Retrospectively Reading (34)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

TheRavenKing AllFallDown

I’m still working on The Raven King – I’m taking it fairly slow, like my reread of the first three books. As I speak, I’m about to start All Fall Down for the second time – I tried reading it last year and just couldn’t get into it, but after my mini-Jennifer Lynn Barnes spree, I want to give it another chance, since I think Ally Carter writes similarly to her (they’re friends for a reason, after all). I might regret it though – not the book’s fall, but I just finished The Long Game about five minutes ago and it kind of shattered me in a way I wasn’t expecting at all. I probably should have picked up a fluffy read, but I wanted some more Washington, D.C. drama (at least, I think I do – hopefully I’m not wrong).

The Best of the Best These Last Two Weeks…

TheInsideOfOut TheNaturalists QueenOfBabbleInTheBigCity BlueLilyLilyBlue QueenOfBabbleGetsHitched UpToThisPointe Archie SheWentAlltheWay SummerDaysAndSummerNights TheLongGame

This looks great, but it would be a little better if most of these books weren’t from the same week and then I slowed down so much. Eh, who cares – look at all the books I managed to read in two weeks! *pats self on back* The last few were a bit less interesting (excluding The Long Game, of course), but they still managed 3 and 3.5 stars, so not a bad couple of weeks.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

And no disappointing reads! *cheers*

The Books on the Reading Shelf

books i need to reread

Skulduggery5 Skulduggery6 TheWrongSideofRight BeautyQueens TheRevengePlaylist Truth About Forever

I added a couple new books because I’ve started compiling stacks of books that I own which I want to read or reread, depending on whether I’ve gotten to them yet. Oops?

books i own but still need to read

SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 TheUnexpectedEverything BloodRedRoad

And I need to get to all these wonderful new goodies! *stares down at my too-large library stack*

from the library

WildSwans TheSteepAndThornyWay PantsOnFire LiarsAndLosersLikeUs LookBothWays Winning SecretsLiesAndScandals TheYoungElites

Yeah, I have a long way to go before I get through this stack. Maybe by the time classes start at the end of the month?

Oh, who am I kidding, I’m going to get more library books.

e-arcs

ThreeDarkCrowns Avenged

I also need to get to these eARCs – I’m trying to take a couple breaks in between these, but I should plunge back into the dark and delightful world of Kendare Blake quite soon.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

PSILikeYou

Seriously, August, why are you so slow on the new releases? Eh, who cares – there’s new Kasie West to love!

Just Added

KillerInstinct AllIn BadBlood

Yep, I’m sold on this series. The covers are even (kind of) growing on me!

The New Covers and News of the Book World

HelloSunshine

After enjoying Leila Howland’s debut duology, I’m happy to see that there’s finally some new info on her new book – complete with a pretty cute cover!

The three authors behind My Lady Jane, Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows announced that they just signed a deal for two new books, this time about Jane Eyre and Charlotte Brontë (My Plain Jane) and Calamity Jane (My Calamity Jane), which’ll be released in 2018 and 2020 respectively. Both of these books will be like MLJ, taking real-life stuff and twisting history to give these poor ladies happier endings. Definitely interested to see what else they write together, so happy to hear about this!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

Cute, summery days.

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“If We Were Having Coffee” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – The Good and the Bad” @ Nose Graze

“An Interview with Kasie West” @ Alexa Loves Books

“Should the ‘Special Snowflake’ Trope Be Retired and Left 20,000 Leagues Underground Or Is It Still Fun?” @ Paper Fury

“Recent Read-Bait: Fake Dating, Bucket Lists, and Family Drama” @ Bookmark Lit

Leave a Reply

