Getting to Know Me // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

I know, I know, this is one day late, but it was either write this so that it was published around 2 or 3 o’clock on a Tuesday or finish Exit, Pursued by a Bear and get this up on Wednesday – can you guess which one I chose? Anyway, this week is all about ten random facts about myself, and since this is a book blog, I obviously chose bookish facts, although that’s really the only thing these ten facts have to do with each other. I’m sure I’ve mentioned some of these facts before, but some of this will probably (maybe?) be new stuff, so yay!

< Contemporary Reader, Paranormal Writer>

As you’ve probably noticed, I enjoy reading contemporary books. I have other books peppered in, from paranormal and a select few adult ones to the occasional historical or fantasy, but contemporary has had the highest number of books for the past few years. So, if I had to pick one genre above all others, I think I’d go with contemporary (but I need variety, so it’d be a struggle). Anyway, my point is that I really lick contemporary. But I don’t like writing it. Well, that’s not totally true – I have a few contemporary stories that I love, but I always find myself getting a bit bored or stuck. That happens with the many paranormal stories I have going on, but there are so many more and all of my finished first drafts have been paranormal or some sort of action thriller, not a contemporary. I’m not quite sure what it is about contemporary that is so hard for me to write, but I think I need a lot more backstory, outlines, and general inspiration if I’m going to successfully write a contemporary book – check back in on me in a few years and see if that’s finally happened.

< Mismatched Bookshelves >

As a bookworm, it’s not surprising that I have multiple bookshelves full of books. I’m not on the same level as some book bloggers (but I’d like to be, someday *fingers crossed*), but I do have four(ish) bookshelves. Now, before you go exclaiming that that is a lot of books, they aren’t covered in books – I have decorative things, organization things, and just random stuff on all of these shelves, and most of them are fairly small. I technically have five, but two are part of a set and right next to each other, so I always consider them to be on entity. None of these shelves match, other than the pair – I have a short one I got from a friend of my mom’s, the pair that was my parents and they just left in the room when they moved to the guest room-turned-master bedroom and I got their old room, a thin shelf that I got for free at a yard sale (it helps when your mom is running it as one of the main people in the local historical society), and an IKEA shelf that I got for my school apartment and which is now in my room since I’m going to commute for my final year of college. So, a lot of bookshelves that don’t go together, but who cares because they’re all full of BOOKS.

< Easily Distracted >

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I can get easily distracted, especially when I’m reading. I don’t like throwing around different disorders and real diagnosis, such as ADD, so I’ll just say I can easily get distracted without being on the same level as those whose lives are really affected by severe distraction. Anyway, the point is that I can get quite distracted, especially when I’m in the car. Sometimes it’s because I’m at the end of a chapter or something and need a momentary break, but I’ve had loads of times when I’ve suddenly stopped reading in the middle of a chapter, paragraph, and even a sentence. I’ll think about something, or see something out of the corner of my eye – it doesn’t really matter what, I just manage to find so many things that need my immediate attention, even if I’m reading a perfectly wonderful book. *shrugs*

< Bookstore-Deprived >

It’s not like I have to hours away to reach a bookstore, but I live in a small town, so all the “local” bookstores are at least 15-20 minutes away, and the cheaper ones like Half Price Books are at least 25 minutes away. As such, going to a bookstore is very much a privilege, and I can happily spend a lot more time at them than the rest of my family. It also means that, when I’m on vacation or something, I’m always on the lookout for bookstores – for some reason, my family just isn’t as interested in finding them as I am, though. Silly family.

< No Dystopias, Thank You >

After the Hunger Games-inspired obsession with dystopians, I got very sick of them. So many of them just seem the same, even with the various differences, and I would always be so bored to start them because it felt like I was starting all over again before the characters learned that the government was bad or there were dangerous things out there or whatever. So, I tend to avoid them as much as possible – I’m only going to check them out if I hear a LOT of good reviews. I plan on trying Blood Red Road (I actually bought it for $2 at the much-lauded Half Price Books mentioned above) because of so many good reviews, but I’m still nervous because DYSTOPIAN.

< And No Required Reading, Please and Thank You >

As someone who loves to read and generally loves English classes, I should love required reading as well, right? Well, I hate being told what to do much of the time, and this includes being told what to read. I’m trying to get myself to reread various required reading books I’ve built up over high school and college classes, but so far I haven’t been able to do that because bad memories of essays and boring discussions. *sigh* Maybe someday I’ll actually get around to it and find that I even like some of the books, but it’ll take a while, I’m sure.

< Bring On the Childhood Favorites! >

I’ve recently begun slowly acquiring some old childhood favorite books, not to mention have kept plenty of others, because I am nostalgia incarnate. I kind of want to read them all, but I’m trying to hold myself back and wait until I’m a parent or teaching children who would read these books or something so that it seems more normal, but we’ll see if that happens because books have always been my life and I want to relive the childhood glory.

< Who Needs Room in the Suitcase for Clothes and So-Called Essentials When You Can Have BOOKS? >

I’m not always horrible, but sometimes I do struggle with scaling down on the number of books I take on vacation, especially when you consider the fact that I’m very inconsistent – sometimes I read a ton, and sometimes I read next to nothing on these trips, and there’s no way to tell in advance. When I went to the beach last month, I had to fly to DC because my parents went ahead first, which meant I had to send some stuff ahead and then bring a bag with me. I sent some books ahead, of course, but then I had to bring some more for the flight, and of course I got a few new books at the library after my parents had already left. Needless to say, when I got in and my dad offered to carry my bag, he quickly changed his mind and made me carry it because it was a tad heavy…

< Audiobooks are For People Who Can Actually Pay Attention >

I’m easily distracted, as you just found out, and this definitely includes audiobooks. I’ve come to learn that I don’t like audiobooks in general because I was to read at my own speed and seeing that a book will take hours for sure makes me run in the opposite direction. So, that combined with the fact that I can’t possibly multitask while listening, which is something I do most of the time. If I miss something, I can’t go back to the beginning of the page to figure it out. I’ve tried, and I know I’ll try again in the future, but audiobooks just don’t seem to work all that well for me, which is a shame.

< Life-Long Reader >

I know many bloggers out there have come back to reading or initially discovered reading thanks to various YA staples, but I’ve always been a huge reader. The closest I came to changing my ways was when many of my classmates seemed to stop reading and I didn’t carry a book around with me to every class. I still read, but I didn’t always have a book on hand, which was a lovely by-product of the fact that middle school tends to open up way too many insecurities. Even then, though, I still read all the time, even if it was simply at home or on the bus to and from school. I don’t remember when I started reading – I’d like to think that I started early and was an amazing reader from the start, but I was probably an average reader who just happened to enjoy it more than the average child. The point is, books have always been a part of my life and I don’t see that ever changing.

2 thoughts on “Getting to Know Me // Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I totally get what you mean about being a different writer than you are reader. I tend to read a lot of classics, literary fiction, and YA, but when I write it’s usually some sort of science fiction. Weird! Anyways, great list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

