January & February 2016 // New Reads

NewReads

I know this is a little late into the month – January is roughly a third over – but I had lots of other posts already written and I didn’t feel like rearranging things to fit this post in, so you get it on January 11th instead. You’re welcome!

Firsts BookishlyEverAfter

Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn (January 5, 2016)

This book sounds like it has an interesting take on sexuality and first times, and Christina of A Reader of Fictions gave it a great review. It sounds like this is definitely upper-level YA, which should be interesting to see.

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira (January 12, 2016)

Apparently the protagonist in this book decides to channel all her favorite YA heroines in her quest to win over her crush, which will probably go horribly wrong, but could be quite adorable – only time will tell.

Remembrance SymptomsOfBeingHuman

Remembrance by Meg Cabot (February 2, 2016)

A NEW BOOK IN THE MEDIATOR SERIES! THAT’S ALL I NEED TO SAY!

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin (February 2, 2016)

This is one of the many books that explores identity issues in 2016, so I’m definitely excited to see how that’s handled and to learn more about the complexity of self-identity and gender.

KingdomOfAshes A Gathering of Shadows Final

Kingdom of Ashes by Rhiannon Thomas (February 23, 2016)

A Wicked Thing was an interesting look into the complexity of the well-known Sleeping Beauty character, and I’m interested to see what happens with her character, as well as what adventures she might get herself into after the events of the first book.

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab (February 23, 2016)

A Darker Shade of Magic wasn’t my favorite book, especially with all the hype over it, but I’m still relatively interested to see what’ll happen in this sequel.

And, doing something a little different, I’m going to highlight some of the new releases on my newish “maybe” shelf, which will move to my “to read” shelf if I hear enough good things about them. As of now, I haven’t heard nearly enough, they’re stuck in the dreaded limbo, but there’s always hope – let me know if you’ve read any of them!

Once Upon a Kiss by Robin Palmer (January 5, 2016)

I think this book involves time travel to 1986 or something? I’ve read something by Robin Palmer, and I enjoyed it for the most part if I remember, so I’m definitely interested to see what this book is about if I see some good reviews.

The Possibility of Now by Kim Culbertson (January 26, 2016)

I saw this on Debbie of Snuggle Oranges‘ “Most Wanted” post and thought it sounded interesting, and then saw that it was already on my “maybe” shelf. It apparently involves a planner realizing that she sometimes has to live in the moment, which could be quite interesting.

My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier (February 1, 2016)

How did I forget that I put a new Justine Larbalestier onto my shelf? I don’t quite know why it’s only on the “maybe” shelf and not automatically “to-read,” but it does sound like it could be terrifying, and Larbalestier doesn’t exactly write the happiest stories much of the time.

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (February 16, 2016)

I think this book also involves time travel? Maybe? All I know is that this is an intriguing sounding debut and many reviewers are starting to get copies of it, so I’m really interested to see what kinds of ratings it gets.

Leave a Reply

