July & August 2016 // New Reads

NewReads

PSILikeYou EnterTitleHere Vicarious

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West (July 26, 2016)

A new Kasie West book! This has a cute cover and a cute premise (a girl starts writing on her desk and someone starts writing back, and of course she finds out he’s a boy and thus romantic stuff must happen that will be adorable and fluffy because it’s Kasie West) – what more do you need to know?

Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia (August 2, 2016)

A super-ambitious girl wants to get into college and decides the best way to do that is by getting a literary agent and write a book. Of course she has to learn how to be a “normal girl” before she can write a story that people want to read, which could either go horribly wrong or be awesome – obviously, I’m hoping for the latter.

Vicarious by Paula Stokes (August 16, 2016)

I’m a little scared of this book because of its boring cover (don’t worry, I already know that I’m a horribly shallow bookish person), but Paula Stokes has written some great contemporary books (hello The Art of Lainey and Girl Against the Universe!), so I have tentative hopes for this new sci-fi adventure. I mean, come on, this is about sisters (although I’m terrified by the fact that the summary says one sister is murdered – no dead sisters please!)

Furthermore

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi (August 30, 2016)

This might be a middle grade book, but it’s Tahereh Mafi, author of the beautifully-written Shatter Me series, so I’m willing to give it a shot. I don’t really know much else about it because the author was enough to draw me in. Hello, meet me, shallow reader.

And now for the “might reads” that lack covers because I don’t know if I’ll actually read them yet!

Secrets, Lies, & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan (July 5, 2016)

“In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.” That’s enough to get my attention, now I just want to see a good review or two to pick up this book.

Smash and Grab by Amy Christine Parker (July 19, 2016)

Heist books can be wild rides, so this book definitely sounds like a promising addition to the genre, especially since a lot of people seemed to enjoy her vastly-different debut (although not so much the sequel, which is why I’m not totally sure if this is the book for me).

A Weekend of Mondays by Jessica Brody (August 2, 2016)

Stories where someone has to relive the same day over and over again can get tedious, but I’m hoping this will be a fun, fluffy story that uses its format wisely.

Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor (August 23, 2016)

I get way too excited for Hollywood-set books – I’m not even sure why, since I’ve never been really interested in acting other than the vague idea that it could be interesting getting into the head of a character (but I can do that by writing instead of being stuck in front of a lot of people) – anyway, long story short, hearing that this is about an actress immediately got my attention, plus it’s a debut.

Leave a Reply

