reReview: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

ReReview


ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBeforeOriginal Review

Other Books by Jenny Han: The Summer I Turned Pretty and It’s Not Summer Without You

Genre: Contemporary

Reason for Rereading: in preparation for the sequel

Original Rating: 4.5/5

New Rating: the same!

My Initial Thoughts

When I prepared to reread this book, I had multiple voices in my head – I had my own, thinking about how I really enjoyed this book and was a little less impressed with the first two books in Jenny Han’s Summer trilogy; there were the many people excited for the new sequel and talking about their love for this book; and there were the people who didn’t love it as much, due to the immaturity of Lara Jean (which I certainly saw at times) and other reasons. As a result, I was a little scared to reread this book, despite my love of the first book.

Why I Reread

I wanted to get those voices out of my head, other than my own – I wanted to remember how felt about this book, and rereading felt like the best idea. I also wanted to reacquaint myself with the book before I read the sequel, P.S. I Still Love You.

Why I Didn’t Change My Mind

I was glad to see that I enjoyed this book just as much as I must have the first time around. Sure, I recognized some of its shortcomings – namely, the fact that Lara Jean could be quite judgmental and immature – and I will never be able to handle Lara Jean calling her parents “Daddy” and “Mommy” because that’s just not something I think works for teenagers, but I didn’t actually care about those shortcomings when I was reading this. I read it quickly, excited for to see what else would happen with Lara Jean and Peter in the sequel, as well as her family.

Do I Regret Rereading?

Definitely not! I look forward to buying the pretty sequel, putting it next to this pretty book, and reading them both together. And no, my love of this book isn’t just due to my aesthetic love of them – although it certainly helps.

4stars

WidgetGoodreads

3 thoughts on “reReview: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. I still haven’t read this book yet! I see everyone else reading it and posting such amazing reviews for it, and for some reason I just haven’t picked it up yet. I think it’s time to check it out, especially if it was so good you read it more than once!

    1. Yep, I’m definitely one of the people who loved it! I can understand why some people struggled with it a bit, but hopefully you won’t be one of them!

Leave a Reply

