May & June 2016 // New Reads

NewReads

I know, I know, this is kind of late into the month, but as I’ve been saying for the last month or two, I’ve been quite busy, so I’m just glad that I got this up before June came around.

TheUnexpectedEverything IfIWasYourGirl WildSwans

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson (May 3, 2016)

A new Morgan Matson book! That’s really all that I know about this book at this point, other than that adorable cover. This book seems like a nice one to start summer with, so hopefully I can get my hands on it soon.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (May 3, 2016)

I don’t know nearly enough about transgender issues, so this book about a transgender girl immediately stood out to me. I also recently learned that the model on the cover is also transgender, which is more awesome representation, so hopefully the book lives up to all that.

Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood (May 3, 2016)

I lost interest in Jessica Spotswood’s Cahill Witch Chronicles, but this newest book, which is contemporary rather than historical paranormal, piqued my interest. Protagonist Ivy’s family has a history of women who live spectacularly and then all die young, and right before she starts her senior year, her mother that left her unexpectedly comes back with two new daughters – that definitely has me curious.

ThisIsMyBrainOnBoys RoyalWeddingDisaster GirlAgainstTheUniverse

This Is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer (May 10, 2016)

I already read and really enjoyed an ARC of this. I’ve seen a lot of less-than-stellar reviews for this book about a girl studying love (kind of) as her senior science project, but I had loads of fun while reading this latest from Sarah Strohmeyer, so I’m still recommending it.

Royal Wedding Disaster by Meg Cabot (May 10, 2016)

This is the second book in this middle grade Princess Diaries spin-off – the first book was only OK, mainly because it was mostly a retelling of what happened in Royal Wedding from the point of view of Mia’s newly-found half-sister, but hopefully this one will have some interesting and new insights into the wacky world that is Genovian royalty.

Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes (May 17, 2016)

Another ARC, and this one was amazing! We need more books that have great messages about mental health and therapy, complete with girls being kickass at sports.

26Kisses TheInsideOfOut TheWaytoGameTheWalkOfShame

26 Kisses by Anna Michels (May 24, 2016)

A personal challenge to kiss 26 boys whose names start with all 26 letters of the alphabet could go horribly wrong, but I really hope that this is a debut that explores female sexuality in a positive and entertaining way.

The Inside of Out by Jenn Marie Thorne (May 31, 2016)

I loved Jenn Marie Thorne’s debut, The Wrong Side of Right, so I’m double excited for her next book, which also sounds like an interesting take on LGBTQ issues, even if the protagonist is straight.

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen (June 7, 2016)

I’m a sucker for fake relationships, so this debut about a girl who gets drunk, sleeps with a “bad boy surfer,” and starts up a fake relationship with him in an attempt to salvage her reputation definitely intrigues me. Please don’t go horribly wrong.

MyLadyJane HowItEnds

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (June 7, 2016)

I love Cynthia Hand’s books, have mixed feelings about Brodi Ashton’s, and haven’t read any of Jodi Meadows’, but after hearing a lot of advanced buzz and seeing this historical (fantastical?) book compared to The Princess Bride, I knew I would be checking it out. It’s one of my most-anticipated books this year, that’s for sure. June can’t get here fast enough.

How It Ends by Catherine Lo (June 7, 2016)

Stories about twisted friendships can go horribly wrong, but they can also go wonderfully right, and that’s definitely what I’m hoping for with this debut. It’s told in alternating points of view, so hopefully that ensures that both girls get their chance to tell their side of the story and no one is left as a simply stereotype, as too often happens.

And now for the books on my might-read shelf that come out in May and June…

The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude (May 3, 2016)

I’ve always been interested in May Day-related stories and traditions, but I haven’t read anything recently (actually, I can only think of one book related to May Day, so my reading is sorely lacking in it all), so this debut mystery about a missing cousin/best friend definitely catches my interest.

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood (May 3, 2016)

I don’t really know what this book is – a time travel book? Magical realism? Paranormal? The main character keeps slipping back in time to her own past, which is quite different compared to her real life. No matter what it is, I could certainly be persuaded to check this one out if there are some good reviews for it.

