Where Were You Before This Year? // Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

Today’s topic is favorite new-to-you authors from this year. Unfortunately, there just didn’t seem to be that many, and I ended up putting some debut authors on this list just so that I could get to six total. Yep, only six today, not ten, and I just realized that I accidentally deleted the graphics for one of them – I apologize, I know you’re so disappointed.

Jenn Marie Thorne – One Book (The Wrong Side of Right)

This book was compared to The Princess Diaries and My Life Next Door, and I totally got that while I was reading it. Of course, I already love Meg Cabot and Huntley Fitzpatrick, so it’s not surprising that I quite liked this book as well. I thought the author did a good job of crafting a story about opposing political views in a respectful way. For example, the protagonist’s father is mostly against immigration, which is something I support, but it was done in a way that I never felt like her father was vilified, which is a great accomplishment. Jenn Marie Thorne’s next book is apparently about a girl who’s a huge supporter for gay rights and ends up being mistaken for gay, even though she’s straight – that could go horribly wrong, but hopefully it’s handled in the same delicate way and succeeds.

Yes, I’ve only read one book from her, which was also her debut book, but it was a gorgeously written book and I just need more from her. I went into the book hoping to like it but knowing that I could be a little underwhelmed thanks to all the advanced praise and hype, but that was far from the case, luckily. I wasn’t planning on supporting the romance too much either, because the love interest has killed all of his past wives, how on earth could I like it, but I ended up loving it and need more scenes between Shahrzard and Khalid.

In my continued quest to read more adult books, I tried some of Sarah Addison Allen’s. I already knew that literary fiction wasn’t the best genre for me, but this was magical realism, something I could use more of, and I was happy to see how easy it was to get into the two books that I did read. They weren’t quite as fun as Meg Cabot’s adult fare or as enthralling as J.K. Rowling’s, but it wouldn’t be fair to compare Allen to them anyway. I definitely want to read more books from her.

WHY ISN’T THE LAST EVERY BOOK OUT IN THE US YET? Basically that’s all I have to say, but I’ll say a little more anyway. I enjoyed Every Breath but wasn’t quite blown away by it like many other people were, but Every Word definitely did the trick. Marney did a great job of crafting a new story about Sherlock Holmes and John Watson while creating  a new one, complete with a female Watson and plenty of emotional depth that some Sherlock retellings lack. I need to see how everything ends – I just need to get my hands on the last book first.

Again, Bolton is no J.K. Rowling, but she still writes a mean and engaging mystery. Over the course of this year, I read all four books in the Lacey Flint series, and now I’m just desperately hoping that there are more books in the series. If there aren’t, then I guess I’ll just have to check out the rest of her backlog to hopefully find some more interesting mysteries.

Technically Brian Vaughan is the writer and Fiona Staples is the illustrator for this graphic novel series, but I think they’re both vitally important and they’re both listed for each book, so I’m including both of them. Sometimes I think these books go too far to try and shock the reader with sex or violence, but it has a ton of diversity, which unfortunately isn’t always the case even though fantasies offer the chance to create all new kinds of people. I definitely want to see what happens in this world, even though I don’t know how long it’ll last – it could be countless volumes! They had better finish while I can still read and enjoy books!

One thought on “Where Were You Before This Year? // Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

