Retrospectively Reading (21)

RetrospectivelyReading

I’ve been a bit MIA lately because I’ve been so busy with school! This past week and next week, I’m doing field experience in a preschool classroom every morning, so doing that and all the assignments about it have been taking up a lot of my time. I was also reading two very large books, one of which I just finished (see below), so it was taking me a while to get through them – not from a lack of interest, but simply because I was quite busy and just didn’t have much time to cram 200+ pages read a day or whatever. Expect things to remain a bit quiet for the next couple weeks as well, but I will still be around and will try to reply to comments soon!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

ACourtofThornesAndRoses Saga2

I’m over halfway done with A Court of Thorns and Roses and hope to finish it sometime this week, maybe even in the next couple of days. I wouldn’t call it a new favorite, but it’s enjoyable enough, and I definitely prefer it to Sarah J. Maas’s other series, which I never got through the first book of before I DNFed. I’m also reading the much shorter and more exciting Volume Two of Saga and have Volume Three on hand to rush through once I finish, so that’s a nice way to break up ACOTAR.

The Best of the Best This Week (Or Two)…

ExquisiteCaptive LairofDreams

Yeah, I only finished two books in the past two weeks. *hangs head* Oh well, at least I liked them both! It took me a long time to get through Lair of Dreams, but I loved every minute of it, so I don’t regret savoring it and taking my time amidst all the busyness of the past few weeks.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

And look, no bad books for me recently! No DNFs or less-than-stellar books! This is much more of an accomplishment than how many books I read.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

TheBoyMostLikelyTo StitchingSnow EveryBoysGotOne ADarkAndTwistedTide

These are just a few of the books I have waiting in my unfortunately-growing TBR stack. Seriously, I need to stop getting books when I’m so busy, but I just can’t! And yes, The Boy Most Likely To is still waiting – again, I’m busy, don’t make me feel even worse! I will read it as soon as possible, especially if I can work my way through all the library books I have.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

Ungodly WhatWeSaw

Not many books on my TBR have come out recently, but I’m really excited about Ungodly and already have it on hold and have bought the first two books to reread first that I really don’t mind.

Just Added

BloodPassage

Hmm, only one? Well, that’s not true – there’s also the third book in this trilogy and the last two books in The Diviners series, but they don’t have covers, so I can pretend that I’ve had lots of restraint and such. Since Exquisite Captive ended up being such a lovely surprise, I’m definitely getting a bit excited for its sequel to come out, but I don’t think it’s until next year? Maybe?

The New Covers and News of the Book World

IfIWasYourGirl TheRoseAndTheDagger TheUnexpectedEverything

NEW COVERS! All in the past week or so, as well. I love them all – yes, even the “pretty girl staring,” because this is a book about a transgender girl, so I’m glad that we have a girl who could probably pass as more androgynous, although I have a sinking feeling they didn’t actually use a transgender model. And then the other two covers are beautiful! I love the blue and the picture peeping through of the sequel to The Wrath and the Dawn – and it matches! That shouldn’t be such a victory, but when there are so many horrible mid-series cover changes, it is. And The Unexpected Everything just looks adorable, with its dogs and ice cream. I need to devour this book along with ice cream next summer, when I think it comes out.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I’ve been trying to take more pictures for my Instagram, and I’ve done a decent job considering how busy I’ve been.

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“DNFing, a Personal History” @ A Reader of Fictions: Over the past few years, I’ve gotten a bit better at DNFing, and it’s probably due to people like Christina who inspire me and remind me that life is too short to spend time reading a book I’m just not that interested in.

“Confessions of a Backlist Reader” @ Respiring Thoughts: I try to read a good mixture of backlist and new books, and it’s great to see other readers who are as into older books as I try to be (although it can definitely be hard with so many great new books being published every single week).

“How I Will Improve Goodreads When I Rule the World” @ Paper Fury: Let’s get Cait ruling the world right away so she can improve Goodread right now.

“My Favorite Method for Building Characters’ Personalities” @ She’s Novel: I love the Myers-Briggs test, and I definitely need to incorporate it into my character building.

“10 Reasons Why You Should Participate in NaNoWriMo” @ She’s Novel: Even though I normally fail at NaNoWriMo, I do love it, and this inspires me to try it yet again this year.

“#WritersLife Tag // Wherein I Talk About Writing Horrors, Puppies, and Olympic Pools of Chocolate” @ Paper Fury: A writing tag! Tags are fun, reading about writers is fun, so this is fun times two *is a fact*!

“Is It Worse to Hate A Book or Feel “Meh” About It?” @ Paper Fury: I think it’s worse to feel nothing for a book, but it’s definitely a reader conundrum.

2 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (21)

  1. Ohh, thank you for linking to my post! 😀 And I need to check otu all those ones you shared…omg, particularly that one about building characters. I NEED HELP WITH THAT IN MY WRITING. *flaps about* That’s awesome that you didn’t have any horrible reads this week! 😀 I had a horrible week for reading, which was really depressing, but hopefully I’ll be starting on A Darker Shade of Magic soon which I’m SOOO excited about! *flails* 🙂

Leave a Reply

