Retrospectively Reading (28)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

Alice16 Mediator3 Firsts

WHY AM I READING SO MANY THINGS RIGHT NOW WHEN I’M SO BUSY? That’s why I’ve been so sporadic lately. I’ve barely had time to read lately, let alone blog. I’m also at the beginning of all three of these books, which makes it feel overwhelming and keeps me from getting super into anything since I’ve barely started them (except The Mediator, obviously).

The Best of the Best This Week (Or the Last Three Weeks)…

99Days Overbite Mediator1 LuckiestGirlAlive IslaandtheHappyEverAfter Mediator2

This looks slightly impressive, but these is over three weeks – I’m not in a slump, I’m just so busy! And when I’m not at school, doing school work, or working, I’m normally napping or generally relaxing and occasionally reading. *sigh* I’m a failed bookish person at the moment.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

AfterHours

I wasn’t super into this book, but when I read some reviews and saw some of the scary spoilers coming up, I knew that this wasn’t the book for me. Way too much melodrama and various terrifying sexual situations that teenagers were forced into.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

Mediator4 Mediator5 Mediator6 Remembrance Skulduggery5 Skulduggery6 SkulduggeryPleasant7 Skulduggery8 TheBoneSeason ThisShatteredWorld FinnikinOfTheRock ReconstructingAmelia SummerOfChasingMermaids RavenBoys TheDreamThieves BlueLilyLilyBlue

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

KingdomOfAshes A Gathering of Shadows Final

Not a whole lot has come out lately – putting so many new books on my might-read shelf means that there aren’t a lot of new books on my actual to-read shelf coming out all the time. I’m definitely excited to see what happens to Aurora in Kingdom of Ashes, and I’m going the Darker Shade of Magic series a final chance to wow me (I didn’t dislike the first book, but I certainly didn’t love it like so many other people, which made it even more disappointing).

Just Added

Nothing?! This seems wrong, but I guess I’ve also been too busy to check out new books.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

AsIDescended ThreeDarkCrowns CrookedKingdom

At least there are some interesting new covers! I like them all – Three Dark Crowns is probably the least interesting, and it’s still pretty intriguing with the three different crowns to marvel over. I love how Crooked Kingdom goes with the first book and has the city/wings element going on again, and I tend to like face/picture overlays, plus the font on As I Descended is pretty cool.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I stole liberated these books from my sister’s room – she doesn’t have to know (well, she’ll probably notice since I posted these picture on my personal Instagram as well…)

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“How Do You Define Your Well-Loved Books?” @ Twirling Pages

“4th Blogoversary | Get to Know Me: Music” @ The Daily Prophecy

“What’s Your Favorite Type of YA Romance – Also a Shippy Shipping Quiz” @ Paper Fury

“Happy Galentine’s Day! YA Friendships Like No Other” @ The Novel Hermit

“SoulTPS” @ A Reader of Fictions

“The Writing’s On the Wall: The Earth Laughs in Flowers” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“#AmCurrently ~ A Lifely Update of Facts, Cake, and Over Thinking” @ Paper Fury

“Random Musings on Accessibility to Your Heroes” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“A Guide on Showing Love to Yourself” @ Twirling Pages

“Being the D.U.F.F.” @ The Daily Prophecy

“Ten Songs I Wish Were Novels” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“Books in Real Life, Episode 11: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” @ Alexa Loves Books

“The Novel Carousel” @ Further Up and Further In

“Pop! Goes the Print Shop Is Open for Business!” @ Pop! Goes the Reader

“Lies #BookBloggers Tell Themselves” @ Paper Fury

“The Beauty of Endpapers: Yay or Nay? (Obviously Yay!)” @ The Novel Hermit

“The Way We Used to Be: YA’s ‘Damaged Girl’ Narrative” @ The YA Kitten

“Do You Procrastinate Reading Books You’re 99% Positive You’ll Love?” @ Paper Fury

“On Being Picky” @ Pretty Deadly Reviews

“Read Less, Write More” @ Alexa Loves Books

2 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (28)

  1. This is such a lovely post! The cover for Kingdom of Ashes looks amazing. And I’m so excited to read AGOS! There’s a few links you added that I definitely need to check out as well..!

    1. Aw, thanks so much! It is a gorgeous cover – I’d love it see it in person.

      That’s great to hear – there are just so many great bloggers out there, it’s hard to keep track!

Leave a Reply

