Retrospectively Reading (36)

RetrospectivelyReading

Um, yeah, it’s been a while since I managed to write one of these posts (a little more than a month, in fact), but that’s what happens when I’m back in school. *shrugs*

CurrentlyEnjoying

ThisSavageSong TheDarkestCorners msmarvel

I’m enjoying all of these books right now, so that’s great! I’m a bit confused by the worldbuilding in This Savage Song, but I’m still enjoying it more than I seem to feel about V.E. Schwab’s books (I know, V.E. Schwab = Victoria Schwab, but I just like the books under her full name better for some reason). The Darkest Corners has me hooked so far, roughly 100 pages into what seems like a genuinely twisty mystery, at least so far, and I just threw in Ms. Marvel: Volume 1 for some graphic novel fun. I’m not in love with it yet, but it’s an interesting look at superheroes + teenage girl problems + diversity so far, so that’s great.

BestOftheBest

PSILikeYou ThreeDarkCrowns TheWrongSideofRight TheSteepAndThornyWay ConfessionsOfAShopaholic

Look, plenty of great books! Some of these books took way longer than they should have, though, but not because I didn’t like them, I simply was slow going during most of this month for some reason.

StuckMiddle

MovieStarByLizziePepper TheGirlontheTrain JustVisiting

I hate to say this (oh, who am I kidding, I’m not really that sad, because duh, hype), but I didn’t find The Girl on the Train as thrilling as apparently most people did. I picked out the culprit way too early and things were kind of slow at the beginning. I am curious to see how this story translates to the big screen, though, and I like how it had multiple kinds of women (a woman who desperately wants children, one who really doesn’t, and one who likes being a mother but also liked being The Other Woman). I am disappointed that I didn’t love Just Visiting as much as others seemed to, though. I think it’s mainly because I wanted a fluffy and fun story about friendship, but this had more of a focus on friendship drama – it’s not a problem since friendship drama can be more intriguing than romantic drama, but I just wasn’t really in the mood for it.

UnfortunateRest

Look, a whole month and nothing that I really hated! Of course, I only read 6 books in a month, so…

ToRead

books i need to reread

Skulduggery6 BeautyQueens TheRevengePlaylist Truth About Forever DistanceBetweenUs EveryBreath EveryWord

I am taking way too much time getting through all of these books that I planned on rereading back during summer break. Maybe fall break (which, for me, is a Friday off – way to go, college)?

books i own but still need to read

SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 TheUnexpectedEverything BloodRedRoad GoingTooFar EveryMove

And I have all of these lovely new books just waiting to be devoured! WHAT IS TAKING ME SO LONG?!

from the library

TheOnlyThingWorseThanMeIsYou RocksFallEveryoneDies ThisShatteredWorld morningglories morningglories2 msmarvel2 TheYoungElites

I’ve tried to do a better job of managing my library stack – I actually took back a few books that I wasn’t super-excited for today because I didn’t want them to get in the way of some of the books mentioned earlier – I’ll get them later, I just wasn’t chomping at the bit to read them now. It looks like I didn’t do a great job at getting this pile smaller, but three of these books are graphic novels, so it’s not too bad.

e-arcs

Avenged LongMaySheReign

I have these lovelies and I still haven’t gotten to them – I know, it’s horrible. Avenged comes out this month, though, if I remember correctly, so I’ll definitely be reading it soon.

NewBooks

Just Released

Furthermore WhereAmINow CrookedKingdom

Hmm, not too many books on my to-read shelf came out this month. Things always slow down for me after summer, though – I guess my favorite authors just like those warm months better than the beautiful, crisp fall months biased who’s biased?

Just Added

shopaholictakesmanhattan shopaholictiestheknot shopaholicandsister shopaholicandbaby minishopaholic shopaholictothestars shopaholictotherescue

After enjoying Confessions of a Shopaholic, I just had to add the whole series to Goodreads. This just seems like a nice, fluffy book that can keep me entertained for a while, so I approve this addition. *pats self on back*

New&News

WhatILost ibelieveinathingcalledlove alwaysandforeverlarajean inaperfectworld theheartswesold luckyinlove

FOR ONCE THERE ARE MANY GLORIOUS COVERS! And I love pretty much ALL OF THEM! And who knows, I might have liked The Hearts We Sold better if it weren’t for all of these other awesome covers (especially the first three – LOVE them) but probably not let’s be honest

APictureRather

This picture has an owl, of course I have to love it. And it was taken on my new bookcase, so yay for new bookshelves (although I’ve had it for more than a month at this point)!

InTheSpotlight

“The Writing On the Wall: @BroodingYAHero” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“8 Ways I Use My Bullet Journal As a Reader & a Blogger” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“15 Questions About My #WritersLife” @ Paper Fury

“If We Were Having Coffee” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“What Should a Perfect Fairy Tale Retelling Look Like?” @ Paper Fury

“What I’ve Been Up To: Europe Edition” @ Respiring Thoughts

“Get to Know Me: A to Z” @ The Daily Prophecy

“Cover Reveal: The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones + Giveaway” @ Cuddlebuggery

“The Writing’s On the Wall: Falling in Love” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“The Midnight Star Mood Board + Quotes” @ Twirling Pages

“Do Your Reading Habits Fluctuate By Season?” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“#WritersLife // I Wrote A Book + Q&A You Didn’t Ask For But Desperately Need Probably + Snippets of Sass” @ Paper Fury

Leave a Reply

