Mini-Reviews: September

MonthlyMiniReviews

BrooklynGirlsI suppose that I am officially a twenty-something now (I’m 21, will be 22 in November), so I think I really need more books like Brooklyn Girls.

This book centers around Pia and her fellow recently-graduated girls stuck in that awkward stage where they’re technically adults but still don’t quite know how to live in the real world without parental help. Pia is a pretty confident and upbeat person, but she has a lot of stuff thrown at her that she has to deal with, and I found myself rooting her on even when she did stupid things – which, admittedly, happened, because sometimes (well, let’s be honest, much of the time) people do stupid things.

I’m definitely excited to read the rest of this series because I need more twenty-somethings in my literary life to tell me what to do, even if they have no idea what they’re doing either.

4stars

TheSacredLiesofMinnowBlyThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is not a happy book – although, that’s not at all surprising since it’s about a girl who lost her hands when she was a part of cult, and now she’s in juvie for nearly beating a guy to death. So, yeah, not happy – but that doesn’t mean that it wasn’t interesting.

This is apparently a retelling of a story about The Maiden With No Hands or something along those lines. I’ve never read that story or even heard about it, so I came into this with little to no expectations, which was probably a little good since it started off a bit slow for me – if I had read a bunch of reviews, I would have probably given up on it, either because I wasn’t liking it as much as everyone else or because I figured I would dislike it as much as everyone else, depending on whether the reviews were positive or not.

This is definitely more of a character study, and it has a lot of flashbacks. One of my main complaints is that we had to wait so long for many answers, like why Minnow attacked a seemingly anonymous boy and why her hands were cut off. I’m definitely interested to see what else Stephanie Oakes writes in the future, though.

3.5stars

2 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: September

Leave a Reply

