Retrospectively Reading (33)

RetrospectivelyReading

I tried to get this up the past few Sundays, but I would keep getting distracted – maybe someday I’ll start doing this every week instead of every 3-4 weeks…

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

BlueLilyLilyBlue TheInsideOfOut QueenOfBabbleInTheBigCity

I’m ALMOST done with The Inside of Out, 100 pages tops, and I know once I start reading those last a hundred pages, it’ll fly by, because it is a fun, if also emotional at times, book dealing with different sexualities as well as friendship drama, but I got distracted by rereading the Queen of Babble series as well. I’ve been slower with my reread of The Raven Cycle, though – I don’t think I can speed through that series quite as quickly, it’s more of a slow read.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or the Last Month)…

MadeYouUp MyLadyJane TheDreamThieves SquareRootOfSummer OnceUponAKiss ForestOfRuin AStudyInCharlotte DiplomaticImmunity ExitPursuedByaBear Buzz Kill TheChoice IfIWasYourGirl AsIDescended QueenofBabble

But look at all the books I’ve read in the last four weeks or so! So much goodness, a lot of it one right after another. I got a few rereads in, but there were a lot of new reads, such as the awesome (but in different ways, for sure) eARCs, Diplomatic Immunity and As I Descended. There was also a delightful mix of diversity, like the set-in-Canada-and-dealing-with-sexual assault Exit, Pursued by a Bear (which is a Shakespeare retelling, like As I Descended) and the debut about a trans girl (written by a trans author and with a trans model on the cover – yay, representation!), If I Was Your Girl, so yay for all that!

…and the Unfortunate Rest

TheWitchAndOtherTalesRetold

*sigh* One bad egg just snuck into the batch. I wouldn’t call this a bad book, since I only read two of the stories, but it was way too “literary” for me, if that makes sense. It had an interesting twist on Hansel and Gretel and Cinderella, the two stories I read, but I’m just not interested in a socially awkward bro’s quest for a girl he probably slept with (she left behind her shoe – guess which of the above tale that comes from) and the opening of the third story didn’t interest me, so I moved on to the delight that is Meg Cabot, because duh.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

books i need to reread

Skulduggery5 Skulduggery6 TheWrongSideofRight BeautyQueens

I’m getting there – of course, when I get through all these books, I’ll just add more rereads from my shelves, but whatever, that’s just how it goes.

books i own but still need to read

SheWentAlltheWay SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 TheUnexpectedEverything BloodRedRoad

Look! I bought The Unexpected Everything, and it’s gorgeous just as I expected! Now I just need to read it…. I also bought Blood Red Road for cheap at a Half Price Books, so hopefully that was a smart choice – it does have great reviews, from what I’ve seen.

from the library

TheRavenKing WildSwans UpToThisPointe TheSteepAndThornyWay SummerDaysAndSummerNights TheNaturalists PantsOnFire LiarsAndLosersLikeUs LookBothWays Winning AllFallDown QueenOfBabbleGetsHitched

If I had posted this last Saturday morning, this would have a lot less books – then I went to the library and the pile soared. Oops?

Eh, I regret nothing. *rubs hands excitedly*

e-arcs

ThreeDarkCrowns Avenged

I have two more eARCs wanting for me – I’m trying to hold off until I get through at least a couple more library books…

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

Wow, nothing on my to-read shelf has been released in the past four weeks? Things always seem to slow down in the second half of the year.

Just Added

TheLastOfAugust jkt_9780545397360.pdf AskMeHowIGotHere DontFailMeNow ShuffleRepeat SummerDaysAndSummerNights TheDarkestCorners TheNest TheSteepAndThornyWay AllFallDown GenaFinn Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.indd SexObject TheLooseEndsList TheOnlyThingWorseThanMeIsYou TheYoungElites WithoutAnnette

And, of course, I added plenty of books to my to-read shelf, so it’s not like I need new releases…

Again, I regret NOTHING.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

I would regret the lack of new covers if I had any control over that. Seriously, where are all my new covers – I need the new pretty things!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I’ve actually been posting multiple pictures over the past two weeks or so – finally, I had multiple pictures to choose from! I liked this picture of Exit, Pursued by a Bear, and that was before I saw that THE AUTHOR LIKED IT! *preens*

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“When Your ‘Go-To’ Isn’t Your Go-To Anymore” @ The Perpetual  Page-Turner

“Why You Should Definitely Write a Book” @ Paper Fury

“Part 2 | Creating Your Bullet Journal Collections” @ The Daily Prophecy

“{Bookish} Style Files: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” @ Alexa Loves Books

“Turning Blogging Lemons Into Lemonade” @ It Starts at Midnight

“How to Fabulously Get Started on #Bookstagram” @ Paper Fury

“Reading and Rereading Harry Potter | Potterhead July” @ Bookmark Lit

Leave a Reply

