Monthly Rewind // January

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

Much of my month was spent relaxing and volunteering at a local elementary school while I had an extended January term where I didn’t take any classes, but then the past week has been back to the grind of school, which means less time for reading and blogging. I had a good stockpile of posts for a few weeks, but they’re running low, so don’t be surprised if I’m posting sporadically – I’m quite busy at the moment.

Music of the Month

Plenty of new songs this month, some from TV shows I watch and others just from random places or browsing on Spotify.

Top Books Read

HyperboleAndAHalf JellicoeRoad MostLikelyToSucceed FridaySociety

  1. Hyperbole and a Half (Allie Brosh): I need more memoir graphic novels in my life.
  2. Jellicoe Road (Melina Marchetta): I didn’t love it as much as the amazing Saving Francesca, but that’s not saying much.
  3. Most Likely to Succeed (Jennifer Echols): The Superlatives trilogy is quite underrated, and that makes me sad.
  4. Friday Society (Adrienne Kress): It was great finally rereading this girl-power steampunk book.
  5. Alex + Ada: Volumes One-Three (Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn): This has me asking myself interesting questions about artificial intelligence and identity, plus it has pretty pictures.
  6. Lies My Girlfriend Told Me (Julie Anne Peters): It’s nice seeing QUILTBAG relationships thrown into mysteries, rather than simply being in “issue books.”

Alex+Ada AlexAda2 AlexAda3 LiesMyGirlfriendToldMe

Quote of the Month

My body becomes a raft and there’s this part of me that wants just literally to go with the flow. To close my eyes and let it take me. But I know sooner or later I will have to get out, that I need to feel the earth beneath my feet, between my toes – the splinters, the bindi-eyes, the burning sensation of hot dirt, the sting of cuts, the twigs, the bites, the heat, the discomfort, the everything. I need desperately to feel it all, so when something wonderful happens, the contrast will be so massive that I will bottle the impact and keep it for the rest of my life.
– Jellicoe Road (Melina Marchetta)

Favorite Posts

I had a lot of posts I liked this past month – I think that’s a great sign that I did a good job of writing for quality over quantity, even if the latter worked out anyway. I hope I always list pretty much every post that I wrote in this section in the future!

  1. My Year In… // A Look Back at 2015
  2. A Month Successful // Looking Back at NaNoWriMo 2015
  3. This Year I Resolve To… // Top Ten Tuesday
  4. My Inspirational Awakenings – Bookish and Otherwise
  5. Former Wildchild Older Sisters // Common Archetypes
  6. Sometimes I Think I Like Talking About Writing More Than Writing // NaNoWriMo 2015
  7. Writing in the New Year // Beautiful People
  8. Let’s Have All the Sexual Diversity!
  9. Everything Deserves an Epic Theme Song // Top Ten Tuesday
  10. Varying Shades of Sexuality // Seeing Myself in Books
  11. Tumblr is a Treasure Trove of Beauty // Take a Written Snapshot
  12. Mental Illness is More Bearable With Pictures, Obviously // Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Books I’m Excited About

Skulduggery5 ThisShatteredWorld 28086236

Yes, yes, these books are all quite exciting, but even more exciting – my preordered copy of a signed book of Remembrance should be coming this week! And I also have a hold on the novella of The Proposal, which comes before that and will hopefully be available soon!

Sorry other books – I really am excited about you as well, but first, Suze and Jesse.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Remembrance KingdomOfAshes TheRavenKing

REMEMBRANCE COMES OUT! And other books, yay! (Seriously, though, I’m excited about all three of these, Remembrance just happens to be at the very, very top)

Challenges – Progress

2016 Challenge

16/100

New Books Challenge

14/50

Debut Challenge

1/12

Diverse Challenge

9/50

Backlist Challenge

6/25

Mental Health Challenge

3/10

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 16
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 11
Pages Read This Month: 4,297
Average Rating This Month: 3.7
Highest Rating This Month: 4 (there were a lot of these)
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 2.5

Total Books Read for Challenges: 11
Total Pages Read: 4,287
Total Average Rating: 3.7

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. Dumbing of Age: I finally caught up on this online comic strip that I used to read; it’s about students at Indiana University, and it covers a lot of characters and important topics, like sexuality. Of course, I’m already behind again, but only by a couple weeks, so I’ll happily binge it again soon.

2. organizing my bookshelves: I finally organized my bookshelves after my birthday and Christmas were over, thanks to a new bookshelf that used to be at my school apartment but is now just in my room. I need to take more pictures, because I’m quite happy with everything and all of the organization going on.

3. Galavant: This show is definitely over the top, but I don’t care at all, I love it and hope it comes back for a third season.

4. Jane the Virgin: I’m finally catching up on Season 2, with about four more episodes to go; I’ve been having fun watching it with my mom, even though she’s missed a few here and there and is sometimes a bit lost.

5. Superstore: This is a new NBC sitcom that has funny people like the amazing America Ferrera! That’s all you need to know, at least in my mind (although, if you’re really curious, it’s about employees at a Wal-Mart-esque store).

6. Telenovela: This is the other new NBC sitcom and it’s quite fun and over the top.

A Goal for February

Continue to write quality, not just quantity. If I manage to be just as regular as I was this past month, then that’s great, but I want to really be proud of everything I write, not simply posting regularly.

Leave a Reply

