Did I Tell the Bookish Future?

Discussion

Every year, we have the TTT posts about debuts and other new releases we’re looking forward to – and we forget about the posts we wrote up the previous year. I wanted to go back and see how well some of these books turned out – have I bothered to read them yet, were they a bit disappointing, or did they wow me just like I thought they would? Plus, I get to look at these graphics again.

This was a bit of a meh book for me – it was interesting enough, but my expectations were a bit high. I’m curious to see what Laurie Elizabeth Flynn writes next, though, so not a total bust.

3.5stars

OK, anything short of perfect was pretty much going to be a disappointment – and, luckily, this book did not disappoint. I need more Suze Simon!

4.5stars

This book did a great job of continuing Aurora’s journey, both personally and as a princess who finds out she can control dragons. Yep, Sleeping Beauty + dragons. Pretty awesome, huh? I think Rhiannon Thomas is doing her very best to cement herself as a fave author – and I have an eARC of her new book!

4stars

I got a bit fed up with the large amount of romantic angst, but this was still a great conclusion to a magically and beautifully written story.

4stars

Yeah, I haven’t read this one yet. Oops.

Community

I didn’t love this book quite as much as the amazing first entry, but this was still a great conclusion to a wonderful duology – and I need more from Renée Ahdieh!

4stars

I need more trans representation! This taught me so much, but there’s still so much I don’t know.

4.5stars

I bought this book – and I still haven’t read it. *hangs head*

Bring It On
*is judging me – thank you, Gabrielle Union/Isis, I deserve it*

I’ve seen a mixed review or two of this book, so I haven’t tried it out yet.

My expectations were a little high for this book, so it didn’t quite live up to them, but it was still fairly enjoyable and a great twist on real history with a dash of The Princess Bride flavor.

4stars

And now for the specific debuts I was looking forward to, a couple which I showed above.

I need to read more books about diverse genders – I just haven’t yet, which is why this one is still unread.

10 Things I Hate About You

This was a wonderful surprise for me. I didn’t really expect to like it as much as I did since I hadn’t really heard anything about it, but I thought it was great. I recently got an eARC of the sequel, so I plan on rereading and enjoying this book very soon.

4.5stars

More diversity that I haven’t gotten around to. This is becoming a very sad pattern…

Teen Wolf
I’m Stiles, the one being justly pushed, in this situation

I haven’t heard any reviews of this one yet, so I haven’t actually picked it up yet, but I do plan on doing that at some point!

I had forgotten about this one, but then I saw a pretty good review recently, so it’s back on my radar.

Unfortunately, this is another one lacking in reviews, so I don’t know if it’s any good, but it’s about Hollywood, so let’s be honest, I’m probably going to check it out.

I feel like I kind of have to check this out – the author is a descendent of an actual Mather from the Salem witch trials. I read a brief sample, though, and I think it’ll be enjoyable enough, so I just need to get around to picking this one up.

Leave a Reply

