The 2016 Books Left Behind // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

You know, there’s a reason you should get these posts up on time and not let them languish in your drafts – you end up reading a good number of these books after you already wrote about them. So, I’m publishing this and ignoring the fact that I read some of these already (I’ll let you know if they worked out or not), because I like this graphics and I’m not just trashing it. Anyway, this is about the many, many books that I just didn’t get to last year. And yes, I realize that it is Monday – and no, I don’t care.

didntread1

1. The Nest (Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney)

G O O D R E A D S
There’s just something about family dramas that really appeal to me, so this adult book about a rich family and their problems caught my interest. Hopefully it’ll be wonderfully melodramatic and such, not a bit of a mess.

2. Shuffle, Repeat (Jen Klein)

G O O D R E A D S
When I hear about a very fluffy and banter-y contemporary book, you can bet that it’s going to get my attention, and just looking at a bit of it while at the library got me interested in this book. I’ve had it from the library for a while, but there have been plenty of other books standing in its way – hopefully I’ll get to it soon.
n o t e : I got to it soon and it didn’t work out, but I can see why people like it.

didntread2

3. One True Loves (Taylor Jenkins Reid)

G O O D R E A D S
Well, to be fair, I didn’t discover Reid until December in the first place, but as soon as I read Maybe in Another Life, I knew I had to check out her other books, including this latest one, so it’s making the list anyway.
n o t e : I didn’t love it as much as Maybe, but I think this book will be fine with its 4 star rating anyway.

4. Sex Object (Jessica Valenti)

G O O D R E A D S
I saw a good review about this book, and that was really all it took for me to try out another book about rape culture and such – I’m sure it’ll make me super-mad, but hopefully in the best way possible.

didntread3

5. Look Both Ways (Alison Cherry)

G O O D R E A D S
Alison Cherry’s second book (the only one of hers I’ve read) wasn’t too bad when it wasn’t focusing on romantic drama, so I hope this story that I’m pretty sure is about two girls falling in love takes what worked with that book and does even better.

6. The Hating Game (Sally Thorne)

G O O D R E A D S
The hype for this book was real at the end of the year, and after hearing about how great this hate-to-love relationship is, of course I had to check it out. I have a hold out on it, so I’m just waiting for that to come in.
n o t e : As I write this, I’m currently reading it, and it’s currently still living up to the hype.

didntread4

7. Cherry (Lindsey Rosin)

G O O D R E A D S
I kind of ignored this book when it first came out, but then it started showing up on a bunch of end of year lists thanks to its apparently frank and superb depiction of female sexuality and friendship, so that definitely caught my attention.

8. Where Am I Now? (Mara Wilson)

G O O D R E A D S
I loved Matilda, and even though I know Mara Wilson isn’t Matilda, she sounds awesome and still Matilda-like, so I’d definitely like to see what kind of person she is and what she’s interested in writing about – plus, I want to read a little more nonfiction.

didntread5

9. The Boy is Back (Meg Cabot)

G O O D R E A D S
Why has this hold not come in yet?! That’s the only reason I haven’t read the latest Meg Cabot book yet.
n o t e : It was awesome, of course.

10. One True Loves (Stephanie Kate Strohm)

G O O D R E A D S
I don’t know quite why, but something about this book really interests me. It just looks cute and interesting, even though I don’t really remember what it’s about other than interviews? Or something? Anyway, I have it from the library and I want to read it and be entertained.
n o t e : This was really entertaining – I liked the unusual format with all the interviews.

2 thoughts on “The 2016 Books Left Behind // Top Ten Tuesday

  1. What a fun list!

    Cherry was such a good read – it had me hooked from the very start, and it was nice to watch the characters grow and change throughout. If you like books with character development, this is a good one.

    I bought Look Both Ways when it first came out, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

Leave a Reply

