September & October 2016 // New Reads

NewReads

AsIDescended DiplomaticImmunity WhereAmINow

As I Descended by Robin Talley (September 6, 2016)

I already read this awesome new book from Robin Talley, so I can easily say that it is awesome. A queer Macbeth retelling that has plenty of racial and sexual diversity – you need this book in your life. I’m eagerly awaiting more books from Talley now. *waits impatiently*

Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton (September 6, 2016)

I’m really glad I got an eARC of this book – I was able to read and enjoy it before all the negative reviews came pouring in. I don’t know if I was just blind to its flaws or in a particularly good mood or something, but I enjoyed it the whole time I was reading it. I’d definitely recommend checking it out, but it obviously isn’t for everyone.

Where Am I Now? by Mara Wilson (September 13, 2016)

I mainly want to read this book because Mara Wilson was a spectacular Matilda. I know, that’s a pretty shallow reason and Mara is not Matilda, and even if she was, she still grew up – but I think she’ll probably address that fact in the book. I have seen her around on social media and stuff as well, though, so I really do think I’d be interested in seeing what she has to say.

ThreeDarkCrowns CrookedKingdom MyUnscriptedLife

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (September 20, 2016)

I’m slowly working my way through an eARC of this, but not because I don’t enjoy it. It’s pretty high fantasy, which isn’t really my thing, but that just means that I won’t speed through it quite as quickly as paranormal or contemporary books. This is about three triplet sisters who have to eventually fight each other (to the death) for the crown, a tradition that spans back generations. Of course, there’s plenty going on behind the scenes, because fantasy politics can be fascinating as well.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (September 27, 2016)

Six of Crows was a pretty awesome opening book, and as soon as I finished it, I wanted its sequel. Well, it’s finally come, and I can’t wait to see how that cliffhanger gets wrapped up. I want to reread the first book before getting to this, so that should make for an enjoyable mini-Bardugo binge.

My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill (October 11, 2016)

I haven’t had the most luck with Lauren Morrill in the past – at least, I thought her first two books were so-so to decent, unlike many other people, and I never bothered reading the third after some mixed reviews – but this is a book that involves the protagonist finding herself a P.A. on a movie set, so I’m almost guaranteed to be in.

TellTheTruthShameTheDevil TheBoyIsBack Gemina

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta (October 11, 2016)

I’m still working my way through Marchetta’s backlist, but that’s not going to stop me from showing interest in an adult mystery novel from her, if I remember the genre correctly. I’m a sucker for mysteries in general, but I definitely prefer sticking to authors I already know and enjoy, and even though I’ve only read about three of her books so far, Marchetta is definitely one of those.

The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot (October 18, 2016)

More Meg Cabot! This is part of her mixed media series, which means a combination of letters, emails, and probably text messages and other more “modern” elements of social media. The books are only loosely related, so they can be stand-alones, so I figure this new one is like that. I think the cover is cute and it’s Meg Cabot, as I said, so I’m pretty happy.

Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (October 18, 2016)

Illuminae was a pretty emotional ride, so I’m sure its sequel will deliver more of the same. It’ll also probably be a huge brick of a book again, so I’ll have to be sure not to have a lot of other library books at the time.

The Maybes

And now for the “might reads” that lack covers because I don’t know if I’ll actually read them yet!

Leave Me by Gayle Forman (September 6, 2016)

I’m not as big a Gayle Forman fan as many in the bookish community, but that’s not saying much, is it? This is her first adult book, I believe, and it’s about a woman who packs a bag and leaves her demanding family after her recuperation from a heart attack was simply an inconvenience on her family. I’m not one for middle-aged angst, but Forman is a pretty stellar writer, so if I see enough positive reviews, I’ll check this out for sure.

The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts (September 6, 2016)

A book blogger! That’s about all I care about this book, which is why it’s only a maybe – I need to make sure it actually shows book bloggers well and is a decent fluff fest before I actually pick it up…

Into White by Randi Pink (September 13, 2016)

I want to read more diverse books in general, but a debut about a black girl at a “mostly white high school in the Bible Belt” who dreams for and wakes up white? Yeah, color me intrigued, I just want to make sure that it’s handled well first – I don’t know if the author is white or black (or any number of other races that make up our diverse world), so I’m being a bit cautious.

Beast by Brie Spangler (October 11, 2016)

I figure there’s a good chance you’re heard about this book by now: it’s the Beauty and the Beast retelling that has a transgender Beauty. I’m being cautious mainly because of the whole you-never-quite-know-how-well-the-diversity-will-be-handled, but I’m definitely interested and hopeful.

Kiss Cam by Kiara London (October 18, 2016)

This is about a group of friends who have a vlog and a romantic coupling that happens because of a Truth or Dare kiss – two interesting elements that definitely caught my attention. As long as it’s not too much romantic angst and has some good friendship stuff, I’ll probably pick it up.

One thought on “September & October 2016 // New Reads

Leave a Reply

