March & April 2016 // New Reads

NewReads

AStudyInCharlotte BloodPassage CharlotteCutsItOut

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro (March 1, 2016)

This is yet another Sherlock retelling, but I will keep giving these things a chance until they all prove me wrong. This is a debut with the descendents of John Watson and Sherlock Holmes (so, they’re real in this story), and the Sherlock character is a girl! Unless they switch and make Charlotte Holmes the sidekick, in which case I will be very put out.

Blood Passage by Heather Demetrios (March 1, 2016)

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Exquisite Captive, so I’m definitely interested to see what happens to these characters in the second book. I don’t remember everything that happened before, so hopefully there’s enough of a recap. Also, I prefer this cover to the new one, so I’m just pretending it’s still the “official” cover.

Charlotte Cuts It Out by K.A. Barson (April 5, 2016)

45 Pounds (More or Less) was a fascinating debut, so I’m excited to see what Barson does with her second book. College and what comes after high school are pressing concerns for teenagers, so a book that seems to center on all that is definitely up my alley.

ForestOfRuin WhenWeCollided TheNewGuyAndOtherSeniorYearDistractions

Forest of Ruin by Kelley Armstrong (April 5, 2016)

I haven’t fallen in love with Armstrong’s new trilogy quite as much as her other two YA trilogies, but that’s mainly because it’s fantasy rather than paranormal, and they’ve all still gotten 3.5 to 4 stars, so I definitely didn’t hate them. There was a big cliffhanger at the end of the second book (which I don’t remember – oops), so I definitely want to know what happens in the finale.

When We Collided by Emery Lord (April 5, 2016)

I really didn’t like Lord’s first book and then loved her second one, so I have no idea what to expect from her latest. I don’t remember what this is about exactly, but I know it’s a contemporary that probably involves some romance and hopefully some beautiful friendships like she’s had with both of her other books.

The New Guy (And Other Senior Year Distractions) by Amy Spalding (April 5, 2016)

“Filled with tons of romance, rivalry, and passive-aggressive dog walking” – ok, I’m sold, simply for the end of that bit. I loved Spalding’s first book, enjoyed her second, and thought the third one was so-so, so hopefully this will go back to my first experience with her.

ScarlettEpsteinHatesItHere TheRavenKing

Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw (April 19, 2016)

THIS IS ABOUT A FANFICTION WRITER! Her favorite show is canceled, so she turns to writing fanfictions ABOUT HER PEERS. This could go horribly wrong, but hopefully in an awesome way.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (April 26, 2016)

The final Raven Cycle book is finally here! We get to see just how much Stiefvater is going to break our hearts – because, let’s be honest, no matter how many time we’re reminded that Gansey is supposed to die, it’s hard to imagine that happening to such a large character. I also just want more Raven Boys feels, Blue and Ronan friendship (I don’t know why, but I really like their prickly relationship), and the beautiful writing of these books.

And now for the books on my might-read shelf that come out in March or April…

Liars and Losers Like Us by Ami Allen-Vath (March 15, 2016)

Stories about classmates committing suicide and leaving some sort of message or whatever for the protagonist can go horribly wrong, but hopefully this will work better than some in the past. The cover makes it look like there might be a POC protagonist, but it’s impossible to know for sure.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston (March 15, 2016)

“Veronica Mars meets William Shakespeare in E.K. Johnston’s latest brave and unforgettable heroine” – I’m immediately intrigued. I think I heard mixed things about E.K. Johnston’s previous book, but I will definitely check this one out if I hear some good things about it. And come on, can you get a more interesting title than that?

Away We Go by Emil Ostrovski (April 5, 2016)

A book about a school for terminally ill teenagers could be full of way too much sap and obvious The Fault In Our Stars-inspiration, but this still sounds like an interesting idea. There also might be some QUILTBAG representation, which is always awesome.

Essential Maps for the Lost by Deb Caletti (April 5, 2016)

Caletti’s books can be a bit mixed for me, but I’ve really enjoyed some of her books, which is why I’d be willing to give this book a chance. The protagonist apparently finds a dead body in a lake, and she becomes obsessed with finding out who she was, which could be quite intriguing.

No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista (April 19, 2016)

“Caleb desperately needs a fake girlfriend” – that’s all I need to know about this book. Seriously, that’s all.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi (April 26, 2016)

We need more books about non-Greek mythology, and Indian mythology definitely qualifies.

Leave a Reply

