Don’t Underestimate the Princesses // Disney Princess Book Tag

THE DISNEY PRINCESS BOOK TAG

I saw this tag on Alexa’s blog, and even though no one tagged me, I just had to do it because I love Disney and why not?

THREE PRINCESS FACTS
  1. Sleeping Beauty is my favorite princess. I remember being so super-excited when I got a VHS of that movie for my third or fourth birthday (yay VHS tapes! pretty much all my old Disney movies are still on VHS). I’m not sure what appealed to me the most – the fact that the art is gorgeous, the awesome fairy godmothers, or the badass villain (apparently my roommate was terrified of dragon Maleficent when she was little, which probably amused me too much), or maybe simply because she was blonde and looked like me (which is why we need diverse princesses, so that every little girl and boy can feel this way </end off-topic-bit>).
  2. I always get a bit annoyed because it seems all bookish people are supposed to love Belle just because she reads. I never had Beauty and the Beast when I was little, and maybe that’s why she was never one of my favorite princesses, but now I feel like I almost resent her because she’s the default bookish princess. Sorry, Belle, I know it’s not your fault!
  3. I love Scar from the Lion King, but he’s probably tied with Maleficent as my favorite villains, which means she wins as the most awesome villain in a Disney Princess movie, since Simba, as awesome as he is, is not a Disney Princess – sorry, dude, I’m sure that you’re crushed.
THE PRINCESSES AND THEIR BOOKS

 WestingGame

SNOW WHITE | FAVORITE CLASSIC

Many of you are probably looking at my choice and saying “*gasp!* That’s not a classic!” Well, I’m not really a big classics fan – I want to finally get into classics, but I don’t like being forced to read things, and pretty much all the classics that I’ve read have been required reading in school, so even if I’d like them on my own, they have that stink of “I was forced to read this, boo.” However, this book was written in like the 70s (I think? somewhere around there), and that’s old enough for me (sorry if that makes you feel old). It’s an older book, but it feels completely timeless, even without cell phones and other technology, and I love rereading it and wrapping the story around me like a nice, warm blanket.

 IfIStay

CINDERELLA | BOOK THAT KEPT YOU READING PAST BEDTIME

I’m weird, because I don’t often stay up super-late, and even when I do, it isn’t always because I’m super into a book, but because I’m simply not ready to go to sleep yet. If I Stay is one book that I did keep reading because I needed to see where it was going and how it would all end. It’s a smaller book, so it didn’t keep me up quite as long as some books, but I still wasn’t ready to go to sleep when I was done and ended up taking a shower so that I had an excuse to stay up later and think about the book, even though it was a school night. I was probably tired the next morning, but all I remember is how much that book made me think and feel, so I don’t care at all.

 MyLifeNextDoor

AURORA | FAVORITE CLASSIC ROMANCE FAVORITE ROMANCE THAT SHOULD BECOME A CLASSIC

As I already said, I don’t really read classics, so I decided to pick a romance that I think should stand the test of time: Samantha and Jace. We need more functional romances where any of the relationship drama is outside forces, not because two people shouldn’t be together. We also need more books that explore safe sex as a couple, complete with giggling about all the different weird and numerous condoms that are out there.

 MagicorMadness

ARIEL | BOOK ABOUT MAKING SACRIFICES AND FIGHTING FOR YOUR DREAMS

Reason and her friends and family all have to make a difficult choice: do they use their magic and die young, or do they live a long life under the fog of insanity? I honestly don’t know what I would choose, and there are some people in her world who don’t make the choice at all and simply steal magic from other people, but Reason and her friends fight to change all that and win the “fight” against their hereditary magic.

 TheWrathAndtheDawn

BELLE | BOOK WITH SMART, INDEPENDENT MAIN FEMALE CHARACTER

If you’re going to marry a man who’s killed every single one of his wives the night after he married them and you don’t have a death wish, then you need to be a very smart and brave person, and Shahrzad is definitely that. She is awesome, and she’s one of the reasons I was able to root for the romance, because if she was able to fall for her husband, then obviously he wasn’t too bad. But even if you aren’t here for the romance, there are so many awesome things about Shahrzad, and I can’t wait to see her be even braver and awesome-r in the upcoming sequel.

 NotOtherwiseSpecified

JASMINE | BOOK WITH CHARACTER WHO CHALLENGED SOCIAL CONVENTIONS OF HIS/HER WORLD

Etta is a large, black girl who has an eating disorder and likes girls and boys, which makes for plenty of conventions that she shatters with strength and fear. She is a tiny thing full of so many different emotions and feelings and energy that she just needs to get out, and she does her best to stay as true to herself as possible, even though no one seems to want her to be as Etta as possible.

 SavingFrancesca

POCAHONTAS | BOOK WHOSE ENDING WAS A ROLLER COASTER OF EMOTIONS

This whole book just made me feel so many things about mental illness and just in general. Francesca’s mother has depression, and Francesca very likely has undiagnosed depression as well, and it was just so damn meaningful to read about a girl who deals with that and becomes herself with the help of family and friends.

 Mediator1

MULAN | BOOK WITH KICK-ASS FEMALE CHARACTER

Suze is the most kickass of all the kickass protagonists out there, but she’s also girly, which is even better, because you can kick ghost butt while still caring about your hair and clothes! There’s nothing wrong with not caring about all that (I often fall in that boat), but you can still be a fearless ghost hunter-person while also caring about all that, as Suze so beautifully demonstrates.

 SixOfCrows

TIANA | BOOK WITH HARD-WORKING & SELF-MADE CHARACTER

Yes, Kaz is technically the one who got Inej into the Dregs, but Inej is the reason she stayed with them and became such an awesome person. She took the skills she learned from her old life and used them to her advantage in her new, much more difficult one. She is definitely my favorite character of this book, and I need to know what happens to her – and how she gets herself out of the trouble at the end of Six of Crows, with or without help – in the next book.

 EverythingLeadstoYou

RAPUNZEL | BOOK THAT FEATURES AN ARTIST

It’s a different kind of art, but creating sets is definitely an art. Emi has to figure out how to create a room that feels real, even though it’s simply three walls with objects procured from secondhand stores and estate sales. I gave this book a rare five stars, and the fascinating look into a different area of Hollywood was definitely one of the reasons I loved Everything Leads to You so much. I really need to reread it soon.

 Ruby1

MERIDA | BOOK THAT FEATURES A MOTHER-DAUGHTER RELATIONSHIP

There are many great relationships in the Ruby Oliver books, but Ruby’s difficult but ultimately loving relationship with her mother is definitely one of them. Her mother is a comedian or something similar, which means she often talks about her daughter in her programs and isn’t afraid to do embarrassing things. She can be a bit domineering with both her husband and daughter and doesn’t always listen to them, but she obviously loves and cares about her family greatly and wants to make sure that her daughter is as happy as possible.

 SeriesofUnfortunateEvents1

ANNA & ELSA | BOOK WITH A GREAT RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN SIBLINGS

Three siblings against a world of incompetent adults and villains who manage to hide their evil intentions from everyone but the orphans? You know you need a great trio of siblings who work together and love each other fiercely, and that’s the Baudelaire children completely. I desperately want to reread these books, and plan on doing so once I get one final book to complete my collection, and I can’t wait to see the Netflix adaptation. There are many reasons to love these books, but the kickass siblings at their center are definitely one of the biggest draws.

The Merida GIF is from here, all the rest of the GIFs are from here

One thought on “Don’t Underestimate the Princesses // Disney Princess Book Tag

Leave a Reply

