Retrospectively Reading (31)

RetrospectivelyReading

I swear I’ll start posting this regularly again at some point, but right now I’m still busy, this time with summer classes. They only last until the end of June, though, and I only have in-person classes through this week, so I should be around more after that. I’m still reading, though – I need a lot of homework breaks. Oh, who am I kidding – at this point, homework seems like a “life break” that comes in between everyone else – shh, don’t tell my professors that…

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

ScarlettEpsteinHatesItHere WhenWeCollided TheDreamThieves

I’m at the beginning of all of these books, so it’s hard to say anything about them (well, I’m rereading The Dream Thieves, so I know I’ll like it unless something horrible happens). I’m on a bit of a recent releases binge lately, as these other two 2016 books can attest.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or the Last Month)…

TheGirlFromEverywhere TextsFromJaneEyre KingdomOfAshes TheDeadHouse RavenBoys TheWrathAndtheDawn TheRoseAndTheDagger FindingAudrey WWF jacketmech_OTP-REV.indd Stolen

Look at all these pretties! This isn’t even all I’ve read this month (although it is most of it at this point)! Some of them weren’t as awesome as others, but when my lowest rating is 3.5 stars, I don’t feel too bad for myself. There were a lot of 4 stars and even a 4.5 stars (yay for mental-health positive Finding Audrey!), so I’ve definitely been happy this month.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

And then there wasn’t anything that was really bad! YAY TIMES TWO!

The Books on the Reading Shelf

QueenofBabble QueenOfBabbleInTheBigCity QueenOfBabbleGetsHitched OnceUponAKiss ForestOfRuin  BlueLilyLilyBlue TheRavenKing SquareRootOfSummer WildSwans TheFixer

A nice mix of rereading and plenty of new books, so I should be kept quite busy over the next few weeks… (and I’ll try to do a pretty picture of my reading stack next time)

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

RoyalWeddingDisaster 26Kisses

This month sure slowed down for my to-read shelf, apparently, but I suppose that’s not such a horrible thing – obviously, I’m struggling to keep up.

Just Added

TheCreeperMan Avenged EveryLastWord ExitPursuedByaBear MaybeInAnotherLife Rockoholic SquareRootOfSummer CanYouKeepASecret ConfessionsOfAShopaholic TheUndomesticGoddess

And then, of course, I added quite a few books to my to-read shelf, a combination of new (to me, anyway) books and some that were bumped up from my maybe shelf because I’ve heard enough good stuff about them to get my excitement higher.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

I can’t believe I missed this – there’s going to be a third book in the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before/P.S. I Still Love You series! I’m quite happy about this because the second book had too much romantic drama and did a great job of improving upon the sisterly relationships in this series, so I definitely want a third book that takes the good and bad things from the second book also I want another pretty cover.

Unfortunately, I don’t actually have any new covers again – seriously, where are all my new covers? It’s been weeks! Spoil me, bookish world!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

Seriously, I’ll try better next time. *hangs head in shame*

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Feminism, Problematic Faves, and a Review of Christine Monson’s Stormfire” @ Respiring Thoughts

“I Read  Classic For the First Time in What Feels Like Forever” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“10 Book Lists to Check Out” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“5 Types of Series Finales (And Why We Probably Dread Them) ~ Quiz” @ Paper Fury

“Why Are You So Far Away” @ Bookmark Lit

“Why I Can’t Let Respiring Thoughts Go Gentle Into That Good Night” @ Respiring Thoughts

“Millennials Are Not Scapegoats – The Circle by Dave Eggers” @ Respiring Thoughts

“10 Dreadful Things That Will Happen If You Read Too Much” @ Paper Fury

“{Bookish} Style Files: Met Gala 2016 Edition”

Leave a Reply