Gena/Finn By Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson (May 17, 2016)

THE MAIN CHARACTER’S NAME IS GENEVIEVE! Also, what is with characters named Genevieve having weird nicknames that prevent me from finding my people? Other than that, this sounds like an interesting book that explores friendship and other issues well, at least based on some early buzz. But really, they need to advertise the “Genevieve” bit better.

Devil and the Bluebird by Jennifer Mason-Black (May 17, 2016)

A magical-tainted journey to find a missing sister? “Finding family in unexpected places”? Color me intrigued.

Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup (May 31, 2016)

And another family story, this time about a girl whose newly-out cousin comes to stay with her family. I want more awesome and slightly unusual family relationships, so two cousins bonding as “they embark on a magical summer marked by slowly unraveling secrets” sounds like it’ll fit the bill.

Without Annette by Jane B. Mason (May 31, 2016)

I’m so excited by how many books seem to work f/f and m/m relationships into them without being issue books, and this one seems like it fits that category. A couple starts at an elite boarding school and struggle to preserve their relationship, all while keeping it a secret – that could lead to some interesting tension and hopefully not too much romantic melodrama.

With Malice by Eileen Cook (June 7, 2016)

I read another Eileen Cook book last year or the year before and enjoyed it for the most part, so that mixed with a mystery (a girl wakes up unable to remember the last six weeks of her life, during which time her friend died in an “accident”) definitely catches my interest.

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies by Lindsay Ribar (June 7, 2016)

I found Lindsay Ribar’s debut genie duology a little mixed (I like the second one better, but that’s a good sign for author growth, right?), but I was interested enough that seeing she was the author of this attention-grabbing titled book definitely got my own attention. This is a “paranormal suspense novel about a boy who can reach inside people and steal their innermost things,” and it’s apparently a mix between Twin Peaks (which I haven’t seen) and Stars Hollow (of Gilmore Girls fame, which I’m still working my way through), so it definitely sounds ambitious and worthy of checking out further.

The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone (June 7, 2016)

A story about a grandmother forcing her family to go on a “death with dignity” cruise before she succumbs to her terminal illness doesn’t sound very happy, but this family sounds like it could be interesting enough to keep me happy(ish).

American Girls by Alison Umminger (June 7, 2016)

Hollywood stories always intrigue me, even when they probably shouldn’t, and that mixed with a girl who becomes obsessed with the Manson girls equals a book that definitely gets my attention.

All the Feels by Danika Stone (June 7, 2016)

That title alone is enough to grab book bloggers’ attention – mix that with a girl who is super-involved in fandom and sets out to change things when her favorite character in a movie series is killed off and you have me interested for sure. As long as it treats fandom and all that with respect, I’ll definitely check this out. Plus, the protagonist is a college freshman, so this could be a good example of non-erotic NA.

Look Both Ways by Alison Cherry (June 14, 2016)

I somewhat enjoyed Alison Cherry’s second YA book, so mix that with a story about a friendship that turns into something more? Yep, I’m curious about this and want to see if it really is a f/f romance (I can’t remember if it’s being categorized as one or not, so I’m not sure).

How It Feels to Fly by Kathryn Holmes (June 14, 2016)

All the books about body issues and disorders! I know, a weird thing to seek out, but I want more of these, and the fact that it ties in body image and dancing definitely has me curious. This could go horribly wrong, but it could also be horribly, wonderfully right.

Never Ever by Sara Saedi (June 21, 2016)

The protagonist meets “a real-life Peter Pan”? A mysterious, tropical island where nobody ages past seventeen and life is “a constant party”? This is a fairytale retelling that I could definitely love, as long as it doesn’t have instalove and a shallow take on a story that is complex on its own (which I say as someone who hasn’t actually read Peter Pan).

Run by Kody Keplinger (June 28, 2016)

I haven’t been super-impressed by Kody Keplinger’s work in the past (sorry), but this story about a strange but strong friendship got my attention because (duh) friendship. I need more awesome friendships, and this has the potential to do that and maybe finally get me on the Keplinger fan train? Maybe?

Leave a Reply

