Six Years and So Many Books

This post took way too long to write. June 26th was my sixth (!!!!) anniversary on this blog, and I’m just now getting around to posting this celebration, over a month later. Oops? Eh, it’s up, and that’s what counts.

I started this blog on LiveJournal after discovering book blogs. This blog has been one of my many creative babies for a long time, but I’ve never seriously thought about pouring money into it. I feel like I’m always seeing people talk about how you have to spend money on your blog if you want to be taken seriously. I take my blogging seriously, but I’ve never felt like I needed to pay for it. I think I’ve done a pretty good job of making this blog as professional-looking as possible while still relying on free resources like the .com version of WordPress and free graphic programs like GIMP and the online Canva. I don’t regret the fact that I can be frugal when it comes to this hobby – I think it keeps me from feeling like I have to blog even when I don’t want to, which ultimately keeps me from ever feeling too burned out. I’m proud of my blog, and I’m also proud of the fact that I think I’ve done a lot with free resources – after all, I need to save most of my money for important things like books!

Anyway, enough about my pride in being frugal and such – I decided it would be interesting to look at some of the things happening on June 26, 2010, back when I started a little LJ called The Reading Shelf (it’s still there, although obviously I’m here now).

MUSIC

Apparently this was the top song on June 26, followed by:

2. Ke$ha – “Your Love is My Drug”
3. B.O.B. featuring Hayley Williams – “Airplanes”
4. Taio Cruz featuring Ludacris – “Break Your Heart”
5. Katy Perry featuring Snoop Dogg – “California Gurls”
(source)

I hadn’t realized how old some of these songs were. Is it good or bad that I immediately recognized all these songs, even though I’m not sure I can hear some of them in my head right now, mainly the Usher and Taio Cruz songs – how quickly the music world moves on, huh?

BOOKS

   

According to the New York Times, these were the top books for June 27, 2010, which seemed close enough. These are the top Hardcover Adult, Hardcover Nonfiction, Children’s Chapter Books, and Children’s Series. This is also a reminder why they should revamp the NYT Bestseller’s List so that it doesn’t keep putting the same books on for the 149th straight week (that’s how long The Twilight Saga had been on the list so far, apparently).

MOVIES

There were loads of movies released in June 2010, like Toy Story 3 (!) and Eclipse (less enthusiastic). June 25th was a Friday, which is when movies are typically released, such as Grown Ups and a whole bunch of movies I’ve never heard of. I remember going to see the amazing Toy Story 3, but I can tell that’s the only movie I would have really be interested in seeing that summer (plus I rarely go to the movies – the library is an awesome place for movies as well as books, duh).

(source)

TELEVISION

Not much was on TV on June 26th (duh, it’s a Saturday), but there was a World Cup Soccer game as well as some (maybe?) new Nickelodeon comedies like iCarly and a showing of The Proposal with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds. I wonder what I was watching back on that day, since I assume I wasn’t doing much if I was able to start blogging…

(source)

Six years in, six years full of so many different songs, books, movies, and TV shows, and I’m still going strong. I don’t know how much longer I’ll keep blogging (no, that’s not a sign that I’m going to stop anytime soon), but I wouldn’t mind being around to celebrate another six years. I’ve discovered so many great books thanks to the blogging community and I hope to continue doing so, and I hope that I can help others discover amazing books as well!

HAPPY READING AND BLOGGING!

One thought on “Six Years and So Many Books

Leave a Reply

