2017 Has So Many Gems to Look Forward To – So Why Do I Have to Wait? // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

This isn’t totally correct – I just did my top ten books coming out in 2017, which means are a couple of them are from the beginning of the second half of the year, but whatever, it’s new books, that’s all that matters!

2017anticipated4
January 31st

After the wonderfulness and great diversity of her Macbeth retelling, As I Descended, I am definitely looking forward to her next book, which is another f/f romance, if I remember correctly – I mean, look at that cover, obviously it’s about awesome girls falling in love with each other!

OurOwnPrivateUniverse

2017anticipated2
January 31st and July 25th

Kasie West is the queen, obviously. I’m currently reading an eARC of By Your Side and loving it, and even without knowing quite what her second 2017 release is about, I know I’ll at least like it, if not love it.

ByYourSide luckyinlove

2017anticipated3
February 21st

I have an eARC of this one as well – it’s from the awesome author behind the Sleeping Beauty duology of A Wicked Thing and Kingdom of Ashes. This isn’t a retelling, as far as I know, but it has a science-obsessed girl become queen when the 25 or so people ahead of her in line for the throne all die.

LongMaySheReign

2017anticipated7
March 28th

Another eARC! The Girl From Everywhere was a surprise gift for me this year, so I’m really excited to read the sequel – after rereading the wonderful tale about Hawaiian history and adventure first, of course.

TheShipFromBeyond

2017anticipated1
April 4th

A new Lara Jean book! I don’t know anything about this book, but it has a beautiful cover, of course, and I hope there’ll be more sisterly love and bonding, as well as a stronger Lara Jean and Peter relationship. And stop making Genevieve evil! Make her good! Make Genevieve Good 2o17!

alwaysandforeverlarajean

2017anticipated6
May 2nd

Renée Ahdieh wrote the spectacular The Wrath and the Dawn and The Rose and the Dagger, so I’m down for anything else she can write. I’m sure that this one will be a greatly diverse fantasy book as well, because there’s more to fantasy than European-medieval type settings.

flameinthemist

2017anticipated9
May 30th

I read Maurene Goo’s debut a couple years ago, and I don’t remember much about it other than it being entertaining and also diverse, with more than a token minority, so I’m excited for this cute-looking romance that involves K-Dramas or K-Pop or something like that, but this time, it’s from an author who’s actually Korean (I’m assuming, anyway).

ibelieveinathingcalledlove

2017anticipated10
July 11

A new book from Paula Stokes! But, more importantly – THE MAIN CHARACTER’S NAME IS GENEVIEVE! THAT’S ALL I NEED TO KNOW!

thisishowithappened

2017anticipated5
July 17th

There’s been a long break between Leila Howland’s Nantucket Blue and Nantucket Red duology, but hopefully it was worth the wait. If I remember correctly, this is a post high school story, which we definitely need more of.

HelloSunshine

2017anticipated8
September 7th

I loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half – I think it did a great job of highlighting real life while dealing with depression and everything else, all in graphic form. I want more from her for sure.

SolutionsAndOtherProblems

Honorable Mentions

mynotsoperfectlife campsoandso Fireworks elizaandhermonsters onceandforall badromance

My (Not So) Perfect Life (Sophie Kinsella) // I started to fall in love with Sophie Kinsella’s wonderfully fluffy work this year, so I’m definitely looking forward to a new adult book from her.

Camp So and So (Mary McCoy) // This book is compared to Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens (either she said it or the synopsis, I don’t remember which), and it looks wonderfully twisted and entertaining.

Fireworks (Katie Cotugno) // I’m technically from the ’90s, but considering that I did the majority of my memory-filled growing up in the early ’00s, the ’90s feel like this different time that I’ve mainly seen in movies and books. So, this sounds like a nostalgia-drenched story about friendship and celebrity (I think?) – I have an eARC of this one as well, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon!

Eliza and Her Monsters (Francesca Zappia) // The author of Made You Up is finally writing a new book! That’s all I need to know!

Once and For All (Sarah Dessen) // A new Sarah Dessen one! I think this one involves weddings? But who cares, it’s another summery Sarah Dessen adventure, that’s all that matters.

Bad Romance (Heather Demetrios) // Abusive romances can be terrifying, obviously, but when done right, they can be emotionally beautiful in the best and worst way possible. Hopefully this book does that.

One thought on “2017 Has So Many Gems to Look Forward To – So Why Do I Have to Wait? // Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

