Books That Slipped Through the Cracks // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

These are some of the books I meant to get to in 2015 but obviously failed at. The good news is, when I was writing up this post, some of the books on my original list had been read, and who knows, by the time this post goes up, maybe I’ll have read more (although it’ll still not have been in 2015, since it’s currently 12:04 on December 31st and the year is one day away from being over)!

FireFall BoyInTheBlackSuit WhenJossMetMatt

1. Fire Fall (Bethany Frenette)

I wanted to read the final book in this Dark Star series so much, but I think it might have only been published as an ebook, and either way, none of my libraries seem to have it, which is unacceptable! I just want to know how it all ends!

2. The Boy in the Black Suit (Jason Reynolds)

I’ve heard some good things about this book, and it has a male POC protagonist, which I definitely don’t get enough of in my books, but I’m also kind of worried. I mean, the reason the protagonist wears a black suit has to do with going to lots of funerals or working at a funeral home or something – it just sounds a little depressing and I’m not quite ready to handle all that.

3. When Joss Met Matt (Ellie Cahill/Liz Czukas)

This is a New Adult book written by Liz Czukas under a pseudonym. New Adult isn’t really my thing, but I’m definitely willing to give this book a chance after all the praise I’ve heard about it, plus my library finally got it, which is another reason I haven’t read it yet.

AlltheRage 99Days HelloILoveYou

4. All the Rage (Courtney Summers)

A book exposing rape culture is sure to be an amazing story, but it’ll also be really, really tough to get through. I’m pretty sure that this book is going to be totally rage-inducing, which is why I’m scared to read this book. Plus, Courtney Summers doesn’t exactly write happy books, so I need to be in the right mood for this book.

5. 99 Days (Katie Cotugno)

I’ve heard some mixed things about this book, but I did enjoy Katie Cotugno’s debut for the most part, so I’m interested to see what she did with her second book.

6. Hello, I Love You (Katie M. Stout)

I was all excited for this book because it has a K-Pop start, which sounds interesting as well as diverse, and the book takes place in Korea (I think – I obviously haven’t read it yet), but then I heard some mixed things. I’m definitely going to check this book out, but I’m a little more weary going into it.

AfterHours TheDeadHouse HouseofHades SpiritBound

7. After Hours (Claire Kennedy)

I haven’t heard much about this book, but it looks like it could be some fluffy fun. It could also be horrible, and since I haven’t heard anything about this book, I just don’t quite know what to expect, which is why I haven’t tried too hard to seek it out quite yet.

8. The Dead House (Dawn Kurtagich)

This looks like a scary and intriguing debut. It’s yet another book I haven’t been able to get at the library, and I haven’t heard too many people review it, so I have gotten to it yet.

9. The House of Hades (Rick Riordan)

This series is now complete, so I basically have no excuse for not reading the fourth and fifth books in the Heroes of Olympus series other than being scared of the emotions and the super-thick size.

10. Spirit Bound (Richelle Mead)

I’ve slowly been working my way through the Vampire Academy series, but it really slowed down now, and that needs to change. This is a complete series, so it really should take me that long to read since it’s not like I’m waiting around for new releases. It should not be taking me that long, and hopefully that’ll change in this new year!

Leave a Reply

