P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

PSIStillLoveYou

Dear P.S. I Still Love You,

I was a little worried about reading you, but only not nearly as much as your predecessor, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. You see, going into that book, I didn’t know anything about the books written by your lovely author, Jenny Han – I had never read any of her stuff. I also had other people’s thoughts on TATBILB* swarming around my head, while I mostly just had my own thoughts about the characters and the first book’s story when I got to this book, which was a very nice change.

* P.S. That’s a very unwieldy acronym, isn’t it? I don’t think I’m going to use that again…

So, I knew what to expect, at least a little bit when I started this book. I expected to fall for the Lara Jean and Peter relationship all over again – but you had so much romantic drama! You kept me on my toes, trying to figure out if things were going to work out with Peter – and yet I found myself enjoying your other relationship just as much. I felt as conflicted as Lara Jean did, which is very important when you’re dealing with a love triangle**. Instead of getting annoyed that there was romantic drama, I was interested in it***!

** P.S. Yes, there is a love triangle, if you’re the type of person who feels a need to run in the opposite direction when faced with one.
*** P.S. Well, I was a little, but that’s because romantic drama will never be my favorite romantic thing – I just want everyone to be happy and not angsting!

There was also more of the Song girls! When I read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I thought Kitty was cute but sometimes annoying, and I thought older sister Margot was irritating pretty much all the time. I didn’t understand Lara Jean’s intense love of her older sister when said sister spent so much time making Lara Jean feel like a stupid little kid – but my thoughts have luckily changed after this book. The beginning takes place right after the ending of the first book, during the Christmas and New Years season, so Margot is still home from school, which means that we get to see more of her. If she had been the Margot of the first book, this would have been a bad thing, but she really grew on me. Kitty also continued to grow on me, especially since she seemed to be growing up herself. Their father continued to be more of a background character, but he had his own little romance going on that was amusing**** and kind of adorable.

**** P.S. Kitty was the main one trying to set him up with a neighbor – that was what really made it entertaining.

There were plenty of other interesting characters, but my one issue with the book is pretty obvious if you know my name: Genevieve. You see, Genevieve is the mean girl of the story – she used to be Lara Jean’s best friend, then she was Peter’s girlfriend, and now she’s a bit of a thorn in both of their sides because she’s mean. Mean girls can be interesting characters, especially when they’re explored properly, but Genevieve was not explored much at all. Basically she was mean, had some minor reasons that could explain why she wasn’t the happiest person, and otherwise we didn’t learn much about her. She just did awful things and never seemed very sorry for them.  I wanted so much more from her character*****!

***** P.S. I am totally biased, obviously, but seriously – shouldn’t all Genevieve characters be awesome, nice, smart, creative, beautiful, fascinating, and even more awesome? Surely this is what everyone wants!

I’ll miss you, Lara Jean and all your friends and family, but I liked the ride while it lasted. I hope the rest of your romantic life is drama-free and that your family continues to be close-knit and so wonderfully fashion and baked-goods-conscious.

PSIStillLoveYouTitle: P.S. I Still Love You

Position: Book Two in the To All the Boys I Love Duology

Author: Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved BeforeThe Summer I Turned Pretty, and It’s Not Summer Without You)

Genre: Contemporary

Pages: 337

Rating: 4/5

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

4stars

AddGoodreads

Leave a Reply

