Monthly Rewind // September

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

It’s been a pretty slow month for books for me since it’s been a pretty busy month otherwise. I’ve had plenty of classes keeping me busy, as well as time spent in the classroom, and even though I have trouble doing reading for homework (a bit ironic, huh?), I still don’t seem to have nearly enough time to read or blog, and even when I had time to read, I just didn’t really feel like it. *shrugs* I don’t think I was in a real slump because I enjoyed all the books I was reading, I just read them all quite slowly. Things picked up at the end of the month, though, and fall TV is finally back, so things are going to get busy in a good way now.

Music of the Month

I barely listened to any music with how busy everything seemed to be (except the same songs over and over again that were on my phone as I drove to and from class), so I’m doing another joint September & October playlist to be posted next month. Here’s a couple songs you’ll see on it when I finally get around to listening to more music.

Top Books Read

ThreeDarkCrowns TheWrongSideofRight

  1. Three Dark Crowns (Kendare Blake): I had an ARC of this, and even though it was an overwhelming fantasy at times, it was an interesting tale of sisters in a horrible situation (triplets fight each other for the crown) and I’m definitely looking forward to the next book after a few cliffhangers.
  2. The Wrong Side of Right (Jenn Marie Thorne): I wanted to reread this to make me feel better about the horrible state American politics is in right now, and it was just as fun and cute the second time around.
  3. The Steep and Thorny Way (Cat Winters): This was a pretty epic retelling of Hamlet that mixes a biracial protagonists, 1920s Oregon, gay boys, and the KKK – I may have to check out some of Winters’ other books now.
  4. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella): After loving Finding Audrey earlier this year, I decided to check out some of Kinsella’s adult books, including this long series that had a movie adaptation that I remember seeing a while ago (I think I liked it? I at least didn’t hate it). The first book was plenty of fun, no matter how many times I wanted to knock some money-related sense into the protagonist’s head.

TheSteepAndThornyWay ConfessionsOfAShopaholic

Quote of the Month

“Yeah, I’m fine.” I take another sip of my sugary drink. “It’s just really crowded in here.”
“Claustrophobic? Agoraphobic?”
“Short.”

“I feel like you’re not taking me seriously,” he says.
“I also feel I’m not taking you seriously.”
– Just Visiting

Favorite Posts

  1. Big Friendships on the Small Screen // Top Ten Tuesday
  2. You Can Find Treasure on My Bookshelves // Top Ten Tuesday
  3. It’s All in the Details // Beautiful People

Books I’m Excited About

TheUnexpectedEverything TheRevengePlaylist WithMalice BloodRedRoad

So many good books, I just need to actually read them all! I own The Unexpected EverythingThe Revenge Playbook (which is also a reread), and Blood Red Road, so I’ll probably read With Malice first since it has a library return date hanging over my head, but hopefully I’ll actually get to all of these books for once.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

TellTheTruthShameTheDevil TheBoyIsBack Gemina

Things are picking up a bit for October. I still need to work on Melina Marchetta’s backlist, but this adult book sounds interesting; new Meg Cabot is pretty self-explanatory; and even though it was an emotionally difficult book, I’m definitely interested to see what happens in this sequel to Illuminae, as well as the interesting way they combine different mediums – I love those kinds of books (and The Boy is Back is that kind of book as well!)

Challenges – Progress

2016 Challenge

99/100 – SO CLOSE!

ThreeDarkCrowns TheGirlontheTrain TheWrongSideofRight TheSteepAndThornyWay JustVisiting ConfessionsOfAShopaholic

Sophomore Challenge

5/10

Backlist Challenge

15/25

ConfessionsOfAShopaholic

Finished Challenges

Mental Health Challenge
21/10

New Books Challenge

75/50

ThreeDarkCrowns TheGirlontheTrain TheSteepAndThornyWay JustVisiting ConfessionsOfAShopaholic

Diverse Challenge

66/50

TheGirlontheTrain TheWrongSideofRight TheSteepAndThornyWay JustVisiting

Retellings Challenge

11/10

TheSteepAndThornyWay

Debut Challenge

12/12

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 6
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 5
Pages Read This Month: 2,221
Average Rating This Month: 3.92
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3

Total Books Read for Challenges: 81
Total Pages Read: 31,568
Total Average Rating: 3.93

Favorite Non-Book Things

1 // Speechless: This is a new sitcom, and it’s really quite charming – but, the most important thing is that this is a much needed show about disabilities. The main character is played by an actor who actually is in a wheelchair and has cerebral palsy (although his is less severe than the character, since disabilities are on a scale, not a one size fits all kind of deal), so this show combines humor and a much-needed look at the real people behind disabilities, both those who have the disabilities and their families.




source

2 // The Good Place: This is another new sitcom, not quite as good as Speechless (although that’s simply my humble opinion, of course), but it also has its share of charm and delightful sarcasm. I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about Kristen Bell’s character, but I like most of the other main characters and I’m curious to see how things unfold.

 
source

3 // The Vampire Diaries: I finally caught up on this show which, despite its ups and downs, is still a pretty entertaining show. I’m glad to hear that this show is wrapping up because it still has most of its original characters, which is always a good thing in my book, but I’m really glad that they had prior warning so that they can dedicate this whole final season to wrapping things up – I hate it when long-running shows don’t get the chance to properly say goodbye. Anyway, this past season really cemented my love of Bonnie Bennett – long gone are the days of season 1 and 2 when I think Bonnie was a witch and… well, another word that might rhyme with that one.

 
source

source

4 // Once Upon a Time: I also caught up on this show. It can be super-cheesy and melodramatic, but you know what, it can be pretty cute too, so I’m not going to be ashamed for enjoying it. Team Regina! I think Emma Swan and Captain Hook are pretty cute together, but I’ll take any relationship with Regina, whether we have Henry’s two moms being awesome partners or something more. Yay for fanfiction (although I haven’t actually read any yet – maybe I should change that now that I’m caught up?)



source

A Goal for October

nanowrimo2016

Blah, blah, same old stuff about posting more and such, but I also want to work on my NaNoWriMo story, These Four Walls! This is the month for all that planning and such, so I want to actually work on that and see if I can stick to writing just one story for the whole month and 50,000 words or if I’ll have to stick with my modge-podge attitude toward writing whatever I want when I want.

Leave a Reply

