Monthly Rewind // April

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

Did you miss me? I know, I know, I basically disappeared this past month – school kept me busy, and when I wasn’t busy, I didn’t feel like blogging too much, so I didn’t, simple as that. I wish I had a better reason, but I still haven’t had a near “burnt out on blogging” period yet this year, so I really don’t have any regrets. That being said, I do want to blog more next month, and I think it’ll be easier as well since I’m in my last week of classes right now and just have finals next week.

I am taking summer classes, though, but many of them are online, so that combined with the fact that I just feel really excited about blogging again seems like a good sign. So, hopefully things will get better next week or so!

Music of the Month

Watching TV does great things for my playlists. I binged all of The Royals, season 1 and 2, and I discovered plenty of dramatic and great music to add to my combined March & April playlist. I also added plenty of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend songs, but some of them are NSFW, just a warning. And, because there just wasn’t enough music from TV shows, I also added plenty of songs from the amazing The Man From U.N.C.L.E. soundtrack. Anyway, I’ve been listening to this playlist over and over again, so obviously it’s awesome and I’m not biased at all.

Top Books Read

Mediator6 Remembrance

  1. Twilight + Remembrance (Meg Cabot): I finally finished rereading The Mediator and read the amazingness that was Remembrance! When can I start all over again? Also, I need more new books – chop, chop, you lovely author, you, Meg Cabot.
  2. Under the Lights (Dahlia Adler): The main romance took longer to happen than I expected, but there was still plenty of great F/F romance goodness, as well as much needed diversity – now if only there was more about the melodramatic teen show that Vanessa was on…
  3. The Possibility of Now (Kim Culbertson): This book wasn’t perfect, but it still had some interesting messages about how much pressure teenagers can be under in high school. The beginning was definitely better than the end, but I’m curious to see more from this author.

UnderTheLights ThePossibilityOfNow

Quote of the Month

“Jesse was born in California, you idiot.”
“Yeah, before it became a state.”
– Remembrance (Meg Cabot)

Favorite Posts

  1. Brooklyn Nine-Nine // Reading the Show (OK, the only new post this month – whatever)

Books I’m Excited About

KingdomOfAshes TheDeadHouse TheRavenKing

I already have Kingdom of Ashes and The Dead House on hand am really excited about reading them. I also want to reread the first three books in the Raven Cycle and then finally get my hands on the fourth and final book and see how it all ends.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

TheRoseAndTheDagger IfIWasYourGirl TheUnexpectedEverything

So many beautiful books – you can all fall into my hands right now, thank you very much. I haven’t had a very good week, so I’m thinking about ordering a book to make myself feel a little better, and there’s a very good chance that one of these books might be that lucky one.

Challenges – Progress

2016 Challenge

39/100

New Books Challenge

28/50

Debut Challenge

2/12 (unchanged)

Diverse Challenge

28/50

Backlist Challenge

8/25 (unchanged)

Mental Health Challenge

7/10

Retellings Challenge

1/10

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 7
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 7
Pages Read This Month: 2,066
Average Rating This Month: 3.92
Highest Rating This Month: 5 (a reread)
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3

Total Books Read for Challenges: 33
Total Pages Read: 10,926
Total Average Rating: 3.92

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: I’m almost all caught up on this amazing show. It has so many great things – a nontraditional bisexual character (middle-aged man dating a young, muscled, hot, gay man), an Asian man who actually gets to be a sexual being who’s desired, and some some great looks at mental health. I have two or three episodes left and I’m kind of sad to get to the end of season 1 and be stuck waiting for the summer to end so that I can get a new season.


source

 
source

2. Teachers: As a future teacher, this show offends me a little, but mostly it makes me laugh. There isn’t a lot of sexual or racial diversity, but it is a show that’s almost completely female-driven other than three bit characters who recur but don’t take away too much focus. There were only 10 episodes in its first season, so after binging them over one weekend, I’m stuck waiting until the second season finally comes around!

What’s our ‪#‎MondayMotivation‬? The weekend. Peace out Friday.

source

3. The Family: This is a new(ish, at this point) thriller that probably keeps me too entertained with all its melodramatic shocks. I want to know everyone’s secrets already!


source

4. Quantico: I can’t believe I haven’t talked about this show more on here, because I quite like it. It can also be melodramatic and such, but I don’t care, I still love it – not as much as I love Priyanka Chopra’s hair, though. Can I have it?

  
  
source

A Goal for May

This is probably obvious – I hope to get back into blogging again. I also want to read more, but that hasn’t suffered nearly as bad as my blogging in the past couple of months.


Leave a comment