Monthly Rewind: August

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

Plenty happened this month, but nothing super-big, when I think about it. I took an official hiatus because I thought it would help me stockpile posts (and it did, so expect things to be a bit more regular now), and I also took that time to change the look of the blog, from the layout to all the graphics, which always inspires me. I also started up school again – this is now my second week – so I had all the fun rushing-around of “oh no, summer is almost over, I need to enjoy it/prepare for the school year.” I have classes almost every day, work a few times a week, a club I’m involved in, and field experience for early childhood education, so don’t be surprised if I’m not always around – it’s looking to be a busy semester. Luckily, though, I do have plenty of time for reading when I work at it, so my bookish life won’t suffer even if my blogging life occasionally does.

Music of the Month

Top Books Read

  1. Not Otherwise Specified (Hannah Moskowitz): I really didn’t think I was going to give this book 4.5 stars because Etta’s voice was sometimes too over-the-top, but I just related to it and Etta SO FREAKING MUCH that I just had to give it 4.5 stars.
  2. Saint Anything (Sarah Dessen): I was a little worried when I started this book because it didn’t seem like it did much to differentiate itself from past Sarah Dessen books, but it’s another 4.5 book of hers for me, so obviously that was a silly worry!
  3. Brooklyn Girls (Gemma Burgess): This book scared me a little for post-college life, but it was also a bit inspiring. And, it was a fun, fluffy book, which is pretty important as well.
  4. Boy Meets Girl (Meg Cabot): I gave this book the same rating as the first in the series, but I think I enjoyed it a lot more. It was just pure Meg Cabot fun. I need the next book now – and the fourth, which Cabot is apparently working on right now.
  5. Dumplin’ (Julie Murphy): This book started off a bit slow for me because I was more focused on some of the physical library books I wanted to finish before school, but it was just as empowering as all the pre-buzz has said.
  6. Lost (S.J. Bolton): This book was scary, but its twists kept me so interested that I didn’t care that it was past one in the morning and that it would probably keep me up further with its creepy people and murders.

Quote of the Month

I don’t have time to make a graphic right now, so I’ll do that later for one of my Take Written Snapshot posts.

You never knew what lay ahead; the future was one thing that could never be broken, because it had not yet had the chance to be anything.
– Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

I took that hiatus, so I haven’t actually posted anything other than a short post talking about the changes and the hiatus and a Retrospectively Reading round-up yesterday.

Books I’m Excited About

LairofDreams TheBoyMostLikelyTo FridaySociety

WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT THE FIRST TWO BOOKS THAT I HAVEN’T ALREADY SAID?

Seriously, if they aren’t at least 4.5 star reads for me, I’m going to be crushed – I’ve put way too much pressure on these two, poor books. I’m sorry, I’m just so excited! And I’m excited to reread The Friday Society, but it just can’t compare. Sorry, book.

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

FansOfTheImpossibleLife TheDeadHouse Ungodly

Sorry to the first two books, but I’m definitely most excited for the latest in the Goddess Wars series, although all of these titles definitely intrigue me.

Challenges – Progress

Since this is getting kind of crowded, I’m just going to show progress for challenges that I either haven’t completed yet or just completed this past month – if you want to keep up with everything, then you can always just check out my challenges page or wait for December, when you’ll get sick of hearing about all this stuff from everyone anyway.

2015Challenge1I JUST COMPLETED THIS CHALLENGE! Yes, on Saturday morning (although it was really Friday night still, at least to me, since I hadn’t gone to bed yet), I finished my 100th book! As I write up this post on Sunday (aka the day before it goes up), I’m still at 100 total books, but it’s totally possible that I’ve tipped over to the 100+ stage by now or very soon. Either way, yay, I finished this! I admit, I was a little worried after some slumps earlier this year, but summer helped me a ton.

2015Challenge4

I only read one more sophomore book, but whatever, I’m now at 9 sophomore books, so I’m so close to completing this challenge. Unfortunately, I don’t have any sophomore books on hand at the moment, but I’m certainly not worried with four months left to read at least one book.

diveintodiversity

Hmm, only four books since my last recap (which was partially into August, so it’s not like I only read four diversity-heavy books in the past 30 days or so). Oh well, I’m now at 29 diverse books, which is definitely decent even if it isn’t nearly as high as I would like. Oh well, four more months to blow this number out of the water!

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 13
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 10
Pages Read This Month: 4399
Average Rating This Month: 4.125
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5 (lots of these!)
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3.5 (not too shabby!)

Total Books Read for Challenges: 78
Total Pages Read: 30,024
Total Average Rating: 4.08

Favorite Non-Book Things

  1. making bookish aesthetic edits: Before school started, I really got into making aesthetic edits on my Tumblr. I want to start them back up again once school gets more manageable – they can be quite soothing and fun to make.

A Goal for September

Keep up with blogging without letting it overwhelm me with school and such. Making sure it remains fun, not a chore.

Leave a Reply

