2016 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon // Introduction

loveathon

Oops, this is late! School has been quite busy, which is why I’ve been a bit quiet lately. I’m still reading, though!

What’s your name?

Genevieve – how do you know that it’s my real name? Because I can spell it easily and quickly, not that you know that based on simply reading it, but it doesn’t really matter – I know if I’m telling the truth, obviously.

Where in the world are you blogging from?

The good ol’ (well, sometimes – everything has its issues, obviously) US of A. I’m not going to get more specific than that.

How did you get into blogging in the first place?

It’s a long and kind of convoluted story. Back in middle school, maybe early high school, I got into the graphics-making game on Neopets, and slowly learned about other websites such as Freewebs. I worked on my graphics-making and HTML skills before also getting into the reviewing game (I probably stumbled upon one in all my time on the internet) on Freewebs. I quickly got frustrated with that format and then moved over to Livejournal. Finally, I moved here, where I’ve been blogging on and off every since. It doesn’t sound that long now that I write this, but I’m sure I could tell it in a longer way.

How did you come up with your blog name?

My graphic website was “The Listening,” based off of a song called “The Listening” by Canadian singer Lights. When I was trying to come up with a title for my book blog, I wanted it to match, so I went with The Reading. When I moved to Livejournal, though, that username was already taken, so I added the “shelf.”

What genre do you read and review the most on your blog?

Contemporary, for sure. According to my tags, I have 155 Contemporary-related posts, with Paranormal coming in 2nd place (93) and Mystery in 3rd (73).

What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews?

I haven’t been posting all that many reviews lately, really. Instead, I’ve doing various discussion posts and talking about my writing. I try to keep everything remotely book-related, but that’s a wide scope in my mind.

Best blogging experience so far?

MegCabotTweet

This picture says it all – Meg Cabot liked and retweeted my link to my review of Royal Wedding! I immediately sent a screenshot to my sister to show off.

Favorite thing about the blogging community?

That we all love books, and that there are so many ways to love and talk about and just generally be all about books!

Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2016!

TheRavenKing TheRoseAndTheDagger TheUnexpectedEverything GirlAgainstTheUniverse PSILikeYou

There are plenty of great books that just need to get out already.

Name the 5 books you want to read this 2016 that you didn’t get to in previous years!

TheDeadHouse UnderTheLights MovieStarByLizziePepper FireFall HouseofHades

These were all published in the last year or so, but I still haven’t gotten around to them – that will hopefully change sometime in the next few months or so.

What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read?

WestingGame

I discovered this book back when I was little and still love it, and I just think it’s the type of book that everyone needs to read, no matter what their age, because it works for everyone.

Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF?

SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWant

I just want to be friends with Gigi and her two BFFs, Neerja and Bea. They’re like a bit more glamorous version of my friends.

Which book boy or girl would be your book boyfriend/girlfriend?

Mediator

I’m not going to pick – I would be quite happy with Suze or Jesse or both…

Who would you recruit for your apocalypse squad (5 characters max)

HarryPotter6 Diviners Mediator1 Ruby1

Hermione Granger and Ginny Weasley would be great with or without magic – they’re awesome either way. Evie O’Neill also has magic on her side, but she’d be both resourceful and a breath of lighthearted humor in the midst of whatever apocalyptic things might be happening. I’m going with Suze Simon again because she’s awesome and I’m currently rereading The Mediator, and I feel bad with not mentioning Ruby Oliver yet, so she gets to join the squad as well!

Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

I love writing and other general creative things – for instance, I am loving this sudden adult coloring book thing, and am definitely taking advantage of it.

Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for?

I’ll shop for clothes if I’m in the mood, but that doesn’t happen all the time. I’m much more likely to enjoy shopping for shoes, but again, I don’t do it all the time. I do, however, spend a bit too much money on office supplies, such as colorful pens, awesome notebooks, and other awesome things that I obviously need.

At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’s your song. What song would be playing?

Oh God, this is hard to pick, so I’m going with two songs – only “Mother and Father” would be likely to play at a party, but whatever.

Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book

Mediator2 Mediator4 Mediator5

I’m sorry to keep repeating myself, but how awesome would this book? So much snark and sarcasm, the gorgeous locale, and general Suze-and-Jesse-ness!

What would your dream library look like?

source

I Googled “amazing home library,” and this one stood out, mainly because I’ve seen it before and loved it. I wouldn’t have the disturbing dead head on the wall, but I just love the way it fits into the unusual shape. I would totally get one of those cool ladders and fill the room with plenty of places to comfortably sit and read.

Author you want to meet and sit down to tea with?

Either Meg Cabot or J.K. Rowling – or them together! I can’t even imagine what that would be like, but I’m sure it would be amazing.

7 thoughts on “2016 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon // Introduction

  1. Hello Genevieve!

    I LOVE all things Meg Cabot! 😀 I also can’t wait for The Rose and the Dagger. I need to get back into that world. I think a re-read of The Wrath and the Dawn is a must before the second books comes out. (To remember things, but also because I just loved it that much!)

    Happy Love-A-Thon!

    1. I officially approve of your Meg Cabot love!

      I definitely plan on rereading The Wrath and the Dawn and falling back into that gorgeously written world!

      Thanks, and happy Love-a-Thon to you as well! 😀

  2. Your blog is the cutest!

    I just read The Wrath and the Dawn but Iʻm already dying for The Rose and the Dagger. Iʻm sure that itʻll be just as gorgeous as TWaTD. And also I just need more Khalid in my life.

    Author interactions are the best! Meg Cabot will forever be one of my favorite authors, I think.

  3. I still need to read The Mediator series! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it, and I’m definitely curious. I see you’re a huge fan, and that makes me want to push it up my TBR. (I own it on Kindle. The first one, at least.) Glad you’re joining in, and happy love-a-thon!

    1. I have a little nostalgia going on, but even without that, I’m sure you will love The Mediator, because Meg Cabot is amazing and that is all.

      Thank you, and happy Love-a-Thon to you as well! 😀

Leave a Reply

