finished reading this series yet (NO SPOILERS PLEASE!), but from what I have seen of it, I could use more about Valkyrie’s family. They’re wonderfully sarcastic but still loving, and one of the few downsides with Valkyrie running off and having adventures with Skulduggery Pleasant and company is that she doesn’t get to spend time with her family – her reflection has to do that for her (makes sense in context). Maybe there are more family shenanigans in the last three books, but I’ll have to actually get around to them to find out for sure.

2 thoughts on “Give Me All the Families // Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

