It’s Not You, It’s Me – I Think // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

I know, I know, this is quite late, but first I had tons of school work, then I got sick, and then I had to make up more school because I was sick, so you’re getting this topic about three weeks or so late because I wanted to do it anyway and already had the graphics. So, tough luck if you don’t want to hear about the characters I dislike or simply don’t care for that the rest of the blogosphere seems to love.

I tried to like these books, I really did, but I just could not like Jessica. Maybe it would have been better if I read them when I was younger and had nostalgia glasses for them, but when I started them in college, Jessica just rubbed me the wrong way. I didn’t think that she was delightfully honest and genuine, I just thought she was rude and very judgmental, and thus I had a lot of trouble caring about her. I don’t have to always read about likeable protagonists, but Jessica could have been a little more likeable in my mind.

This is the love interest in this duology, right? He’s the reason I didn’t love the first book and never bothered to check out the second book. I loved when Alison was an awesome, take-charge person finding herself, but as soon as she mooned over Wil, I got bored and stopped caring about the story as much as I should have. No matter how much I liked Alison, especially when she wasn’t thinking about Wil, there was no way I could sit through a whole book from his perspective.

Now, I know I’m not alone in my dislike of St. Clair – I just don’t care for a guy who leads on someone while still being in a relationship with someone else. It wasn’t just that, though – I simply wasn’t a fan, and so didn’t care for seeing him pop up in cameos in the later books.

Everyone who reads Vicious seems to love the book, and they especially love Victor, the main protagonist. I thought the book was fine, but I just didn’t care for Victor all that much – I would much rather read about the female characters and other side characters, but no, let’s just talk about Victor and Eli or whatever his name was the whole time, who cares about the more interesting female characters?

I’m definitely in the minority for this book – most people seem to love this book, and that’s mainly because of the main character. I just couldn’t forgive her after she got so mad at her teacher for actually caring about her after an alleged suicide attempt. As a future teacher, I just can’t handle someone who is so dismissive of people who actually care about her, including her teacher. Maybe if I had finished the book she would have grown on me a bit, but I just couldn’t finish the book after reading such disgusting judgment and horrible assumptions.

I was not a fan of the love interest in these books at all, and unfortunately that meant that I ended up not loving these books as much as I did before the romance took over. He was just so angsty and uninteresting, and the fact that Karou was so in love with him made me like her a little less.

Oops, I meant Noah – see, they need more gender-specific names if I’m going to remember which is which! I didn’t mind Jude, but I kind of hated being in her brother’s head, which is one of the main reasons that I ended up DNFing this book. I just didn’t like how judgmental he was of his sister, and having to switch back and forth between his perspective and hers and being so in the dark just left me frustrated. I know I shouldn’t, but I just prefer books where I get to be inside the girl’s head most of the time, and being in Noah’s head just didn’t work for me.

I don’t know, I just didn’t care for Scarlet too much. Her romance with Wolf was angsty and boring, and I just didn’t care about her. I mean, I wasn’t a big fan of Cinder, so I went into Scarlet with pretty low expectations, but she definitely didn’t help matters.

Before you attack me, it’s not that I dislike the little android or whatever, I just don’t love her like most people seem to. The fact that I didn’t fall in love with her and so many people were obsessed with her made me feel like I liked her even less simply because I didn’t love her. *shrug*

I don’t understand how people can support the abusive relationship that Kavinsky had with Ronan. He’s a horrible person, and rather than finding that intriguing, I simply couldn’t stand him and wanted him far out of poor Ronan’s life. The fact that so many people romanticize him and turn it into a “Draco in Leather Pants” situation makes me like him even less.

One thought on “It’s Not You, It’s Me – I Think // Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

