Retrospectively Reading (23)

RetrospectivelyReading

Things have been very busy in the past month or so, as you probably noticed and as I mentioned in my Monthly Rewind post. I’ve been busy reading and writing and with school, but things should die down soon and I’m inspired by all the fun “end of year” celebrations going on in the blogosphere. In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been up to in the past month or so!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

Skulduggery2 Bitten WhatWeLeftBehind

I’ve begun rereading Skulduggery Pleasant and it’s magnificent. Hopefully I can get my hands on the final two books and finally read the entire series! I’ve also slowly been working my way through Bitten, the first book in Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series; I don’t love it as much as her YA fare, but it’s not too bad. I’m only a chapter into What We Left Behind, meanwhile, but I’m not totally impressed – the prologue seemed a bit cliched, like a generic “everyone is boring in comparison to my love interest” with the nice change of it being two girls instead of a boy and a girl. I need to get back into it, but I’ve been enjoying the other two books more and keep forgetting about it.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or Month)…

CareerOfEvil Saga4 Ungodly Saga5 TheWickedTheDivine CrazyRichAsians BehindtheScenes FromTheNotebooksOfAMiddleSchoolPrincess Skulduggery1

Look at ’em all! There are lots of graphic novels, plus some YA and adult books mixed in. Some weren’t huge hits for me, but I still enjoyed them all at least a little, which means…

…and the Unfortunate Rest

…no bad books! No DNFs or books that made me mad/sad/*insert negative emotion here*!

The Books on the Reading Shelf

BloodPromise ShadowStudy FridaySociety

These are just a few of the books I still have from the library, and hopefully will finally get to in the next couple of weeks.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

ForTheRecord TheWildOne

I’ve reached the point where not many books are coming out anymore that are on my to-read shelf, but I guess that’s good for my TBR stack?

Just Added

Alex+Ada ChinaRichGirlfriend TheWicked+TheDivine2 UnderTheLights IllGiveYoutheSun ItsKindOfAFunnyStory

There were a lot more books that were added to my to-read shelf, though, mostly sequels and a few books I’ve been meaning to add for a while.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

TheRavenKing TheInsideOfOut

Look, new covers! I’m glad to see that all the covers in The Raven Cycle remained the same aesthetically throughout the series, even if they probably could catch my eyes a bit more. This one might be my favorite, though, tied with the third book perhaps. It appears that they redesigned Jenn Marie Thorne’s first book, The Wrong Side of Right, to match her new cover, but whatever, I’m just glad that this cover reflects its QUILTBAG story with the use of happy rainbow colors!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I forgot about some of these gorgeous illustrations I took pictures of like a month or two ago, so I just had to show them off! I need books with illustrations like this immediately – luckily, I think I took some pictures of the covers with the author and titles for reference!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

I lost track of posts as I got way too busy, so these are the posts I wrote down ages ago – you’ll just have to do all the heavy, horrible work of looking for posts yourselves, sorry.

“The Raven Cycle – Printable” @ What Georgie Did

“Unlikable Characters” @ A Reader of Fictions

Leave a Reply

