New Reads (September & October 2015)

NewReads

FansOfTheImpossibleLife Dumplin

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa (September 8, 2015)

“This is the story of a girl, her gay best friend, and the boy in love with both of them” – that is all I need to know to know that I want to read this book. Bisexual love triangle! Or simply a wonderful friendship with all this sexual undercurrents!

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (September 15, 2015)

As I write this post up, I’m currently reading this book – I don’t know if I’ll come back and change this once I know what I think about it, or if I’ll be too lazy decide to keep my expectations instead since that’s what this post is about! Anyway, this book is about a large girl who has great self-esteem but decides to enter a beauty pageant to inspire others and make sure that she keeps her confidence – sounds awesomes, and it has rave reviews!

Lock&Mori TheDeadHouse

Lock and Mori by Heather W. Petty (September 15, 2015)

Yes, another Sherlock adaptation. That’s really all I know about this book, but I’m still quite intrigued.

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich (September 15, 2015)

A burned diary is found in the charred remains of an old high school? The diary belongs to a girl who didn’t exist rather than the girl who vanished in the fire twenty years ago? Yes please, “terrifying psychological thriller”!

Ungodly WhatWeSaw

Ungodly by Kendare Blake (September 22, 2015)

This is the third book in the Goddess Wars, and after that cliffhanger in the second book, I am very excited to see what’s happening with all the characters during this book, plus I hope to reread the first two books first.

What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler (September 22, 2015)

No matter how difficult they might be to read, we need more books about rape and consent and the many grey areas involved. Hopefully, this book handles it in a powerful and wonderful way. *fingers crossed*

SixOfCrows FuturePerfect

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (October 6, 2015)

This is a new series from Leigh Bardugo, but it still takes place in her Grisha world, so I’m interested to see what else is happening – hopefully more awesome characters like Sturmhond?

Future Perfect by Jen Larsen (October 6, 2015)

The protagonist’s grandmother offers her enough money to attend Harvard if she loses weight? That is one cruel, awful grandmother, but it could make for a wonderfully empowering story about body image, so I’ll allow it – not like the book needs my permission, of course…

ItsAWonderfulDeath VelvetUndercover

It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt (October 6, 2015)

“Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody in the afterlife better figure out a way to send her back from the dead or heads will roll.” I’m sold! I’m hoping for an entertaining mean girl who slowly learns that she might have a good heart – deep, deep down, covered with lots of sarcasm.

Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown (October 20, 2015)

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray! Summary, don’t deceive me! This is about a girl who joins MI5 during World War I and becomes part of a female group of spies – this could totally be Libba Bray-esque deliciousness! Cover, pleas don’t deceive me either!

CareerOfEvil 9780373211753_BB

Career of Evil by J.K. Rowling (October 20, 2015)

A new book from J.K. Rowling! Her books under the Robert Galbraith penname are both terrifying and fascinating, so even if it was J.K. freaking Rowling, I would want this book as soon as possible. Even with creepy suspects and less-than-perfect characters, her writing is just as magical as it was in the Harry Potter books.

What We Left Behind by Robin Talley (October 27, 2015)

Two girls (one of which is genderqueer!) are dealing with being apart for the first time now that they’re in college, and there should be glorious and diverse relationship angst! Plus, this is from the author of Lies We Tell Ourselves, about lesbian girls dealing with desegregation during the 1950s, so I’m excited to see what all she can do.

UnderneathEverything

Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul (October 27, 2015)

Stories about toxic friendships can be… well, toxic, but if done right, they’re also very twisted and fascinating – obviously, that’s kind of what I’m hoping for here.

Leave a Reply

