Monthly Rewind // March

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

As you probably noticed, March was obviously not a big blogging month for me. First I had field, where I was in a classroom all day every day for two weeks, and then I got sick during the second week, which meant I had to make up days during my spring break – in other words, I was very busy. I barely had any time to read and even less time to blog. I wish I could say that next month will be better, but it probably won’t – but, in May, it’s summer, so that should liven things up a bit around here!

Music of the Month

Yeah, I didn’t really have any time to listen to new music. I listened to Foxes’s new album, All I Need, quite a bit, but otherwise nothing new, so next month will be a combined March & April playlist.

Top Books Read

Mediator3 Mediator4 Mediator5

  1. I’m still rereading The Mediator – it’s been a slow month, obviously.
  2. This Is My Brain on Boys (Sarah Strohmeyer): I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this – it hasn’t beaten Smart Girl Get What They Want as my favorite Strohmeyer book, but it was funnier than I expected and I still had plenty of fun reading it.

ThisIsMyBrainOnBoys

Quote of the Month

The Agnes B. Whitchurch Marine Biology Laboratory – aka the Whit – was tucked into the cliff overlooking the roiling Atlantic Ocean and happened to be exactly a 10.5 minute walk from Addie’s dorm room in Wren, provided her forward progress was not impeded by unexpected, if well-intentioned, interlopers.
Tess said it was more polite to refer to them as “friends.”
– This Is My Brain on Boys

Favorite Posts

  1. Finding Myself in a Love Story // Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols
  2. Getting to Know Some of the People in My Writerly Head // Beautiful People
  3. Why Settle for Two When You Can Have Three?
  4. It’s Not You, It’s Me – I Think // Top Ten Tuesday

Books I’m Excited About

Remembrance GirlAgainstTheUniverse UnderTheLights

I WILL READ REMEMBRANCE! I’m on the last book of the original series and this is up next! I also have an ARC of Girl Against the Universe, and after learning that it involves a positive look at mental health, I’m really excited. I’m also excited for Under the Lights and its bisexual protagonist!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

CharlotteCutsItOut ScarlettEpsteinHatesItHere TheRavenKing

OK, we’ve got a sophomore book from an interesting previous debut author, an intriguing-sounding debut, and the long-awaited finale to a series – sounds like a pretty good month.

Challenges – Progress

2016 Challenge

32/100

New Books Challenge

24/50

Debut Challenge

2/12

Diverse Challenge

23/50

Backlist Challenge

8/25

Mental Health Challenge

5/10
the same, *sigh*

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 6 – see, it was a really slow month
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 6
Pages Read This Month: 1,849
Average Rating This Month: 4.2
Highest Rating This Month: 5 (again, gotta love those rereads and my inability to think critically about some of them)
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 2.5

Total Books Read for Challenges: 26
Total Pages Read: 8,860
Total Average Rating: 3.92

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. Endeavour: I watched the first two series of this little British show with my parents – I regret nothing. I love mysteries, and even though I tend to stay away from historical ones, this one takes place in the 1960s and doesn’t feel as horribly dated as some do to me. Plus, there are only about 9 combined episodes in the first two series, so it was easy to get through all of the episodes in about a month. Anyway, this is kind of a prequel series, based on an older show called Inspector Morse or something, but it’s him starting out – I’ve never seen any of that show, but it was pretty easy to jump it without all of that background knowledge, although I’m sure I miss plenty of easter eggs and such.


source

2. Blackish: I saw the first season of this on DVD at the library, so I quickly binged all the wonderful episodes again. I wish this show got even more attention, because there are plenty of things to love about it, from its look at important, diverse issues to its wonderful family ensemble, especially all the children.

Twin power! 

That’s true love right there.


Zoey’s ready to conquer the Lyon dynasty.
source

3. The Royals: Considering how busy I’ve been, it’s kind of amazing that I’ve managed to cram so much TV in. Of course, I only managed to watch some of the first season of this show before it was back to school with me. I’ve seen some of the episodes, but very sporadically, so it was great to start from the beginning and actually follow along. Sure, this show is very melodramatic and I don’t really care about Queen Helena and Prince (Duke?) Cyrus’s storylines, but it’s still great fun – hopefully I’ll be able to finish the first season soon and then move on to the recent second season. I love the relationship between the twins, so I hope there’s more of that in the future. No spoilers!

     
source

A Goal for April

I haven’t been writing at all this year, so I want to get back into that. I’m close to the end of a first draft for something, rewriting a second draft, and editing another first draft, plus plenty of other stories, so I need to get on that. Especially because talking about my writing on here and doing all these Beautiful People posts makes me feel so inspired and excited to write – and then I don’t. *is ashamed*

2 thoughts on “Monthly Rewind // March

Leave a Reply

