Monthly Rewind // January

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

I know, I didn’t do one of these posts last month (the end of the year! I should be all over end of the year posts!), and I’ve basically been MIA all month, but I have my reasons! Namely, I’m student teaching this month – when I’m not at school, I’m exhausted because second graders wear you out, mentally and a bit of physically. Anyway, I’ll try to actually post this month, but I can’t make any promises.

I have been reading so far this year, though, so there’s that. I managed to read 14 books already! Sure, two were DNFs and there were a lot of comic books and graphic novels, but never let anyone think that that means you aren’t actually reading. So, I hope to keep up the good work next month, and maybe I can even post for once.

Music of the Month

 

 

It’s kind of a small playlist this month, but I didn’t want to skip it again, so here it is, with some covers and now songs both.

Top Books Read

ByYourSide MaybeInAnotherLife shopaholictakesmanhattan TellTheTruthShameTheDevil CrookedKingdom BadBlood

These are all the good books I read in December, since I never posted it – they were pretty much all at the end as well, so it was a nice way to end 2016. Now for the books of this month, though:

TheUnexpectedEverything aweekofmondays itsnotmeitsyou TheBoyIsBack stepasidepops harkavagrant thefangirlsguidetothegalaxy batgirl1

So many great books this month, with an emphasis on contemporary YA and graphic novels/comics – yay for mixing things up a bit!

Quote of the Month

“That’s the Baader-Meinhof phenomenon,” Olive said when I mentioned it at lunch. “My brother just told me about this. You don’t notice something and then you learn the name for it and suddenly it’s everywhere.” Olive thought for a moment. “Whoa, I’m pretty sure I have the Baader-Meinhof phenomenon about the Baader-Meinhof phenomenon.”
– One True Loves (Taylor Jenkins Reid)

Favorite Posts

Whoops, not a lot of posts…

  1. The New Authors of the New Year // Top Ten Tuesday

Books I’m Excited About

BloodRedRoad TheShipFromBeyond romeoandorjuliet

I WILL READ BLOOD RED ROAD EVENTUALLY! And in the meantime, I’ll read my eARC of The Ship Beyond Time (after reading the first book) and I got this Choose-Your-Own-Adventure Shakespeare-style book at the library – it’s bigger than I thought, but it looks quite entertaining and so I’m definitely excited to start it.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

mynotsoperfectlife TheShipFromBeyond thehateugive

Come on, My (Not So) Perfect Life, you broke the pattern!

Challenges – Progress

challenge2017-1

14/100 (14%)

TheUnexpectedEverything archie2 aweekofmondays itsnotmeitsyou shopaholictiestheknot TheBoyIsBack ShuffleRepeat stepasidepops RebelBelle thefangirlsguidetothegalaxy BloodPromise batgirl1 harkavagrant onetrueloves

challenge2017-2

12/50 (24%)

TheUnexpectedEverything archie2 aweekofmondays itsnotmeitsyou shopaholictiestheknot TheBoyIsBack stepasidepops thefangirlsguidetothegalaxy BloodPromise batgirl1 harkavagrant onetrueloves

challenge2017-4

3/15 (20%)

archie2 harkavagrant onetrueloves

challenge2017-5

5/75 (7%)

itsnotmeitsyou stepasidepops thefangirlsguidetothegalaxy batgirl1 harkavagrant

challenge2017-6

3/25 (12%)

shopaholictiestheknot BloodPromise harkavagrant

challenge2017-7

1/20 (5%)

BloodPromise

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 14
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 7
Pages Read This Month: 3,768
Average Rating This Month: 3.96
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 2.5

Total Books Read for Challenges: 7
Total Pages Read: 3,768
Total Average Rating: 3.96

Favorite Non-Book Things

1 // Push I saw this movie years ago and I remember liking it, but I kind of forgot about it much like the pop culture world did, but I saw a post about it on Tumblr or something and decided to get it from the library again. It’s a pretty fun and easy way to pass to pass two hours or so. I wish I didn’t kind of ship Dakota Fanning and Chris Evans (she’s like 13, I know), but their relationship, no matter what kind it is, is the most interesting way…


SOURCE

2 // How to Be Single I didn’t expect to like this movie as much as I did, but it was actually quite fun and even made me think a lot about relationships and singledom. I have trouble falling asleep most nights because I can’t turn off my mind, and one particular night was devoted to me analyzing the different kinds of relationships. It’s always fun nights for me.

 
 
 
 
SOURCE

Also, Alison Brie ❤

 
 
 
 
SOURCE

3 // Moana I never really go to the theater (I don’t like spending money. Unless it’s books. Or TV shows. And then I might spend too much), so when I do, you know that it’s because I really want to see it – AND I WANTED TO SEE MOANA! Good news: my expectations weren’t dashed. Bad news: the songs got stuck in my head. Wait, did I say bad news?

 
 
 
 
SOURCE

SOURCE

4 // Spin City Another older show I recently discovered (yes, no one ever heard of this show before me, I am the TV goddess), and it is entertaining. Also, it has so many people I know – I at least recognized all of the regular cast. I was sad when I saw that Charlie Sheen eventually took over for Michael J. Fox because of his Parkinson’s, so as I watch this show, I’m going to pretend that it just ended at season 4 (I think that’s when the main character changes). And this show does a pretty good job of having a gay, black man who seems quite realistic (and wonderfully sarcastic) even in the late ’90s.

 
 
SOURCE
     
SOURCE

5 // The Mick This show isn’t a new favorite, but it’s entertaining enough and I like the family dynamics, especially how the older sister is a bit of an entitled brat (but I love her), but she obviously loves her little brother and doesn’t seem to mind showing it.

 
 
 
 
 
SOURCE
  
SOURCE

6 // Riverdale I’ve only seen the first two episodes (because that’s all that’s out so far), one of those was actually yesterday, so in February, and it’s definitely melodramatic, but I still really like this show. Three words: Betty and Veronica. Archie is maybe growing on me, but these two are the show for me right now.


SOURCE

A Goal for February

Actually post? That seems like a reasonable goal.

Leave a Reply

