Look at All These New Goodies! // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

These are some of the newest that have been added to my to-read shelf, both with beautiful covers and those still awaiting them! I kind of cheated and there are a few more than 10, but technically there are ten numbers, so that counts, right?

ThisIsMyBrainOnBoys

1. This Is My Brain on Boys (Sarah Strohmeyer)

loved Sarah Strohmeyer’s Smart Girls Get What They Want and thought another one of her books was pretty decent, so another cute and fluffy book from her definitely looks like it’s worth checking it out. I haven’t quite decided what I think of the cover – it’s quite adorable, but it doesn’t match her other YA books! THINGS NEED TO MATCH!

2. Crooked Kingdom (Leigh Bardugo)

I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed the first book in this series, Six of Crows, and after that cliffhanger of an ending, I need to see what the gang has planned next. One of the things that most annoyed me about the first book was that there was a lot of backstory that was continually withheld to up the drama and “what really happened?” factor, so hopefully that’ll be done away with in the sequel now that we know most of the really important parts of the characters’ personal histories.

3. Terra (A.C. Gaughen)

This is a new series from the author of the Scarlet trilogy, but instead of retelling the Robin Hood story, she’s tackling elemental powers and the like. I don’t know why, but I really, really like powers based in the elements, so I’m definitely interested to see what she’ll do with this new series (trilogy? I don’t know yet, but this is book one regardless).

4. Untitled [Cormoran Strike #4] (Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling)

I don’t know anything about this book other than the fact that it’s a new J.K. Rowling book and it’s the next book in her Cormoran Strike series, and that’s enough for me to NEED this book right now. Yes, it doesn’t have a title, cover, or release date, but it’s already one of my most anticipated books because I need to see what happens after the ending of that third book!

5. Bad Romance (Heather Demetrios)

This is the story of a girl trying to escape from three toxic relationships with men in her life (her father, stepfather, and boyfriend); it’s from the author of Something Real and I’ll Meet You There, so I’m definitely curious to see what she does with this new topic.

6. Gemina & Untitled (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff)

Illuminae was my final book of 2015, and it was a pretty good way to end the year, so of course I have the sequels on my to-read shelf now. I don’t know what’ll happen in these books – I figure that it’ll have similar characters, but I know Amie Kaufman’s other co-written series, These Broken Stars, are companion stories in the same universe, so that might be what happens with these books. *shrugs* No idea, but I’m just interested in the unusual and fun formatting that was going on in the first book.

LookingForAlibrandi FinnikinOfTheRock GoingTooFar
ForgetYou AlexAda2 AlexAda3

7. Looking for Alibrandi (Melina Marchetta)

I read my third Melina Marchetta book as my second book of the year, so I just had to add another one of her books to my to-read shelf, right? This is her first book, so it’ll be interesting to see if this definitely feels like a “debut.” I haven’t really heard anything about this book, unlike her better-known titles, so I don’t quite know what to expect with this book.

8. Finnikin of the Rock (Melina Marchetta)

I’ve only ever read Marchetta’s contemporary books, but I also want to give her fantasy trilogy a chance. This is the first book, and other than hearing a lot of great things about it, I know absolutely nothing about it. I mean, I’ll read the summary whenever I get the book from the library, but that’s all I’ll know going into it. We’ll have to see how that goes…

9. Going Too Far & Forget You (Jennifer Echols)

I finished reading Jennifer Echols’s Superlatives series and loved many aspects of it, so I’m definitely interested to read some of Echols’s earlier work. These are older books, so most of the reviews are older, so I hope to go into them with a mostly open mind and hopefully get more YA books that seem more realistic with their portrayal of teen sexuality.

10. Alex + Ada: Volumes 2 & 3 (Jonathan Luna & Sarah Vaughn)

As I write this, I just finished reading the first volume of this comic series about an hour or two ago, and I was surprised with how much I enjoyed it and was disappointed that I didn’t bring these two volumes home from the library as well when I had the chance. They’re nice and quick, but have some interesting ideas about artificial intelligence and what it means to be sentient and such, and with our growing technology, it might not be a futuristic, “science fiction” topic for much longer. Mainly, the story just intrigued me, though, and I want to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

