Expectations Are Killer // The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

TheBoyMostLikelyToTitle: The Boy Most Likely To

Position: Companion to My Life Next Door

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick (My Life Next Door and What I Thought Was True)

Genre: Contemporary

Pages: 425

Rating: 3.5/5

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

If you’ve been following this blog at all, you probably know that I love Huntley Fitzpatrick’s debut, My Life Next Door. Obviously, when I heard that there would be a sequel that would give me the chance to see more of the Garretts and get to know secondary characters Tim and Alice better, I was excited, to say the least. Unfortunately for me, all this pressure was too much for this poor little book, and I just didn’t care for it as much as I would have liked.

Um, Where are My Garretts?!

I think the main reason this book didn’t work for me is because I wanted more of the Garretts, Sam and Jase, and Tim and Alice – but as secondary characters. Basically, I wanted a sequel to My Life Next Door – not a companion novel. I enjoyed reading about Tim and Alice from the point of view of Sam, seeing them in interesting tidbits, but getting into their heads wasn’t as interesting to me as seeing what made Samantha tick and such.

Boys Have Cooties – Duh

I’ll admit that I’m a bit biased – I’m not the biggest fan of male POVs simply because I’m not one for cruder narration, and many “genuine” narrations from male protagonists seem to lean this way. Tim can be worse than others since he’s a recovering drug and drinking addict, so it’s not surprising that I didn’t enjoy being in his head as much as Sam or even Alice. I also thought that getting into Alice’s head changed my mind a little about her – she seemed a little less tough and fierce. It was nice getting to see a character who had anxiety problems, even on such a minor level, but it seemed like she lose much of her bite, which made me a little sad.

I try to avoid reading other reviews before I write my own, but I caught sight of one that mentioned that this book seemed unnecessary, and by the end of the book, I can certainly see why one might feel that way. I don’t want to spoil anything, but there’s plenty of drama yet it feels like we barely moved from the beginning to the end – a lot happened in between, but the way things resolved themselves meant that the ending seemed like we had come full circle, but not really in a satisfying way.

But Wait, There’s More (and it’s NOT more complaining!)

This may make it sound that I didn’t care for this book at all, but that’s not true. I really did enjoy it, even when things weren’t going well, but ultimately it wasn’t the sequel I wanted. We got to see more of the Garretts, but not nearly as much as I would have liked – I would have enjoyed reading a story just about them – but I was surprised by how little we saw Jase and Sam. Jase is Tim’s best friend and Alice’s little brother, and Sam has long been friends with Tim, but in the grand scheme of things, they didn’t show up nearly as much as I would have liked. There was even some more drama with Samantha’s mother, yet we still didn’t get enough of her daughter and her adorable boyfriend!

In Conclusion…

I’m sad that this book didn’t turn out as I had hoped, but I’m still hopeful for Huntley Fitzpatrick’s future writing. Maybe she’ll take pity on me and write a true sequel to My Life Next Door! I can hope, right?

3.5stars

AddGoodreads

Advertisements

One thought on “Expectations Are Killer // The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s