Baby I Was On My Way // Beautiful Books & NaNoWriMo

WonderfulWriting

We’re past the halfway for NaNoWriMo, and it’s time for another Beautiful Books post from Cait and Sky!

nanowrimo2016

I’m still working on These Four Walls, which impresses me considering my writing attention span, but I’m also mixing things up by writing bits and pieces of other stories when I need a little distraction but need to keep reading.

thesefourwalls

aesthetic: one: Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

It’s actually pretty good. I was feeling a lot of pressure initially, especially when I slowly but steadily got behind, but then I decided not to let it get to me. I realized that I’m making a lot of progress on a new story, something I haven’t really done in a while since I’m so focused on older stories, and that’s a win for me already. That being said, I’ve been pretty well motivated lately, so I’m also feeling optimistic. One way I think I’m really succeeding is by allowing myself to skip around in the story and write snippets of other stories when I need a mini-break but still want to write.

two: What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

I breathed in the deep smell of nature, mucky water, and someone barbecuing their summertime dinner – I was home, at least for the next month or two. I was a Morris (well, a Vega-Morris anyway, but most of my family here only paid attention to the second name as well as the blue-blooded white lineage that came with that surname) and it was time to return to the Morre Manor.

three: Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

My baby, the main Main Character, Esmé. I write her chapters from first person point of view and definitely write longer chapters with her at the forefront. All of these characters are becoming my babies, though, even the scary Grey (he’s a sweetheart, but it’s my first time writing from the POV of a boy, even if it’s third person).

aesthetic: four: What do you love about your novel so far?

I shouldn’t be surprised, considering how introspective I can get with characters (sometimes too much, but that’s for editing to fix), but I’m really happy with how deeply I dig into every one of my characters as I write them. They start off with some details and personality, but it’s the actual writing that really helps me know who these characters are and adds diversity through race, gender, and sexuality.

five: Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

I’m not a perfectionist by any means, but I definitely correct my spelling mistakes as I go along. Sorry to be so boring.

six: What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

I’m definitely the most motivated at the beginning of the story, but when I finally get to the end, I know I’ll be so excited to be almost done and ready to move on to the next step that it’ll probably be my favorite point. It probably won’t happen this month, though, but hopefully it can happen soon, maybe in the next few months? *is optimistic*

aesthetic: seven: What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I don’t really have habits because I’m too busy to have that right now. Sometimes I write little bits in class and count up the words before I get the chance to type it up on the computer, and a lot of times I just write while I’m watching TV at night and in between homework. I write wherever, which is usually on the couch or at my kitchen counter. I don’t normally eat while writing because that’s way too distracting and keeps my hands busy when I need them to TYPE.

eight: How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I really should be more open about it because then I would feel more accountable, but I’m pretty quiet about it. I’ll write about writing every so often on Twitter (my blog Twitter, not my personal one), but last year I did mention winning on my Facebook page, so I’m not totally isolated.

Grey and Colin: nine: What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

I’m pretty good at intrinsic motivation. I don’t really have the money to go out and buy myself something as reward if I win, so I try to write because I want to, because it’s important to me. It obviously works better some days than others, but it keeps me going and means I’ve written something every day this month, even if it’s just a few hundred words.

ten: What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

I don’t think I should be giving advice when I’m still figuring things out, but I’ll give it a shot. And this isn’t really original advice – after all, I figured things out from other people giving advice, it’s how we all grow!

  1. Do whatever motivates you – if having pretty things to look at helps, then make a Pinterest board or a cover; if you like having a plan, create a very detailed outline – just do whatever gets you in the mood to write
  2. Don’t be afraid to mix things up – if you have more than one story and want to write and be inspired but need a break from your current WIP, then do that; work on another story, or just write a little scene with your WIP characters that has nothing to do with your actual story but helps you get to know your characters better
  3. Just write! As simple as that. Even if it’s just a few hundred words or even a hundred words, just knowing that you wrote that day can really help you continue to feel motivated and accomplished
One thought on “Baby I Was On My Way // Beautiful Books & NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

