Monthly Rewind: December

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

I know, it’s already nearly a week into the new year, but whatever, I’ve been busy with other posts and being lazy and all that, so here’s December’s monthly review, finally.

Anyway, I did a fair bit of reading this past month. Since school ended the first full week of December, I had a lot more free time, and I used some of that free time to volunteer at a local elementary school (all my classroom exposure helps, no matter how I get it!) and catching up with some high school friends. I remain ever an introvert, though, so much of my time has been spent at home, relaxing and unwinding.

Music of the Month

November and December’s playlist was combined because there’s a mixture of new and old songs, plus I knew that I would spend much of December listening to Christmas music and no one really wants to listen to that once January hits.

Top Books Read

SixOfCrows NoParkingAtTheEndTimes HusbandsSecret

  1. Six of Crows (Leigh Bardugo): This was a pleasant surprise, because while I definitely enjoyed Bardugo’s Grisha series and really loved some of the characters, I wasn’t super-impressed by its finale. This companion series took much of the best things from that series and mixed them all with some interesting new elements that make for a pretty thrilling adventure.
  2. No Parking at the End Times (Bryan Bliss): I haven’t really heard anyone talk about this quiet debut, and that’s a shame. It has an interesting brother-sister relationship at its core, as well as some thoughts about religion and family.
  3. The Husband’s Secret (Liane Moriarty): This book was a bit quieter and less-mystery-y than I was expecting, but it still weaved an interesting and ultimately tragic story that intertwined the lives of three women in a quiet Australia town.
  4. Perfect Couple (Jennifer Echols): Look, another great surprise! This book could be quite melodramatic, but its protagonist felt so genuine and relatable to me that I fell in love with this book, despite its faults.
  5. Illuminae (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff): This book was massive and quite emotional most of the time, but I did enjoy it for the most part, and I definitely liked the different formats and mediums in it. It was also my last book of the year, finished about half an hour before 2015 ended, so the year ended on a good note!

PerfectCouple Illuminae

Quote of the Month

I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.
– Six of Crows

Favorite Posts

  1. I Don’t Know What’s Real Anymore // Made You Up by Francesca Zappia: I decided to include this review because I just liked the format I used. *shrug*
  2. Where Were You Before This Year? // Top Ten Tuesday: I’m sad that I could only come up with 6 authors instead of the regular 10, but it’s always fun to relive favorites.
  3. I Loved Your Book – Now Go Write More // Top Ten Tuesday: This is an old post that I finally got up, but I just couldn’t waste those graphics! And the books, I suppose.
  4. Let’s Relive the Best of the Best // Top Ten Tuesday: More reliving! That’s one of the most fun parts of December in this community.
  5. Darling Santa, Please Bring Me Books // Top Ten Tuesday: Santa failed, but whatever.
  6. Why Aren’t You Already in My Hands? // Top Ten Tuesday: I love looking back, but looking forward is great to, and this post always gets me excited for the coming year.
  7. End of the Year Survey 2015: This always takes forever to write, but I don’t care, because it’s amazing and Jamie is amazing for putting it together in the first place!

Books I’m Excited About

Skulduggery5 ThisShatteredWorld HyperboleAndAHalf MostLikelyToSucceed

Look, Friday Society is not longer on this list! I’m finally making progress! I’m still slowly working my way through Skulduggery Pleasant, and the rest are all library books I have out now, that will all hopefully be returned to the library read rather than in shame because I bit off more than I can chew (as per usual, let’s be honest).

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Firsts BookishlyEverAfter

There are only two books on my to-read shelf that come out in January, which is disappointing, but I guess that means I’m a bit better at waiting to add books to my to-read shelf until I’m more than 50% sure that I’m going to read them, rather than simply on a whim. I actually have an eARC of Bookishly Ever After, so hopefully I’ll get started on that soon, and hopefully I’ll get my hands on Firsts soon because I’ve heard some good things about it.

Challenges – Progress

Really, you can just check out my progress in my End of the Year survey – since then, I’ve read TBA HERE DON”T FORGET, so it’s not like it really changed a whole lot. Now it’s time for all new challenges and to start all over again on the old ones!

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 14
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 12
Pages Read This Month: 4,784
Average Rating This Month: 4.08
Highest Rating This Month: 5 (another reread)
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3.5 (not too bad)

Total Books Read for Challenges: 112
Total Pages Read: 44,251
Total Average Rating: 4.02

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. The Man From U.N.C.L.E.: I loved this movie so much that I watched it about five or so times in the week I had it from the library. I regret nothing. I officially love Alicia Vikander, even though I haven’t seen her in anything else so far.

2. Psych: I’ve only seen this show in fits and bursts, so I’m slowly building up my collection – I now have seasons 1 and 3 and am working my way through them, one delightful episode of hijinks at a time.

 

3. The Finals Girls: I only watched this movie once, but it’s stuck with me even after I returned it to the library, and I think I might have to check it out again soon for another viewing.

A Goal for January

Put more into each post. I’m not too bad at it, but I still am guilty of posting just to post sometimes. I tried to put a little more work into this post, for example, and hopefully that’s something I’ll be doing with all posts from now on.

Leave a Reply

