Retrospectively Reading (22)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

This book is my sole focus right now – I’m also reading Ungodly and Crazy Rich Asians, but NaNoWriMo and Career of Evil have definitely taken over my attention currently. I just got it yesterday and I’m already 100 pages in and definitely plan on reading a lot more today in between writing and homework and possibly eating and other mundane things like that.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or Month)…

Saga2 Saga3 ACourtofThornesAndRoses EveryBoysGotOne MyLifeNextDoor ADarkAndTwistedTide TheBoyMostLikelyTo Antigoddess MortalGods

Yay books! I’m in a hurry to put this up so I can go back to important thing (writing/reading/possibly eating), so that’s really all I have to say about them right now.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

Unspoken StitchingSnow

Unfortunately these books didn’t work for me – the first felt like it was trying a little too hard to have banter-obsessed characters, and the second was just too sci-fi and predictable for me.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

BloodPromise ShadowStudy FromTheNotebooksOfAMiddleSchoolPrincess FridaySociety

These are the physical books I have right now, which I’ll hopefully get to at some point soon – some of them have been sitting on my side table for a while now. *cough*Friday Society*cough*

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

SixOfCrows FuturePerfect ItsAWonderfulDeath VelvetUndercover Illuminae CareerOfEvil UnderneathEverything WhatWeLeftBehind

Lots of books – a lot about death and mystery and such – I guess it’s just that of year?

Just Added

CharlieGlasssSlippers Dietland EverybodyRise MovieStarByLizziePepper SexMurderAndADoubleLatte TheBoneSeason TheKnockoff TheStrangerYouSeek VisitationStreet HeartSick

Wow, all adult books, quite a lot of mysteries – that’s just what I was in the mood for after A Dark and Twisted Tide since it’s the latest in the series and I have to wait and see if there are any more books (I think there will be? But I’m not sure – boo)

The New Covers and News of the Book World

GirlAgainstTheUniverse MyLadyJane ThisSavageSong Remembrance

I think I love all these covers – illustrated, snarky commentary, and a fabulous font – what’s not to love about these covers?

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I was bored in class – not bookish, but I don't care. #purr #cats

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

*purrr…*

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Wherein I Exit My Writing Hermit Shell and Share Snazzy Snippets (About Thieves and Chocolate and Murder)” @ Paper Fury

“Harry Potter: The Illustrated Edition // Pictures of This Perfection” @ Twirling Pages

“Should Every Book of Ever Bring Something New to the Conversation?” @ Paper Fury

“Ratings Don’t Encompass My Reading Experience” @ Respiring Thoughts

“Getting Opinionated About the ‘Future of YA'” @ The Thousand Lives

“Book Blogging and Trigger Warnings” @ Cuddlebuggery

“Hogwarts – Built from the Pages of Harry Potter” @ YouTube

“How I Plot My Books (My Process is Fiendishly Dangerous Yet… Fabulous” @ Paper Fury

4 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (22)

  1. Eeep, thank you for sharing my post!! 😀 I’m suuuper excited for Illuminae! My copy arrived…the day before NaNo started. -_- GAH. So I’m using it as a luring reward. Finish Nano = get to read Illuminae. 😛 Good luck to your NaNo project too!!

    1. Ooh, that’s a good idea. I should probably do that with Career of Evil, but I want to know what happens too much, so I’m reading it AND writing. Hopefully that doesn’t backfire…

Leave a Reply

